It is currently Mon Oct 20, 2014 8:53 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 187 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 3:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 5:34 am
Posts: 23
I have just order one of these boards via eBay. Now I'm looking for a suitable brick from the UK.

One question, do you know if input voltage affects the efficiency of the board? Does it make much difference if I use an 18, 19 or 24V brick?

Simeon


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 10:51 am 
Offline
-- Vendor --

Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:30 am
Posts: 372
Location: Canada
simbloke wrote:
I have just order one of these boards via eBay. Now I'm looking for a suitable brick from the UK.

One question, do you know if input voltage affects the efficiency of the board? Does it make much difference if I use an 18, 19 or 24V brick?

Simeon


Lower input voltage will give a bit better efficiency 19V, 19.5V and 20V are the easiest to find and will give you the best efficiency.
I looked at eBay.co.uk and you can use this item number 400055514268 is 90W is 20V 4.5A and is used for DELL 2001FP LCD MONITOR it will work perfectly with Winmate PSU I also see this 390173558362 that is 20V 6A so 120W never seen before but it seems to be at the same price as the 90W model and it will be a better value. And finally there is this item number 150432897456 19V 7.9A 150W that will also work great.

You just need to paste the item number in the eBay search field and you will see the item.
I will probably need to build a list with compatible AC adapters but you can search for "AC adapters 4 pin" and you will find most of them.

_________________
PSU 130W fanless ATX $29.98 SALE
Quad Q8400s 2Ghz 0.925V Idle:31W load:49W
_______________________________________


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2010 12:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 5:34 am
Posts: 23
Thanks, for the pointers. I had been considering the XP POWER AEF100PS19 which has an efficiency of 93% but is very expensive.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2010 9:59 pm 
Offline
-- Vendor --

Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:30 am
Posts: 372
Location: Canada
simbloke wrote:
Thanks, for the pointers. I had been considering the XP POWER AEF100PS19 which has an efficiency of 93% but is very expensive.


It make no sense to pay much more for the AEF100PS19, all recommended above are about 90% efficient so the 3% difference will never pay off.

_________________
PSU 130W fanless ATX $29.98 SALE
Quad Q8400s 2Ghz 0.925V Idle:31W load:49W
_______________________________________


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2010 1:14 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 10:29 am
Posts: 75
electrodacus wrote:
Sorry, I will build the cables and by next week they will be on sale as a kit.


Did you list these yet? I'm not in a rush, so no need to hurry, but I also don't want to miss out when you do sell them. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2010 10:44 pm 
Offline
-- Vendor --

Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:30 am
Posts: 372
Location: Canada
AznJason wrote:
electrodacus wrote:
Sorry, I will build the cables and by next week they will be on sale as a kit.


Did you list these yet? I'm not in a rush, so no need to hurry, but I also don't want to miss out when you do sell them. :)


I started to make the cables but did not have time for the photos and maybe I will just sell them here on this forum since I do not have to many and people here are expecting this. It will not be fair to sell them on eBay to people that did not wait for this kit :) .
I will have a total of 7 kits like this but anyone can build this easy even without soldering. But for me is to much trouble and I do not think I will build more than this 7 kits that I will sell here on this forum.

_________________
PSU 130W fanless ATX $29.98 SALE
Quad Q8400s 2Ghz 0.925V Idle:31W load:49W
_______________________________________


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2010 10:54 am 
Offline
-- Vendor --

Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:30 am
Posts: 372
Location: Canada
OK done you can see the details here Link for the dual PSU kit and they are ready to sell.
Sorry for the long wait.
Image

_________________
PSU 130W fanless ATX $29.98 SALE
Quad Q8400s 2Ghz 0.925V Idle:31W load:49W
_______________________________________


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 7:07 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 7:06 am
Posts: 119
Location: Houston, Texas U.S.A.
Electrodacus,
Check out the 150W Liteon PA-1151-03MS (ebay Item number: 280397609323) http://cgi.ebay.com/LiteOn-19V-7-9A-150W-4Pin-AC-Power-Adapter-PA-1151-03MS-/280397609323?cmd=ViewItem&pt=Laptop_Adapters_Chargers&hash=item4148fff96b.

Do you think the pin-out is compatible with Winmate? I could just get the 220W instead.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2010 5:24 pm 
Offline
-- Vendor --

Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:30 am
Posts: 372
Location: Canada
fwki wrote:
Electrodacus,
Check out the 150W Liteon PA-1151-03MS (ebay Item number: 280397609323) http://cgi.ebay.com/LiteOn-19V-7-9A-150W-4Pin-AC-Power-Adapter-PA-1151-03MS-/280397609323?cmd=ViewItem&pt=Laptop_Adapters_Chargers&hash=item4148fff96b.

