It is currently Wed Dec 24, 2014 4:28 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Aero-->reducing power draw by locking gpu card in 2d?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 7:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 2:55 am
Posts: 257
Location: Naples, Italy
I'm still using XP so it's not really a matter of mine atm.
I was wondering if one could reduce AERO interface power draw by locking (ie. EXCLUSION LIST in ati try tools) the Video card in 2d frequencies. Would a modern vga locked at 120/250 gpu/ram handle Aero without glitches, for instance?

_________________
Visit my site www.flapane.com - MY GALLERY - MY Linux/OSX REPOSITORY
PC Intel i3-2120 - Ibook 12'' 1,33ghz 1.5GB PC333 160GB- MBP 15'' i7 2,2ghz 4GB - T-Mobile Vibrant - YamahaP90 - Nikon D80/18-105


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 8:52 am 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 9:07 pm
Posts: 1042
Location: Vancouver
It might be a big deal for notebooks where battery life is crucial, but on the desktop it doesn't really matter. When we test motherboards, we leave Aero on as it makes less than 1W of difference. Might be slightly more with discrete cards, but I can't imagine it is significant enough to worry about.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 8:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 2:55 am
Posts: 257
Location: Naples, Italy
I also have read somewhere about 1 or 2 watts, but I am not sure if they are referring to idle state or normal working scenario (moving, opening and switching windows, when those windows are re-calculated in real time by gpu).
My vga if quite hotter if I switch between 2d and 3d, even while sitting on the desktop, so I suppose that the power draw is significantly different.

_________________
Visit my site www.flapane.com - MY GALLERY - MY Linux/OSX REPOSITORY
PC Intel i3-2120 - Ibook 12'' 1,33ghz 1.5GB PC333 160GB- MBP 15'' i7 2,2ghz 4GB - T-Mobile Vibrant - YamahaP90 - Nikon D80/18-105


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 11:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 7:28 pm
Posts: 1406
Location: USA
flapane wrote:
I also have read somewhere about 1 or 2 watts, but I am not sure if they are referring to idle state or normal working scenario

1 to 2 Watts when actually doing something. 0 Watts when just sitting there looking pretty. Aero shouldn't actually cause your GPU to go into "3D" mode (which usually refers to clock speeds and not the actual enabling disabling of DirectX features). Remember, Aero runs fine even on crappy IGP like Intel GMA950, which has 3DMark scores of like 200.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 1:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 2:55 am
Posts: 257
Location: Naples, Italy
Glad to hear this, I was afraid of an increase in power consumption, whenever I'll upgrade to Win7.

_________________
Visit my site www.flapane.com - MY GALLERY - MY Linux/OSX REPOSITORY
PC Intel i3-2120 - Ibook 12'' 1,33ghz 1.5GB PC333 160GB- MBP 15'' i7 2,2ghz 4GB - T-Mobile Vibrant - YamahaP90 - Nikon D80/18-105


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 3:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 1:53 pm
Posts: 1201
Location: Plymouth, MI
Both of my Radeon's reduce clocks at the desktop with Aero running.

_________________
R.I.P. Felger Carbon & cpemma


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 4:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 2:55 am
Posts: 257
Location: Naples, Italy
Shouldn't they be triggered by 3d interface?
Do they use a reduced frequency over 3d gaming mode?

_________________
Visit my site www.flapane.com - MY GALLERY - MY Linux/OSX REPOSITORY
PC Intel i3-2120 - Ibook 12'' 1,33ghz 1.5GB PC333 160GB- MBP 15'' i7 2,2ghz 4GB - T-Mobile Vibrant - YamahaP90 - Nikon D80/18-105


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 7:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 10:00 am
Posts: 2131
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
flapane wrote:
Shouldn't they be triggered by 3d interface?
Do they use a reduced frequency over 3d gaming mode?

Aero3d is not the same as 3d. It doesn't actually engage 3d mode in the drivers, it does use alpha blending and transparency support, however. Neither of which require the system to increase clock speed to 3d levels.

