It is currently Sun Nov 23, 2014 6:51 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: SATA SSD for PATA motherboard?
PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 3:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 10:28 am
Posts: 72
I'm thinking about changing the HDD in my HTPC to a SSD. However, it seems like the best deals (Kingston 40GB Intel-controller V-series) are SATA, and my HTPC has only PATA connectors.

I'm thinking about getting a SATA-PATA convertor card like this one.

However, I'm worried about passing TRIM commands through the convertor. As I understand it, the V-series currently don't support TRIM, and neither does WinXP which I'm using (and not going to switch from because of other constraints).

However, apparently there's an Intel utility that will work in WinXP and when run, will perform about the same steps as TRIM would normally. Now my questions are:

- Does the Intel 'trim-like' utility support the Kingston V-series?
- Will this utility work with a PATA-SATA bridge, in case the SSD itself is supported by it? Or will I need a PCI SATA controller?

_________________
jusqu'ici, tout va bien...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 8:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 2:33 am
Posts: 73
The (40gb boot-drive) reviews I have seen say that the Intel utility does not work on Kingston drives, Kingston drives do not have Trim support yet and you can't flash an Intel firmware on them but kingston plans to add support for TRIM in the future.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 9:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 10:28 am
Posts: 72
ah as that seems to be the case, I will wait till the V-series support the Intel SSD Toolkit or equivalent before buying one.

Then I'll see whether it works through the PATA-SATA bridge. If not, I'll get a SATA PCI controller.

_________________
jusqu'ici, tout va bien...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 1:41 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 6:53 am
Posts: 1539
Location: Sweden
Trim support is nice of course but is it really that important for your kind of setup? Solid state is quiet and that's always nice, but for an older system I would perhaps go CF-to-IDE for a low cost solution.

_________________
Main: ASRock B85M-ITX | i3-4330 | 16GB DDR3 | Intel 730 240GB | HDPLEX H1-S | picoPSU | No moving parts | Idle 13.9W
HTPC: ASRock H81M-ITX | Pentium G3420 | 4GB DDR3 | Intel 520 120GB | HDPLEX H1-S | picoPSU | No moving parts | Idle 11.2W
Gaming: Intel DH77EB | i5-3570K | GTX 750 Ti | 16GB DDR3 | Intel 520 120GB | TJ08-E | G-360 360W
Server: Intel DH77DF | i3-2100T | 4TB+3x3TB | picoPSU | Idle 24W AC


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 2:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 10:28 am
Posts: 72
Without trim or equivalent speed will decrease significantly over time as the drive fills up.

As for CF-to-IDE, all benchmarks Ive seen show abysmal performance. The Kingston intel-based V-series are actually quite affordable, and I think it's a viable upgrade for my aging system once trim support gets implemented.

_________________
jusqu'ici, tout va bien...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 2:30 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 6:53 am
Posts: 1539
Location: Sweden
Decrease significantly, sure. But it will still be faster than say a Velicoraptor. I doubt you would be able to tell the difference in a HTPC environment.

_________________
Main: ASRock B85M-ITX | i3-4330 | 16GB DDR3 | Intel 730 240GB | HDPLEX H1-S | picoPSU | No moving parts | Idle 13.9W
HTPC: ASRock H81M-ITX | Pentium G3420 | 4GB DDR3 | Intel 520 120GB | HDPLEX H1-S | picoPSU | No moving parts | Idle 11.2W
Gaming: Intel DH77EB | i5-3570K | GTX 750 Ti | 16GB DDR3 | Intel 520 120GB | TJ08-E | G-360 360W
Server: Intel DH77DF | i3-2100T | 4TB+3x3TB | picoPSU | Idle 24W AC


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 3:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 10:28 am
Posts: 72
that discussion will probably be academic as the implementation of TRIM in the V-series seems to be highly likely.

_________________
jusqu'ici, tout va bien...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 6:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 8:35 am
Posts: 1253
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Take a look at the RunCore PATA SSD drives, which use the Indilinx controller (so they don't need TRIM as much as older controllers).

