It is currently Sat Dec 27, 2014 10:16 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Is the i7 GPU [enough] for two displays?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 1:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 1:23 am
Posts: 8
Hi,

Im building a computer for work and Im thinking of using the built in GPU in i7, will this handle 2 Displays in 1920x1200 without problems?

I could add a fanless PCI-Express GPU but this will make the temp to raise a bit i guess?

BestRegards


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the i7 GPU enouth for two displays?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 1:59 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 6:53 am
Posts: 1544
Location: Sweden
Yes, it will work. This has very little to do with GPU power btw. More a question of features, as long as you don't plan to do any heavy 3D work or play games.

_________________
Main: ASRock B85M-ITX | i3-4330 | 16GB DDR3 | Intel 730 240GB | HDPLEX H1-S | picoPSU | No moving parts | Idle 13.9W
HTPC: ASRock H81M-ITX | Pentium G3420 | 4GB DDR3 | Intel 520 120GB | HDPLEX H1-S | picoPSU | No moving parts | Idle 11.2W
Gaming: Intel DH77EB | i5-3570K | GTX 750 Ti | 16GB DDR3 | Intel 520 120GB | TJ08-E | G-360 360W
Server: Intel DH77DF | i3-2100T | 4TB+3x3TB | picoPSU | Idle 24W AC


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the i7 GPU enouth for two displays?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:32 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 4:41 am
Posts: 709
Location: Denmark
If you're just using the computer for productivity, i.e. not anything GPU demanding, then the i7 will easily handle the two desktops.

_________________
Cooler Master Elite 341, Athlon II X3 425, Radeon 5750 (passive, fan zip-tied on), Crucial M4 64 GB.
Cooling: AC Alpine 64 Pro, rear exhaust Scythe Slipstream 800 rpm @ ~5 V


"SSD's: The difference between a casual jogger and a dog chasing a ball"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the i7 GPU enouth for two displays?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 1:23 am
Posts: 8
Thanks, this sounds great!

I thought is to extend my desktop on two displays that each run 1920x1200.

No gaming or heavy 3D will be done on this computer, just winform development. Ofcoudes some internet browsing also with flash and so on.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the i7 GPU enouth for two displays?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 9:48 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Posts: 4777
Location: Monterey Bay, CA
Yep - the iGPU will work fine.

_________________
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, MSI Z87-G45, MSI GTX 760 2GB Gaming, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung Evo 250GB, Crucial MX100 256GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic X-560. 35-40W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 200-230W Rift, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)

Support SPCR through these links: NCIX, Amazon and Newegg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the i7 GPU enouth for two displays?
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 9:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 6:05 pm
Posts: 188
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
What about two 1920 x 1200 displays running CS6 and/or playing Blu-ray videos?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the i7 GPU enouth for two displays?
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2012 11:14 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 6:53 am
Posts: 1544
Location: Sweden
Two displays at 1920x1200 is fine, bluray is fine and CS6 will work but I think it could perform better with a better GPU.

_________________
Main: ASRock B85M-ITX | i3-4330 | 16GB DDR3 | Intel 730 240GB | HDPLEX H1-S | picoPSU | No moving parts | Idle 13.9W
HTPC: ASRock H81M-ITX | Pentium G3420 | 4GB DDR3 | Intel 520 120GB | HDPLEX H1-S | picoPSU | No moving parts | Idle 11.2W
Gaming: Intel DH77EB | i5-3570K | GTX 750 Ti | 16GB DDR3 | Intel 520 120GB | TJ08-E | G-360 360W
Server: Intel DH77DF | i3-2100T | 4TB+3x3TB | picoPSU | Idle 24W AC


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the i7 GPU enouth for two displays?
PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2012 5:09 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Posts: 4777
Location: Monterey Bay, CA
Vicotnik wrote:
...and CS6 will work but I think it could perform better with a better GPU.


While Adobe has added Open CL features to CS6, I haven't seen how much gpu is really needed to make full use of it. AMD claims ~5-7x speed improvement on Blur and Liquefy filters using a Llano laptop APU...so HD4000 might be in the same ballpark.

_________________
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, MSI Z87-G45, MSI GTX 760 2GB Gaming, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung Evo 250GB, Crucial MX100 256GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic X-560. 35-40W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 200-230W Rift, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)

Support SPCR through these links: NCIX, Amazon and Newegg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the i7 GPU [enough] for two displays?
PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2012 11:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 3:03 pm
Posts: 81
I think how much of a boost you'd get with photoshop CS 6 by going to a GPU would depend on what filters you commonly use.