Do you think the pin-out is compatible with Winmate? I could just get the 220W instead.


Yes the pinout is OK at the first look I was thinking that the pinout is 180 degree rotated but is not so it will work with the winmate.

_________________
PSU 130W fanless ATX $29.98 SALE
Quad Q8400s 2Ghz 0.925V Idle:31W load:49W
_______________________________________


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2010 1:00 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 7:06 am
Posts: 119
Location: Houston, Texas U.S.A.
Thanks for checking the pinout, I'll get that psu for my next build, but I went ahead and got the 220W, figuring to also run a 12V LCD from your board and consolidate wall pluggage, plus the 220W is a beast!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 01, 2010 7:16 pm 
Offline
-- Vendor --

Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:30 am
Posts: 372
Location: Canada
fwki wrote:
Thanks for checking the pinout, I'll get that psu for my next build, but I went ahead and got the 220W, figuring to also run a 12V LCD from your board and consolidate wall pluggage, plus the 220W is a beast!


Yes the 220W AC adapter is a good buy.

_________________
PSU 130W fanless ATX $29.98 SALE
Quad Q8400s 2Ghz 0.925V Idle:31W load:49W
_______________________________________


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: 220W DC-DC?
PostPosted: Fri May 14, 2010 12:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 5:24 am
Posts: 17
Location: EU
Hello Mr. electrodacus,
I would like to ask you if there is any chance you will be selling also the DD-2412AX or DD-WP12AX-220 220W DC-DC power supply form Winmate?
(I cannot post liks yet but the PSUs can be found on Winmate web site)

EDIT:
Let me answer my own question by quotation:
electrodacus wrote:
... after this are sold i will be done so I only declare the income.
This power supply is 4 to 6 time more expensive to import they are high quality product but I will not be able to sell this with over 100$.
The ones I have I got at a good price from a canceled project, they were using this for a dialysis machine (so medical use).

:cry:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 220W DC-DC?
PostPosted: Sat May 15, 2010 11:51 pm 
Offline
-- Vendor --

Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:30 am
Posts: 372
Location: Canada
Regis wrote:
Hello Mr. electrodacus,
I would like to ask you if there is any chance you will be selling also the DD-2412AX or DD-WP12AX-220 220W DC-DC power supply form Winmate?
(I cannot post liks yet but the PSUs can be found on Winmate web site)

EDIT:
Let me answer my own question by quotation:
electrodacus wrote:
... after this are sold i will be done so I only declare the income.
This power supply is 4 to 6 time more expensive to import they are high quality product but I will not be able to sell this with over 100$.
The ones I have I got at a good price from a canceled project, they were using this for a dialysis machine (so medical use).

:cry:


Yes sorry.

I asked about the 220W version some months ago and the price for 50PCS was over 200$/PCS this was quoted from one of the distributors the Winmate dose not sell directly. You can even buy one but the price will probably be even higher and you need to add the shipping and it make no sense to pay that much for a power supply.
I got this that I have for sale at a good price and even if I sell them cheap they are quite expensive to produce they have 4 Layer PCB (i never seen a 4 layer PCB on any other PSU), good quality components and a lot of qualification test since this are used in sensitive environment as industrial and medical computers.

_________________
PSU 130W fanless ATX $29.98 SALE
Quad Q8400s 2Ghz 0.925V Idle:31W load:49W
_______________________________________


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Linear power supply
PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 8:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2005 9:55 am
Posts: 64
I have a nice big heavy 24v power supply. At half load it puts out 24.1V at 10 amps no load 26V. Will this work? I want to use this with 2 Winmates on a modest high end system (8 gig ram, AMD 3.4Ghz quad and an ATI mid-range video card, SSD and 3.5" hard drive.)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linear power supply
PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2010 11:08 am 
Offline
-- Vendor --

Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:30 am
Posts: 372
Location: Canada
srbliss wrote:
I have a nice big heavy 24v power supply. At half load it puts out 24.1V at 10 amps no load 26V. Will this work? I want to use this with 2 Winmates on a modest high end system (8 gig ram, AMD 3.4Ghz quad and an ATI mid-range video card, SSD and 3.5" hard drive.)


Sorry for answering so late but Yes it will work great as long as the voltage dose not exceed 28V.
About your system I do not know the video card mid-range is not enough I need to know the model.