_________________
i7 2600K CPU@4.4 GHz, Asrock Z68, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866 CL9, Intel 335 240GB SSD + Samsung HD502HI 500GB, Internal i7 graphics, Antec P180 case, Seasonic X-400 fanless PS, Megahalems CPU HS, Nexus 3-pin & AC PWM fans ~ 600 RPM, AcoustiPack foam, homemade ducts.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 2:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 9:02 am
Posts: 93
Remember trim only affects the write speed of the SSD - it will still read at full speed and it spends far more time reading that writing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 11:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 9:16 pm
Posts: 85
Location: Texas
dZeus wrote:
As for CF-to-IDE, all benchmarks Ive seen show abysmal performance. The Kingston intel-based V-series are actually quite affordable, and I think it's a viable upgrade for my aging system once trim support gets implemented.


My CF-to-IDE Transcend Drive is faster than my Seagate Momentus 5400rpm 60GB in every way.

Momentus : 37MB/sec read 15MS seek
Transcend CF Card to IDE : 41MB/sec read .1MS seek

_________________
My Current Rig:
Athlon II X4 620e @ 2.6ghz | Gigabyte Radeon HD6770 1GB
BIOSTAR A870U3 | 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600
64GB Crucial M4 | 128GB Crucial M4
640GB Hitachi Travelstar | Corsair 450W
Wattage is 73W Idle, 205W Fully Loaded


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 5:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 10:28 am
Posts: 72
all these native PATA or CF-PATA ideas are nice and all, but at this point I don't see any way how it's going to beat the price/performance of Kingston's intel-G2-based V-series 40GB drive + pata-sata convertor.

_________________
jusqu'ici, tout va bien...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2010 4:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 12:28 am
Posts: 101
Location: Central U.S.
dZeus wrote:
all these native PATA or CF-PATA ideas are nice and all, but at this point I don't see any way how it's going to beat the price/performance of Kingston's intel-G2-based V-series 40GB drive + pata-sata convertor.

I have to agree. I just got a Kingston V-series 64GB when it was on sale at Frys. It replaced a VelociRaptor. Its definately faster than the Raptor, but doesn't blow it away. What I like about it, is that it runs cool, is silent and has no moving parts. I had to RMA a Seagate and the VelociRaptor recently. The Raptor seeks where annoying as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2010 9:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 21, 2008 9:16 pm
Posts: 85
Location: Texas
dZeus wrote:
all these native PATA or CF-PATA ideas are nice and all, but at this point I don't see any way how it's going to beat the price/performance of Kingston's intel-G2-based V-series 40GB drive + pata-sata convertor.


Well my CF card in my CF to IDE adapter has Lifetime Warranty threw Transcend. How long is that warranty on your Kingston SSD? LOL!

I think it's cool to build a PC where the PSU, "hard drive", memory, and video card all have lifetime warrantys. No more repair costs! (cross your fingers that your motherboard doesn't die)

_________________
My Current Rig:
Athlon II X4 620e @ 2.6ghz | Gigabyte Radeon HD6770 1GB
BIOSTAR A870U3 | 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600
64GB Crucial M4 | 128GB Crucial M4
640GB Hitachi Travelstar | Corsair 450W
Wattage is 73W Idle, 205W Fully Loaded


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 23, 2010 1:51 pm 
Offline
SPCR News Editor

Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 11:20 am
Posts: 2176
Location: TN, USA
If you care about performance at all you should look at the U3S6 card and use modern sata drives.

http://www.provantage.com/asus-u3s6~7ASU917P.htm

For the small cost of the card you not only upgrade your drive controller but you also get USB3 ports as well.

_________________
.
Please put a country in your profile if you haven't already.
This site is international but I'll assume you are in the US if you don't tell me otherwise.
RAID levels thread http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=388987


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SATA SSD for PATA motherboard?
PostPosted: Sat May 29, 2010 5:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 10:28 am
Posts: 72
dZeus wrote:
I'm thinking about changing the HDD in my HTPC to a SSD. However, it seems like the best deals (Kingston 40GB Intel-controller V-series) are SATA, and my HTPC has only PATA connectors.

I'm thinking about getting a SATA-PATA convertor card like this one.

However, I'm worried about passing TRIM commands through the convertor. As I understand it, the V-series currently don't support TRIM, and neither does WinXP which I'm using (and not going to switch from because of other constraints).

However, apparently there's an Intel utility that will work in WinXP and when run, will perform about the same steps as TRIM would normally. Now my questions are:

- Does the Intel 'trim-like' utility support the Kingston V-series?
- Will this utility work with a PATA-SATA bridge, in case the SSD itself is supported by it? Or will I need a PCI SATA controller?


