It is currently Sun Jul 13, 2014 10:10 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Measuring watts with a multimeter (VOM)
PostPosted: Sun Apr 18, 2010 6:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2010 10:40 am
Posts: 6
Location: An Island in the Pacific
If you already own a multimeter (volt-ohm meter or VOM) that is capable of measuring amperes (on a scale of up to at least 2 Amperes) then it is unnecessary for you to purchase a "Kill A Watt" meter to measure watts used by various appliances.

You can use an easily constructed extension cable "harness" to put your multimeter's amp meter function in series and then use Ohm's Law to calculate watts.

Ohm's Law tells us that P = I x E, where P is power in Watts, I is current in Amperes and E is voltage (or ElectroMotive Force) in Volts. We know that standard voltage for North American electrical distribution systems is 117 VAC. In Europe it is usually 230VAC. So if we plug in an appliance and our ammeter (ampere meter) tells us the appliance is drawing 0.85 Amps then the power it is consuming (assume North America) is 0.85amps x 117volts = 99.5 watts.

You first of all must set your multimeter to read amperes. This usually requires selecting the appropriate amps scale on the rotary dial and often also requires you to connect one of the measuring leads to the ampere measuring socket on the multimeter.

You then need to construct a extension cable harness and place the ammeter in series with the harness:



--)----------------------------------------------------(
wall plug --)--------------| |----------------------------( socket
| |
^ ^
attach multimeter
cable ends here


The trick is to make the harness such that no exposed wire ends exist that could cause electrocution. Electrical tape usually suffices.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Measuring watts with a multimeter (VOM)
PostPosted: Sun Apr 18, 2010 7:38 pm 
Offline
-- Vendor --

Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:30 am
Posts: 372
Location: Canada
Sorry but is not true :) You will measure Apparent Power [VA] not Real Power [W]. Real Power will always be smaller or equal with Apparent Power. But Apparent Power can be used as a reference if you do not want to spend the money for a "Kill a Watt".

_________________
PSU 130W fanless ATX $29.98 SALE
Quad Q8400s 2Ghz 0.925V Idle:31W load:49W
_______________________________________


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2010 10:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 7:37 pm
Posts: 222
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Also very dangerous. Only certified sparkys are legally allowed to work on anything mains powered.
Also, you'd have to turn everything off everytime you wanted to wanted to use the multimeter for something else. A mains watt meter is a fairly permanent fixture, but you'd use a multimeter for a bunch of other uses.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:41 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 11811
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
lagagnon's instructions should not be followed. As the other critics have pointed out, not only will it give you incomplete info, it is dangerous. This thread is now locked.

_________________
Mike Chin,
Editor/Publisher, SPCR
Support SPCR with your donations!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group