_________________
HTPC: OrigenAE X11|Gigabyte GA-MA785GPMT-UD2H|Phenom II x3 740BE w/AC Freezer 7|150GB Velociraptor|Corsair VX450
Main: Antec 300 (SlipStream @ 800rpm/140mm @ 5v)|Asus M4A88TD-M|Phenom II x4 945 (Mugen2 pass.)|Asus EAH6850|Samsung 830 128GB|Antec TP750
WHS: DF-85|P8H67-M Pro|I5-3450S/Hyper 212+|Corsair AX650|Sandisk Extreme 240GB, 2xWD20EARS, 2x WD15EARS, WD15EADS


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 7:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 2:55 am
Posts: 257
Location: Naples, Italy
That explains a not-so-huge difference between Aero on and off.
thanks

_________________
Visit my site www.flapane.com - MY GALLERY - MY Linux/OSX REPOSITORY
PC Intel i3-2120 - Ibook 12'' 1,33ghz 1.5GB PC333 160GB- MBP 15'' i7 2,2ghz 4GB - T-Mobile Vibrant - YamahaP90 - Nikon D80/18-105


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 5:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 2:55 am
Posts: 257
Location: Naples, Italy
I could try Seven in a few days, I'm curious to see idle power draw difference with xp sp3.

_________________
Visit my site www.flapane.com - MY GALLERY - MY Linux/OSX REPOSITORY
PC Intel i3-2120 - Ibook 12'' 1,33ghz 1.5GB PC333 160GB- MBP 15'' i7 2,2ghz 4GB - T-Mobile Vibrant - YamahaP90 - Nikon D80/18-105


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 6:45 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 9:09 am
Posts: 1934
Location: Northern California.
flapane wrote:
I could try Seven in a few days, I'm curious to see idle power draw difference with xp sp3.


Wait til you see 7's power options... :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 6:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 2:55 am
Posts: 257
Location: Naples, Italy
Is it a good thing or not? :lol:

_________________
Visit my site www.flapane.com - MY GALLERY - MY Linux/OSX REPOSITORY
PC Intel i3-2120 - Ibook 12'' 1,33ghz 1.5GB PC333 160GB- MBP 15'' i7 2,2ghz 4GB - T-Mobile Vibrant - YamahaP90 - Nikon D80/18-105


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 8:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 6:30 am
Posts: 352
Location: Moldova, exUSSR
flapane
Frankly say, there is no such thing like 3D power mode or 2D power mode, at modern ATI cards e.g. Just a High GPU' Usage or Low GPU' Usage. No distinction whether it is 3D, or 2D, or anything else, an HDMI connected e.g. So don't bother that much with. At last you can tweak the BIOS with RBE, if it so important for you, so Aero will never exceed your 165/200MHz limit, so as other "light" tasks.

_________________
G2020 2.9GHz, Gigabyte GA-B75N, D9PFJ 2x4Gb @DDR3-1333 1.2V, Samsung 840 Pro 128Gb + HM321HI 320Gb, TS8XDVDRW-K, Foxconn RS-233 FX-250T, Samsung 910T. Idles (w/o display): AC 18W


Last edited by Ksanderash on Fri Oct 23, 2009 8:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 8:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 2:55 am
Posts: 257
Location: Naples, Italy
Hi,
sorry but I have to disagree. See my thread about my pc consumption and will see that there is a huge difference, in plain 2d desktop, at, let's say, low frequencies, and normal 3d freqs, on my hd3850.

_________________
Visit my site www.flapane.com - MY GALLERY - MY Linux/OSX REPOSITORY
PC Intel i3-2120 - Ibook 12'' 1,33ghz 1.5GB PC333 160GB- MBP 15'' i7 2,2ghz 4GB - T-Mobile Vibrant - YamahaP90 - Nikon D80/18-105


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 8:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 6:30 am
Posts: 352
Location: Moldova, exUSSR
flapane wrote:
Hi,
sorry but I have to disagree. See my thread about my pc consumption and will see that there is a huge difference, in plain 2d desktop, at, let's say, low frequencies, and normal 3d freqs, on my hd3850.

Hi there. Does something confuses you? :) I see no contradiction between our messages.

_________________
G2020 2.9GHz, Gigabyte GA-B75N, D9PFJ 2x4Gb @DDR3-1333 1.2V, Samsung 840 Pro 128Gb + HM321HI 320Gb, TS8XDVDRW-K, Foxconn RS-233 FX-250T, Samsung 910T. Idles (w/o display): AC 18W


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 8:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 2:55 am
Posts: 257
Location: Naples, Italy
Just puntualizing that gpu/gddr frequencies are not very useless while talking about power consumption, it would have been a pity to have ati tray tools automatically triggered in 3d mode (668/828) while sitting on an Aero desktop, as this would raise the total consumption :)
Probably those "2d" and "3d" modes I wrote above could be confusing, as there aren't real 2d and 3d modes, sorry.

