It is currently Fri Jul 25, 2014 6:57 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 6:47 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
Tyan? All they make is server motherboards anymore.

Asus is the place-us.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: hmmm....
PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2009 5:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 10:56 pm
Posts: 1074
Location: San Jose
I keep seeing these big evga boards, are they any good? Anyone heard anything about those?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2009 7:51 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
Well they seem to win OC awards, so stability is very good. Nothing about FAH or other stuff, and that socket 1136 socket problem can be avoided with their top of the line board, but the hell with that idea, its big bucks.

Mobo problems seem to be more inherent to certain chip sets than to mobo companies. Even Asus boards are problematic when the chipset bites the weenie.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 2:37 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2003 12:13 pm
Posts: 381
Location: Rochester, MN
So what do you think is the most stable chipset right now, in your opinion?

_________________
Veni, Vidi, Complicavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 6:05 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
KK, all I can say is I've never had problems with Intel or NVidia. NVidia is now dead.

Follow up - I've had a good run recently and even though GPU3 was plugged in I did not start folding on it. It simply got too many EUEs, over half, even at stock speeds, so I gave up on it.

Only now have I finally physically removed the card. 3 GPUs and an idle cpu are now averaging 245 watts. Before it was appx 300, even though GPU3 was not folding. Odd. I should not lose any points, famous last words.

Also odd - FAHMON is reportting GPU 0 is paused, but its not.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 6:03 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
As you might know my MSI quad gpu setup with Vista 64 has been the worst pc I have ever built, bar none. Since I am officially a college student I purchased Win 7 at a bargain price. I installed it as my last attempt to get everything running properly.

So far so good. Win 7 recognized all 4 video cards without me having to clear the BIOS with a battery removal. Other strange problems have dissapeared for now as well. Vista 64 routinely gave me a blank screen as it constantly redetermined the # of displays and resolutions. This happened during the initial config on 7, but not after.

I'm going to send Vista 64 back to the CEO with a letter saying no I don't want a refund, I want a damn apology.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 6:39 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2003 12:13 pm
Posts: 381
Location: Rochester, MN
how much ram are you running in that box, aris?

_________________
Veni, Vidi, Complicavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 7:50 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4247
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
4GB

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 8:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 2:47 am
Posts: 429
Location: Bratislava, Slovak Republic
Probably late, but one czech group had very similar problems with their folding PC (called PC-IQE) . It had ASUS P6T7 WS Supercomputer + CPU Intel i7 920 + 3x nV Gigabyte GTX295 (1PCB) + 1x nV Asus GTX295 (2PCB) in it. When they loaded all 4 cards, system went down, and it was because of Vista too. They then switched to Ubuntu - and since that moment their folding computer is rock solid - even with all 8 GPUs loaded at maximum.

So either NV or MS resolved the 4-card problems in Windows 7, thus solving your stability problem.

FYI: It is the one at top (CNT - IQE): http://www.gpugrid.net/top_hosts.php


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2010 4:21 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2003 12:13 pm
Posts: 381
Location: Rochester, MN
all those points from one box? sheesh.

_________________
Veni, Vidi, Complicavi


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group