It is currently Sun Jul 13, 2014 1:49 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: New server & web host: Our own this time.
PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 11:02 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 11811
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Some regulars may have noticed some glitchiness with SPCR over the past half day. The reason is simple: The site has been transitioning to a new server and the DNS nameservers have been resolving the new address. It may continue to point to the old machine for some hours longer for some people, but by the end of the 19th, the transition should be complete everywhere on the web.

We've made a major upgrade, stepping up to our own dual-cpu, dual-core Operon 280 machine with 8 GBs of memory & four Seagate Savvio 10krpm SAS drives in RAID 10. 8)

More on this in an article to come later. Meanwhile, we're busy making sure everything is back in its proper place as before.

_________________
Mike Chin,
Editor/Publisher, SPCR
Support SPCR with your donations!


Last edited by MikeC on Fri Nov 24, 2006 10:55 am, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 11:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 6:55 am
Posts: 5085
Location: UK
Quote:
We've made a major upgrade, stepping up to our own dual-cpu, dual-core Operon 280 machine with 8 GBs of memory & Seagate Savvio 10krpm SAS drives in RAID 10.


But is it quiet? :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2006 4:43 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7354
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Greetings,

jaganath wrote:
Quote:
We've made a major upgrade, stepping up to our own dual-cpu, dual-core Operon 280 machine with 8 GBs of memory & Seagate Savvio 10krpm SAS drives in RAID 10.


But is it quiet? :lol:


I can't hear it -- can you? :P So -- it is silent... :wink:

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2006 9:13 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 11811
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
FYI, we are aware that...

1) the "SPCR Forums" latest posts on the right column of the main site hasn't refreshed in almost a day, and...
2) the SPCR icon is not showing up on your web browser navigation bar in the forums.

_________________
Mike Chin,
Editor/Publisher, SPCR
Support SPCR with your donations!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2006 9:22 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 11:24 am
Posts: 1735
Location: 'Sunny' Cornwall U.K.
MikeC wrote:
FYI, we are aware that...

2) the SPCR icon is not showing up on your web browser navigation bar in the forums.


Just to let you know... it's working for me in Konquerer on SuSE.



Pete


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2006 1:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2004 11:23 am
Posts: 90
Very nice! This place has come a long way since my old trolling days. :D

_________________
Loud and raucous


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2006 2:19 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 1:45 am
Posts: 1775
Location: At Home
I’m wondering what places the highest demand on your Server, the main site or running the Forums? I get the impression that running a forum can be surprisingly hardware intensive.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2006 2:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 08, 2006 4:36 am
Posts: 497
Location: Linköping, Sweden
I get the favicon now and then, seems to vary between page loads.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2006 4:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 7:09 pm
Posts: 536
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Running forums can be very server intensive depending on how busy they are and the software in use - mosty due to database accesses.

The change over still hasn't made it to the Aliant name servers on the east coast - I'm going through a proxy I have on my website to access this after some friends told me the site was in fact up.

_________________
Obsolesence is just a lack of imagination!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2006 11:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 12:34 pm
Posts: 635
Location: Southampton, UK
I believe we always claimed that having your computer in another room was always the quietest. So this is brilliant. I can just see MikeC sticking some stupid Thermaltake fan on the server, firing it up, listening to it howl, and then chuckle as he gets into his car and drives away. Yes, I know what you do at night, Mike. You're like one of those politicians who campaigns against something and then get busted at it. :)

How come my firefox bookmark toolbar doesn't have an SPCR icon? It keeps showing the [H] from HardOCP. I knew the H was taking over, but this is ridiculous.

_________________
Everything is exactly what it seems.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:14 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 11811
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
wussboy wrote:
I believe we always claimed that having your computer in another room was always the quietest. So this is brilliant. I can just see MikeC sticking some stupid Thermaltake fan on the server, firing it up, listening to it howl, and then chuckle as he gets into his car and drives away. Yes, I know what you do at night, Mike. You're like one of those politicians who campaigns against something and then get busted at it. :)
:twisted:

Yup, it's pretty damn noisy. I think I measured something like ~50dBA@1m during testing. But priority #1 was stability under load, and in a 2U box, there just isn't any room for real airflow, it's supposed to go only front to back and the cramped distance is nearly 3 feet. There are 3 80mm fans blowing in about 1/3 of the way in from the front, and a 60mm fan in back blowing out. Plus the 80mm fan in the PSU and the fans on two Zalman 7000CU (the best we could find to it in this thing). Even with all the fans going full tilt, the Operton 280s were reaching nearly 70C at some point. It looks like it's cool enough in the data center, which is airconditioned. We may decide to mod the cover with vents directly over the HSFs to get some direct outside air in. There is almost no clearance between the top cover and the fans in the HS. Turns out there's some room between the machines in the rack to make this possible.