I bought the Intel X25-V 40GB drive (nearly identical price to the Kingston), and hooked it up through a unbranded chinese PATA-SATA convertor.

It works like a charm on the PATA port of my intel 815 chipset, however the Intel SSD toolkit says that it cannot perform any manual trim as it does not support 'RAID configuration'. I suppose that is the default error when it does not find the drive hooked up through a supported IDE driver.

I wonder if third party SATA controllers will work with the toolkit; however I'm not convinced that I'll need the manual trim anytime soon, as I won't be writing much data onto the drive (probably not more than 12 GB).

_________________
jusqu'ici, tout va bien...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SATA SSD for PATA motherboard?
PostPosted: Mon Sep 19, 2011 9:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 10:28 am
Posts: 72
FrankL wrote:
dZeus wrote:
I'm thinking about changing the HDD in my HTPC to a SSD. However, it seems like the best deals (Kingston 40GB Intel-controller V-series) are SATA, and my HTPC has only PATA connectors.

I'm thinking about getting a SATA-PATA convertor card like this one.

However, I'm worried about passing TRIM commands through the convertor. As I understand it, the V-series currently don't support TRIM, and neither does WinXP which I'm using (and not going to switch from because of other constraints).

However, apparently there's an Intel utility that will work in WinXP and when run, will perform about the same steps as TRIM would normally. Now my questions are:

- Does the Intel 'trim-like' utility support the Kingston V-series?
- Will this utility work with a PATA-SATA bridge, in case the SSD itself is supported by it? Or will I need a PCI SATA controller?


I bought the Intel X25-V 40GB drive (nearly identical price to the Kingston), and hooked it up through a unbranded chinese PATA-SATA convertor.

It works like a charm on the PATA port of my intel 815 chipset, however the Intel SSD toolkit says that it cannot perform any manual trim as it does not support 'RAID configuration'. I suppose that is the default error when it does not find the drive hooked up through a supported IDE driver.

I wonder if third party SATA controllers will work with the toolkit; however I'm not convinced that I'll need the manual trim anytime soon, as I won't be writing much data onto the drive (probably not more than 12 GB).


update: manual trim works on the PATA-SATA bridge on my Thinkpad T43. I'm not sure if this is due to a newer version of the Intel Toolkit, or because of differences between the two bridge chips used.

_________________
jusqu'ici, tout va bien...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SATA SSD for PATA motherboard?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 3:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2005 8:38 pm
Posts: 65
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Hi FrankL,

I am a proud owner of a Thinkpad T43. SSD upgrade has also been on my mind for a while but that Marvell SATA-IDE bridge bugged me to no end. (Although some guys went to the lengths of removing it)

Watching the new drive adapters popping up on ebay everyday finally made me want to go the alternate route; 1.8" uSATA SSD with the new IDE-uSATA adapter.

Problem is, I have read on thinkpad forums that this adapter has a problem with the Marvell chip on the T43, and windows installations will result in errors! When I saw that you ran a SATA SSD on your T43 I almost jumped. The adapter is known to work with ANY Thinkpads with IDE, but shown to fail on T43's!

Could you clarify the setup, and specifications of your T43 laptop with the intel SSD? If there is a way to use the adapter, I would much rather buy that than to risk breaking my motherboard removing the Marvell chip.

_________________
[size=75][b]Before:[/b] [color=red]Pentium M 760 + CT479 MoDT + ASUS P4P800SE + ATi HD3850 AGP[/color]
[i][b]Now:[/b][/i] [color=red]Pentium E5500 | Zotac P43 ITX | EVGA 8800GTS 512 | 8Gb DDR3 | OCZ Vertex 60Gb | Corsair H60[/color] | [i]right..[/i][/size]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SATA SSD for PATA motherboard?
PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 9:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 10:28 am
Posts: 72
I had the Intel SATA SSD hooked up through a IDE-SATA bridge in a Ultrabay adapter branded 'LQE' from China (bought through Ebay) like this one

The Marvell SATA-IDE bridge chip is bothering me too but I'm too much of a coward to desolder it right now as the T43 works nicely. I might give it a go when I have the money and need to buy a new laptop anyway.

I guess desoldering the Marvell chip gets rid of ~2 watts as it alleviates the need for the Ultrabay bridge chip + gets rid of the usage by the Marvell bridge (which is ~1 watt).

_________________
jusqu'ici, tout va bien...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group