_________________
PSU 130W fanless ATX $29.98 SALE
Quad Q8400s 2Ghz 0.925V Idle:31W load:49W
_______________________________________


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 8:28 pm
Posts: 64
Location: 127.0.0.1
As long as I stay under the total wattage is there a limit to the number of HDD I can use in a small nas powered by your psu? I imagine I'd need plenty of Y splitters for the molex/sata power?? How about multiple fans?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linear power supply
PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2010 5:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2005 9:55 am
Posts: 64
electrodacus wrote:
srbliss wrote:
I have a nice big heavy 24v power supply. At half load it puts out 24.1V at 10 amps no load 26V. Will this work? I want to use this with 2 Winmates on a modest high end system (8 gig ram, AMD 3.4Ghz quad and an ATI mid-range video card, SSD and 3.5" hard drive.)


Sorry for answering so late but Yes it will work great as long as the voltage dose not exceed 28V.
About your system I do not know the video card mid-range is not enough I need to know the model.


It's an ATI 5770.
Steve


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 9:55 pm 
Offline
-- Vendor --

Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:30 am
Posts: 372
Location: Canada
twitch wrote:
As long as I stay under the total wattage is there a limit to the number of HDD I can use in a small nas powered by your psu? I imagine I'd need plenty of Y splitters for the molex/sata power?? How about multiple fans?


no there is no limit as long as you stay under the max power the PSU. The Low power 3.5" HDD need abut 2A at startup on 12V so the max will probably be 6 HDD if you do not have anything else connected to PSU the Winmate can provide 10A continues on 12V and 12A for some seconds I did not tested with 6 HDD but it will probably work.

_________________
PSU 130W fanless ATX $29.98 SALE
Quad Q8400s 2Ghz 0.925V Idle:31W load:49W
_______________________________________


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linear power supply
PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 10:04 pm 
Offline
-- Vendor --

Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:30 am
Posts: 372
Location: Canada
srbliss wrote:
It's an ATI 5770.
Steve


This will use about 108W at load so you will need a PSU only for this so the other power supply will need to provide power for 3.4GHz AMD quad core probably 95W TDP do not know the exact model then is the motherboard (again do not know the model) but a guess will be 20W + 8GB RAM under 10W then there is the HDD and SSD probably to much for only two PSU at full load. I will suggest 3 PSU but you are also limited by the 240W ac adapter. It will work if you can undervolt the CPU or use a 65W TDP CPU.

_________________
PSU 130W fanless ATX $29.98 SALE
Quad Q8400s 2Ghz 0.925V Idle:31W load:49W
_______________________________________


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fanless 130Wx2 ATX PSU with 220W AC adapter
PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2010 3:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 6:30 am
Posts: 352
Location: Moldova, exUSSR
electrodacus, hi :)

Basing on the results of this article, ATI 5770 draws not so much. Here is exact currents analysis:

Image

_________________
G2020 2.9GHz, Gigabyte GA-B75N, D9PFJ 2x4Gb @DDR3-1333 1.2V, Samsung 840 Pro 128Gb + HM321HI 320Gb, TS8XDVDRW-K, Foxconn RS-233 FX-250T, Samsung 910T. Idles (w/o display): AC 18W


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fanless 130Wx2 ATX PSU with 220W AC adapter
PostPosted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 9:39 pm 
Offline
-- Vendor --

Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:30 am
Posts: 372
Location: Canada
Ksanderash wrote:
electrodacus, hi :)

Basing on the results of this article, ATI 5770 draws not so much. Here is exact currents analysis:



I just checked some reviews on 5770 and they measured 108W.
Probably the power consumption depends on manufacturer and how they implement the GPU it also depend on how the power measurement is done.

_________________
PSU 130W fanless ATX $29.98 SALE
Quad Q8400s 2Ghz 0.925V Idle:31W load:49W
_______________________________________


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fanless 130Wx2 ATX PSU with 220W AC adapter
PostPosted: Thu Dec 09, 2010 5:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 5:51 am
Posts: 1
I did a little research and realise I would actually want a Y4, but I see where you say its not available. Could I get the 130w PSU and the 2.5mm panel mount connector and p4 cable (as in you attach the 2.5mm connector to the p4 cable). Will the following make a good adapter and at what voltage considering I would be using the p4 conector?

http://www.amazon.com/Antec-NP-100-Univ ... =pd_cp_e_1

specs here

http://www.antec.com/Believe_it/product.php?id=NzQ=


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fanless 130Wx2 ATX PSU with 220W AC adapter
PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2010 1:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2010 10:55 am
Posts: 1
Would I lose a lot in efficiency with the 220w if I only use 35-45w? I looked on ebay for a 4 pin 90 AC adapter, saw some sellers with the replacement 90w 2001FP, but I'm not sure which ones are reliable.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fanless 130Wx2 ATX PSU with 220W AC adapter
PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2011 4:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 6:30 am
Posts: 352
Location: Moldova, exUSSR
35-45W consumption? Take 90W PSU then )

Always post links, pls, on what are you talking abt (PSU choice e.g.)