CA_Steve wrote:
Vicotnik wrote:
...and CS6 will work but I think it could perform better with a better GPU.

While Adobe has added Open CL features to CS6, I haven't seen how much gpu is really needed to make full use of it. AMD claims ~5-7x speed improvement on Blur and Liquefy filters using a Llano laptop APU...so HD4000 might be in the same ballpark.

Is it just Open CL, or does Adobe also support CUDA? IIRC, the latest batch of nvidia cards aren't so great WRT open CL performance.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the i7 GPU [enough] for two displays?
PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2012 2:17 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Posts: 4777
Location: Monterey Bay, CA
lhopitalified: CUDA is an NVidia only deal. I hate to suggest getting a discrete GPU without seeing any benchmarks.

Whispercat: Try it with the iGPU and compare to your current platform...it might be in the land of "good enough". If it isn't, you can always add a discrete card.

_________________
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, MSI Z87-G45, MSI GTX 760 2GB Gaming, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung Evo 250GB, Crucial MX100 256GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic X-560. 35-40W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 200-230W Rift, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)

Support SPCR through these links: NCIX, Amazon and Newegg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the i7 GPU [enough] for two displays?
PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2012 6:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 6:05 pm
Posts: 188
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
CA_Steve wrote:
Whispercat: Try it with the iGPU and compare to your current platform...it might be in the land of "good enough". If it isn't, you can always add a discrete card.


Thanks, will do. That's good news about the Intel HD 4000 being able to drive high res displays and Blu-ray.

If it turns out not to be quite good enough for CS6, can you recommend a low power discrete card? (I've been out of the video card loop for a couple of years).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the i7 GPU [enough] for two displays?
PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2012 6:24 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Posts: 4777
Location: Monterey Bay, CA
Hopefully, there will be some CS6 gpu benchmarks/reviews out in the next month or so and we can figure out the optimum card. You shouldn't need much :D

_________________
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, MSI Z87-G45, MSI GTX 760 2GB Gaming, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung Evo 250GB, Crucial MX100 256GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic X-560. 35-40W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 200-230W Rift, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)

Support SPCR through these links: NCIX, Amazon and Newegg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the i7 GPU [enough] for two displays?
PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2012 9:58 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 1:45 am
Posts: 1786
Location: At Home
For CS6 or CS5.5 you definitely want a nVidia GPU as the performance difference is dramatic.
CS5.5 is CUDA only and you want at least a GTS 450.
I understand that CS6 benefits from both CUDA and OpenCL so again nVidia is the only way to go.
For CS5.5 it was straightforward but the situation with CS6 is more complicated (nVidia 5 v 6 series) so checkout the Adobe forums:
http://forums.adobe.com/community/premi ... ware_forum


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the i7 GPU [enough] for two displays?
PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2012 11:49 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Posts: 4777
Location: Monterey Bay, CA
smilingcrow wrote:
I understand that CS6 benefits from both CUDA and OpenCL so again nVidia is the only way to go.


Huh? Open CL is supported by Intel, AMD and Nvidia. As for Cuda, I guess it depends on whether the user is talking about Premiere (useful) or Photoshop (not useful).

_________________
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, MSI Z87-G45, MSI GTX 760 2GB Gaming, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung Evo 250GB, Crucial MX100 256GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic X-560. 35-40W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 200-230W Rift, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)

Support SPCR through these links: NCIX, Amazon and Newegg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the i7 GPU [enough] for two displays?
PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2012 12:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 3:03 pm
Posts: 81
From http://forums.adobe.com/thread/979969:
Quote:
MGE is new to Photoshop CS6, and uses both the OpenGL and OpenCL frameworks. It does not use the proprietary CUDA framework from nVidia.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Is the i7 GPU [enough] for two displays?
PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2012 12:14 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 1:45 am
Posts: 1786
Location: At Home
CA_Steve wrote:
smilingcrow wrote:
I understand that CS6 benefits from both CUDA and OpenCL so again nVidia is the only way to go.


Huh? Open CL is supported by Intel, AMD and Nvidia. As for Cuda, I guess it depends on whether the user is talking about Premiere (useful) or Photoshop (not useful).

They only mentioned CS6 so who knows! For full support under CS6 go for nVidia otherwise be prepared to spend some time monitoring the Adobe forums and other sources for info.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group