It is currently Fri Dec 26, 2014 8:09 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Motherboard Replacement Question
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2012 7:26 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7378
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Hi,

A friend's Core 2 Duo computer that had an Asus motherboard had the PCIe slot fail. So we had to buy what was available; an Intel micro ATX motherboard. He is running WinXP, and the reinstall won't work -- it keeps going back to the beginning of the reinstallation.

So, what would be the best way to get WinXP up and running -- a reformat is not really an option, and we'd like to not have to reinstall all the programs. Should we do a "fresh" installation and risk the dual boot confusion, or can I delete the old Windows folder and still have program installed and running after all is said and done?

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Motherboard Replacement Question
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2012 8:42 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 9:09 am
Posts: 1936
Location: Northern California.
ive had some luck doing the "repair" install when dealing with a new mobo swap. ymmv
(ive not followed this exact tutorial before, but it looked good/accurate when i skimmed it)
http://pcsupport.about.com/od/operating ... epair1.htm

good luck!

_________________
Please support SPCR by buying your gear through these links: NCIX, Amazon and Newegg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Motherboard Replacement Question
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 3:20 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7378
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Unfortunately, that is the first thing I tried, and it just restarts the process on the first reboot. :-(

Any other thoughts?

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Motherboard Replacement Question
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 3:56 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 4:53 am
Posts: 1315
Location: CT
How far down the installation does it go ?

_________________
Main/gamming : Antec Solo|X-650|Asus P5Q-E|Intel Q9550@3.4GHz|HR-01 Plus 120mm Nexus @6V|Corsair 2x2Go XMS2 DHX cas 4 @4-4-4-12|Exhaust Nexus 120mm @9V|Intel X25M G2 160Gb|Samsung 1TB in SQD|2xGigabyte GTS450 OC (@900/1900/3800)|GPU fan 120mm Nexus @6V
HTPC/folder/Storage : Silverstone|E5300 with Samurai-Z|2Go RAM|GTX460@800|2x1To WD EARS|Intel X25M G2 80Go

Fold with SPCR


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Motherboard Replacement Question
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 5:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:49 pm
Posts: 1259
Location: UK
NeilBlanchard wrote:
Should we do a "fresh" installation and risk the dual boot confusion

You can quite easily get rid of this by editing the hidden 'ntldr' or something file on the root of the installation drive. I'd go this root if you really have to reinstall Windows.

Why does Windows need to be reinstalled as such? Does it no longer start up properly given the huge upheaval of a motherboard swap? Does safe mode work at all? If you can get into safe mode then you could try Drivercleaner to get rid of the leftover drivers from the old motherboard. That might then allow it to boot normally.

You might also want to have a look at some LiveCD's. Some of them offer many more tools than Windows repair to get a system working again.

_________________
Silverstone SG03B: E8200, Asus P5E-VM HDMI, 2Gb RAM, Leadtek 9600GT+S1 rev. 2, Samsung 500Gb, Seasonic X-400, 2x Akasa 120mm, Scythe Zipang 2 fanless


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Motherboard Replacement Question
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 6:58 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7378
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
It seems that the new motherboard could not handle the SATA hard drive on the first reboot. We could not find the "F6 SCSI driver" for this motherboard, and it didn't come with a actual driver disk; just a CD-R that they had pulled together. We got it up and running (sort of) by using an IDE/PATA hard drive, although now it will not do *any* Windows Updates and IE crashes, and after installing Eset Smart Security, the desktop takes *forever* to start working...

This is a refurbished/leftover motherboard, and it shows. There are not very many S775 motherboards left on sale, and so we are struggling to get this machine back on it's feet, as it were.

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Motherboard Replacement Question
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 7:18 pm 
Online

Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 10:20 am
Posts: 498
Location: Ottawa
If you at some point did a repair install you may have a mixed up service pack and/or IE version. Install the latest SP and then IE from the full installers. Download them on another PC and USB/Network them over.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Motherboard Replacement Question
PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2012 8:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 8:35 am
Posts: 1253
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Be sure that AHCI is disabled. That's what needs the F6 driver. XP support of that feature is spotty at best.

_________________
i7 2600K CPU@4.4 GHz, Asrock Z68, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866 CL9, Intel 335 240GB SSD + Samsung HD502HI 500GB, Internal i7 graphics, Antec P180 case, Seasonic X-400 fanless PS, Megahalems CPU HS, Nexus 3-pin & AC PWM fans ~ 600 RPM, AcoustiPack foam, homemade ducts.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Motherboard Replacement Question
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2012 3:16 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7378
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Thanks -- we did try the Repair Installation, so I'll try to get WinXP SP3 and IE8 downloaded here at home and burn them on to CD-R's.

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Motherboard Replacement Question
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 7:37 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7378
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
I downloaded the self-installing WinXP SP3 and IE8 and two other recommended security updates, burned a CD-R and they installed on the rebuilt system without a hitch. :)

Afterward, all the Microsoft Updates installed properly.

The fly in the ointment is that now Eset Smart Security 5 bungs up the Internet. It warns us that the online filter is corrupted and not working, and we then can no longer get online at all. Sigh... Any thoughts on this?

I'm going to clone the IDE drive onto the SATA drive after everything is installed, and then we'll disconnect the IDE drive and save it as a safe bootable drive, for our friend Justin Case.

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Motherboard Replacement Question
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 7:54 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Posts: 4776
Location: Monterey Bay, CA
NeilBlanchard wrote:
The fly in the ointment is that now Eset Smart Security 5 bungs up the Internet. It warns us that the online filter is corrupted and not working, and we then can no longer get online at all. Sigh... Any thoughts on this?


I love when your protection s/w protects you from connectivity :)

Uninstall it and try Microsoft Security Essentials. It's free, low overhead, low hassle.

_________________
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, MSI Z87-G45, MSI GTX 760 2GB Gaming, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung Evo 250GB, Crucial MX100 256GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic X-560. 35-40W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 200-230W Rift, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)

Support SPCR through these links: NCIX, Amazon and Newegg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Motherboard Replacement Question
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:57 am 
Online

Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 10:20 am
Posts: 498
Location: Ottawa
NeilBlanchard wrote:
I'm going to clone the IDE drive onto the SATA drive after everything is installed, and then we'll disconnect the IDE drive and save it as a safe bootable drive, for our friend Justin Case.

Now is a good time to enable AHCI. Enable it in the BIOS then make sure XP sees the controller driver and the empty SATA drive. After you clone it should just work.

I second removing Eset Smart Security 5 and using MSE. You may have to install Eset again before you can uninstall it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Motherboard Replacement Question
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2012 6:03 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4251
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
You didn't mention if the new chipset is the same as the old chipset. Such a change would have given you the least amount of grief. But either way it should have let you do an install.

Did you new mobo come with any drivers? They are usually a few related to the chipset somewhere.

My $0.02 FWIW

Aris

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither´╗┐ patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group