_________________
G2020 2.9GHz, Gigabyte GA-B75N, D9PFJ 2x4Gb @DDR3-1333 1.2V, Samsung 840 Pro 128Gb + HM321HI 320Gb, TS8XDVDRW-K, Foxconn RS-233 FX-250T, Samsung 910T. Idles (w/o display): AC 18W


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fanless 130Wx2 ATX PSU with 220W AC adapter
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:55 am 
Offline
-- Vendor --

Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:30 am
Posts: 372
Location: Canada
toyanucci wrote:
I did a little research and realise I would actually want a Y4, but I see where you say its not available. Could I get the 130w PSU and the 2.5mm panel mount connector and p4 cable (as in you attach the 2.5mm connector to the p4 cable). Will the following make a good adapter and at what voltage considering I would be using the p4 conector?

http://www.amazon.com/Antec-NP-100-Univ ... =pd_cp_e_1

specs here

http://www.antec.com/Believe_it/product.php?id=NzQ=


It seems a bit expensive you can find on eBay an 120W to 160W AC adapter with the right 4 pin connector for 40$.
Any voltage from 18 to 28V will work.
You can ask me on eBay and I will search and recommend for you an AC adapter.

_________________
PSU 130W fanless ATX $29.98 SALE
Quad Q8400s 2Ghz 0.925V Idle:31W load:49W
_______________________________________


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fanless 130Wx2 ATX PSU with 220W AC adapter
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:59 am 
Offline
-- Vendor --

Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:30 am
Posts: 372
Location: Canada
Tipycol wrote:
Would I lose a lot in efficiency with the 220w if I only use 35-45w? I looked on ebay for a 4 pin 90 AC adapter, saw some sellers with the replacement 90w 2001FP, but I'm not sure which ones are reliable.


The 220W is quite good so not to much maybe 1% or max 2% less efficient than a very good 90W AC adapter.
The reliable one will be the original Dell.

_________________
PSU 130W fanless ATX $29.98 SALE
Quad Q8400s 2Ghz 0.925V Idle:31W load:49W
_______________________________________


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fanless 130Wx2 ATX PSU with 220W AC adapter
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:05 am 
Offline
-- Vendor --

Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:30 am
Posts: 372
Location: Canada
Ksanderash wrote:
35-45W consumption? Take 90W PSU then )

Always post links, pls, on what are you talking abt (PSU choice e.g.)


Hi Ksanderash glad you are still on this forum.
He is talking about the 220W I used and reviewed here that is available from more than one seller on eBay from some time is 20V 11A great quality I use one right now.
And the 90W for the Dell 2001FP monitor is quite common AC adapter that has the 4 pin Din connector 20V 4.5A but there are a lot of replacement AC adapter for this model and I do not know if all are good quality.

_________________
PSU 130W fanless ATX $29.98 SALE
Quad Q8400s 2Ghz 0.925V Idle:31W load:49W
_______________________________________


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fanless 130Wx2 ATX PSU with 220W AC adapter
PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 5:05 pm 
Offline
-- Vendor --

Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:30 am
Posts: 372
Location: Canada
Hi,

I just made a video about this power supply see: Link to video

I guess that embedded videos are not allowed. If is possible let me know how.

_________________
PSU 130W fanless ATX $29.98 SALE
Quad Q8400s 2Ghz 0.925V Idle:31W load:49W
_______________________________________


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fanless 130W ATX PSU with 120W AC adapter *Video.
PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2011 7:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 6:57 am
Posts: 1
i have a question
Q : can i power up a few of these using P4 Y cables ? ( assuming i swap one male connector to a female one and thus daisy chain them)
- the source of the first P4 will be from a higher watt ATX supply eg 700W


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fanless 130W ATX PSU with 120W AC adapter *Video.
PostPosted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 4:37 pm 
Offline
-- Vendor --

Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:30 am
Posts: 372
Location: Canada
ruhayahali wrote:
i have a question
Q : can i power up a few of these using P4 Y cables ? ( assuming i swap one male connector to a female one and thus daisy chain them)
- the source of the first P4 will be from a higher watt ATX supply eg 700W



I think I answered you directly the ATX power supply can not be used to supply power to this since they need a minimum of 18V at the input.

_________________
PSU 130W fanless ATX $29.98 SALE
Quad Q8400s 2Ghz 0.925V Idle:31W load:49W
_______________________________________


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 187 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group