Amazingly, this noisy machine could not be heard from a foot or two away in the colocation data center. We could only tell it was on by seeing the light on the front panel come on. That's how noisy it was in there. Imagine about 100 loud window-hanging air-conditioners going full blast in a big concrete room. You get the picture? :lol:

Quote:
How come my firefox bookmark toolbar doesn't have an SPCR icon? It keeps showing the [H] from HardOCP. I knew the H was taking over, but this is ridiculous.

It should be working now; our favicon is in place. Works for me.

_________________
Mike Chin,
Editor/Publisher, SPCR
Support SPCR with your donations!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 6:55 am
Posts: 5085
Location: UK
Quote:
Amazingly, this noisy machine could not be heard from a foot or two away in the colocation data center. We could only tell it was on by seeing the light on the front panel come on. That's how noisy it was in there. Imagine about 100 loud window-hanging air-conditioners going full blast in a big concrete room. You get the picture?


My own personal version of hell. :cry: It must feel like someone is taking a chainsaw to your ears.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:42 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 11811
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
We had to spend nearly two hours in there and I tell ya, I was feeling pretty stressed out by the time we got out of there. Immediately had to run for a beer with Richard. Good thing there was a pub nearby & it was friday evening. :mrgreen:

_________________
Mike Chin,
Editor/Publisher, SPCR
Support SPCR with your donations!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2006 10:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 7:09 pm
Posts: 536
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Propogation finally got here :)

I always keep a pair of the soft malleable plastic earplugs for use when I have to spend any amount of time in a machine room. Years spent with mainframes taught me that one.

_________________
Obsolesence is just a lack of imagination!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2006 7:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2004 11:23 am
Posts: 90
NyteOwl wrote:
Propogation finally got here :)

I always keep a pair of the soft malleable plastic earplugs for use when I have to spend any amount of time in a machine room. Years spent with mainframes taught me that one.


Heh, yeah that's one of my rules too. :D

_________________
Loud and raucous


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2006 12:42 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 1:45 am
Posts: 1775
Location: At Home
NyteOwl wrote:
I always keep a pair of the soft malleable plastic earplugs for use when I have to spend any amount of time in a machine room.
Speak up, I can't hear you!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2006 6:19 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 11:24 am
Posts: 1735
Location: 'Sunny' Cornwall U.K.
Just thought... does this mean the forum clock can be kept reasonably accurate now? :shock: ... 8)


And a quick tech question if I may Mike... with two servers running at the same time for a while, how did you deal with forum posting? i.e. if I were DNS'd to the 'old' server, the post wouldn't be on the new server... or am I missing something like two forums but one database?


Regards
Pete


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2006 6:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 8:49 am
Posts: 3011
Location: Suomi Finland Perkele
I can imagine the noise.. :lol: Just yesterday i was in a room with three huge blade servers wich are supposed to be energy efficient, but man were they noisy :shock:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2006 7:34 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 11811
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
peteamer wrote:
Just thought... does this mean the forum clock can be kept reasonably accurate now? :shock: ... 8)


And a quick tech question if I may Mike... with two servers running at the same time for a while, how did you deal with forum posting? i.e. if I were DNS'd to the 'old' server, the post wouldn't be on the new server... or am I missing something like two forums but one database?

time --- probably. ;)

The forum was shut down, the forum data copied to the new server, and made active there. Immediately thereafter, the name server change was made. When the DNS brought traffic to the new server, the forum was simply picking up exactly where the old box left off. The period during which the forum was unavailable for me as around 6 hours. It may have been shorter for some & longer for others.

_________________
Mike Chin,
Editor/Publisher, SPCR
Support SPCR with your donations!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 7:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 6:10 am
Posts: 370
What you could've done to reduce the downtime due to DNS: create a new domain in advance (new.silentpcreview.com) and have it point to the new server. Then you can have the old server redirect to the new domain and there's less downtime due to DNS.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 11:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 10:13 am
Posts: 13
Location: somewhere
smilingcrow wrote:
I’m wondering what places the highest demand on your Server, the main site or running the Forums? I get the impression that running a forum can be surprisingly hardware intensive.


the favicon


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 8:58 am 
Offline
SPCR News Editor

Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 11:20 am
Posts: 2173
Location: TN, USA
pixelfairy wrote:
smilingcrow wrote:
I’m wondering what places the highest demand on your Server, the main site or running the Forums? I get the impression that running a forum can be surprisingly hardware intensive.


the favicon


I just checked and SPCR is giving me a 16x16 1.4kb favicon.ico do you really think that is big enough to be an issue?

Hmm converting the favicon to 16 colors seems like a good trick since it's just blue and white. It reduced the file size from 1406 bytes to 318 bytes.

_________________
.
Please put a country in your profile if you haven't already.
This site is international but I'll assume you are in the US if you don't tell me otherwise.
RAID levels thread http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=388987


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group