_________________
Visit my site www.flapane.com - MY GALLERY - MY Linux/OSX REPOSITORY
PC Intel i3-2120 - Ibook 12'' 1,33ghz 1.5GB PC333 160GB- MBP 15'' i7 2,2ghz 4GB - T-Mobile Vibrant - YamahaP90 - Nikon D80/18-105


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aero-->reducing power draw by locking gpu card in 2d?
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 9:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 8:22 am
Posts: 379
Location: maine
flapane wrote:
I'm still using XP so it's not really a matter of mine atm.
I was wondering if one could reduce AERO interface power draw by locking (ie. EXCLUSION LIST in ati try tools) the Video card in 2d frequencies. Would a modern vga locked at 120/250 gpu/ram handle Aero without glitches, for instance?


my latest ati card finally back to normal, shuts down to 110mhz gpu and 252mhz, at .9 volt.
yes it is plenty for aero. I a have all settings on. Most cards claim to slow down, but I have had bad luck for more years than not. ati 3650 is doing good so far.

_________________
DSFg$57%udRTYnh


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 2:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 2:55 am
Posts: 257
Location: Naples, Italy
Glad to hear another confirmation.
Thanks!

_________________
Visit my site www.flapane.com - MY GALLERY - MY Linux/OSX REPOSITORY
PC Intel i3-2120 - Ibook 12'' 1,33ghz 1.5GB PC333 160GB- MBP 15'' i7 2,2ghz 4GB - T-Mobile Vibrant - YamahaP90 - Nikon D80/18-105


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 7:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 2:55 am
Posts: 257
Location: Naples, Italy
I've just mesaured power draw in 7 x64 (att locked on so-called 2d frequencies) sitting on an Aero desktop.
The values are the same of XP sp3, and the gpu occupation is 5/10/15% while moving an Aero window.

_________________
Visit my site www.flapane.com - MY GALLERY - MY Linux/OSX REPOSITORY
PC Intel i3-2120 - Ibook 12'' 1,33ghz 1.5GB PC333 160GB- MBP 15'' i7 2,2ghz 4GB - T-Mobile Vibrant - YamahaP90 - Nikon D80/18-105


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 1:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 1:53 pm
Posts: 1201
Location: Plymouth, MI
Ksanderash wrote:
flapane
Frankly say, there is no such thing like 3D power mode or 2D power mode, at modern ATI cards e.g. Just a High GPU' Usage or Low GPU' Usage. No distinction whether it is 3D, or 2D, or anything else, an HDMI connected e.g. So don't bother that much with. At last you can tweak the BIOS with RBE, if it so important for you, so Aero will never exceed your 165/200MHz limit, so as other "light" tasks.


I would point out that my HTPC card (4350) is connected via HDMI to our HDTV, and to get the best picture I run at 1280x720 which for some infernal reason puts this card into UVD mode, which has no difference in clocks or voltage at any usage level--it's full bore at all times. Could be a weird driver issue, could be a weird issue related to my card, but there it is.

edit: this is coupled with the atrocious HDMI handshaking issues, which mean it stays on at all times so we don't lose our precious link to the TV. Grrr...

_________________
R.I.P. Felger Carbon & cpemma


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 1:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2008 2:55 am
Posts: 257
Location: Naples, Italy
Did you consider using ati tray tools?

_________________
Visit my site www.flapane.com - MY GALLERY - MY Linux/OSX REPOSITORY
PC Intel i3-2120 - Ibook 12'' 1,33ghz 1.5GB PC333 160GB- MBP 15'' i7 2,2ghz 4GB - T-Mobile Vibrant - YamahaP90 - Nikon D80/18-105


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2010 10:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 12:48 pm
Posts: 192
Location: Shi-Khan: Vulcan or MosEisley Tattonnie
The best way to cut power demand in Vista/Win7 for AeroGlass is to use a custom setting. For example, I've got a basic 7300GT card and to keep things usable while still running aero I had to change a few things.

The settings that provide 90 percent of Aero's benefits are these 2

Desktop Composition
Smooth Screen Fonts

The other settings you want include these and they don't hit the GPU much if at all.

Thumbnai Previews
Transparent Glass
AeroPeek

The other settings are Eye Candy and really don't give you anything more then a distraction instead of being useful, which is why I have them off.

Based on the load difference reported by my UPS, it's minimal savings by locking Vista/Win7 into the classic desktop. It's still using the 3D modes by default even if it's not giving you the extra features. Sorry but that's by design. MS decided that 3d was the "One True Path" and completely dropped 2d only support.

_________________
AsRock Q87M vPro - Intel E3-1230V3 Xeon - 4x Kingston KVR13N98S/4 (4GB)
Silverstone SST RL01B-USB 3.0 - Coolermaster Hyper T4 - Asus DVD Burner
Crucial M500 120GB SSD (boot)
Seagate 250GB Barracuda (temp/swap files)
Seagate 3TB Barracuda
WD 2TB Green
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group