It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 3:25 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Will the Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro block my RAM slots?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 1:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 10:30 am
Posts: 800
Location: London
I'm thinking of fitting the AC Freezer 7 Pro http://www.ebuyer.com/176157-arctic-coo ... c-frz-7pr2 on an Asus M4A785TD-V EVO http://uk.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD_AM3/M4A785TDV_EVO/

I'll be using low-profile RAM http://www.ebuyer.com/342352-crucial-8g ... 9ds1s00ceu but want to be sure the HSF won't block the nearest RAM slots before I decide to buy it.

_________________
Main/HTPC: Custom case, MSI 990FXA-GD80, Phenom II X4 955 (TRUE Rev. C/Nexus), HD6950 2GB (with AXPII), 8GB Corsair Dominator LP DDR3 1066Mhz, Samsung F4EG, Antec CP-850

2nd PC: Bach VX, GA-MA780G-UD3H, PhII 720BE @ 3.2Ghz (SI-128SE/Yate Loon fan), 8GB Kingston Hyper-X DDR2 1066MHz, Yate Loon 140mm intake, Nexus 120mm exhaust, HD103UJ, WD6400AAKS, Nexus Value 430W


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Will the Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro block my RAM slots
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 2:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 10:30 am
Posts: 800
Location: London
Ah, I see it only mounts on AMD with the fan facing up or down which is hardly ideal http://www.arctic.ac/en/p/detail?sArticle=4.%3F and that the review found it rather noisy at full speed and not very good at cooling at low speed http://www.silentpcreview.com/article285-page5.html

Having said that, it's for my Dad, who isn't bothered by noise so if it's no more intrusive than the stock AMD HSF on his Athlon II X3 425 it wouldn't be a problem running at 12v and even at 9v it may cool that CPU (or something more powerful that he might upgrade to like the Phenom II X4 955, perhaps overclocked to 3.8Ghz) adequately and much better than the stock HSF.

I'm not sure about it though so I think I'll bear it in mind but keep looking.

_________________
Main/HTPC: Custom case, MSI 990FXA-GD80, Phenom II X4 955 (TRUE Rev. C/Nexus), HD6950 2GB (with AXPII), 8GB Corsair Dominator LP DDR3 1066Mhz, Samsung F4EG, Antec CP-850

2nd PC: Bach VX, GA-MA780G-UD3H, PhII 720BE @ 3.2Ghz (SI-128SE/Yate Loon fan), 8GB Kingston Hyper-X DDR2 1066MHz, Yate Loon 140mm intake, Nexus 120mm exhaust, HD103UJ, WD6400AAKS, Nexus Value 430W


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Will the Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro block my RAM slots
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 9:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 1:51 pm
Posts: 683
Location: Gefle, Sweden
It's possibly still worth stepping up to a Coolermaster Hyper TX3 Evo that they also have, or maybe the Scythe KATANA 3. I haven't read up on their AM3 orientation though.

_________________
i5-3570K at 4 GHz Turbo, HR-02 Macho w/o fan, MSI R9 290 Gaming, Fractal Design Define R4, 2 front fans, 1 exhaust. 2 SSD's and a quiet Seagate 4TB (ST4000DM000) HDD, Seasonic P-460FL (no squealing).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Will the Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro block my RAM slots
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 2:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 10:30 am
Posts: 800
Location: London
Thanks, the Coolermaster Hyper TX3 Evo certainly looks like a better choice (and is only £14 at scan).

I'll have to check the AM3 orientation but as shown in the pictures at the bottom of this page, clearly there'd be no problem with clearance for low-profile (maybe even high-profile) RAM.
http://www.vortez.net/articles_pages/co ... iew,5.html

_________________
Main/HTPC: Custom case, MSI 990FXA-GD80, Phenom II X4 955 (TRUE Rev. C/Nexus), HD6950 2GB (with AXPII), 8GB Corsair Dominator LP DDR3 1066Mhz, Samsung F4EG, Antec CP-850

2nd PC: Bach VX, GA-MA780G-UD3H, PhII 720BE @ 3.2Ghz (SI-128SE/Yate Loon fan), 8GB Kingston Hyper-X DDR2 1066MHz, Yate Loon 140mm intake, Nexus 120mm exhaust, HD103UJ, WD6400AAKS, Nexus Value 430W


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Will the Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro block my RAM slots
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 2:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:06 pm
Posts: 3395
Location: US
doveman wrote:
Thanks, the Coolermaster Hyper TX3 Evo certainly looks like a better choice (and is only £14 at scan).
That is a no brainer then. All you have to do is get a flow Scythe Slipstream or a Nexus, and you have plenty of quiet cooling capacity for most purposes.

_________________
= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =
"Aristotle calls man the rational animal. All my life I have been seeking evidence to confirm this" Bertrand Russell
"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former" Albert Einstein


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Will the Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro block my RAM slots
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 3:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 10:30 am
Posts: 800
Location: London
ces wrote:
doveman wrote:
Thanks, the Coolermaster Hyper TX3 Evo certainly looks like a better choice (and is only £14 at scan).
That is a no brainer then. All you have to do is get a flow Scythe Slipstream or a Nexus, and you have plenty of quiet cooling capacity for most purposes.


Do you dislike the supplied fan or are you talking about running it with two fans?

_________________
Main/HTPC: Custom case, MSI 990FXA-GD80, Phenom II X4 955 (TRUE Rev. C/Nexus), HD6950 2GB (with AXPII), 8GB Corsair Dominator LP DDR3 1066Mhz, Samsung F4EG, Antec CP-850

2nd PC: Bach VX, GA-MA780G-UD3H, PhII 720BE @ 3.2Ghz (SI-128SE/Yate Loon fan), 8GB Kingston Hyper-X DDR2 1066MHz, Yate Loon 140mm intake, Nexus 120mm exhaust, HD103UJ, WD6400AAKS, Nexus Value 430W


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Will the Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro block my RAM slots
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 3:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:06 pm
Posts: 3395
Location: US
doveman wrote:
Do you dislike the supplied fan or are you talking about running it with two fans?
I am making the assumption that the coolermaster fan will be lacking. That may or may not be a valid assumption. I am highly confident though that the assumption that an SPCR reference Nexus fan will likely perform better is a reliable assumption.

_________________
= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =
"Aristotle calls man the rational animal. All my life I have been seeking evidence to confirm this" Bertrand Russell
"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former" Albert Einstein


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Will the Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro block my RAM slots
PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 4:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 10:30 am
Posts: 800
Location: London
ces wrote:
I am making the assumption that the coolermaster fan will be lacking. That may or may not be a valid assumption. I am highly confident though that the assumption that an SPCR reference Nexus fan will likely perform better is a reliable assumption.


Yeah, fair enough. I've probably got a spare Nexus lying around somewhere anyway.

_________________
Main/HTPC: Custom case, MSI 990FXA-GD80, Phenom II X4 955 (TRUE Rev. C/Nexus), HD6950 2GB (with AXPII), 8GB Corsair Dominator LP DDR3 1066Mhz, Samsung F4EG, Antec CP-850

2nd PC: Bach VX, GA-MA780G-UD3H, PhII 720BE @ 3.2Ghz (SI-128SE/Yate Loon fan), 8GB Kingston Hyper-X DDR2 1066MHz, Yate Loon 140mm intake, Nexus 120mm exhaust, HD103UJ, WD6400AAKS, Nexus Value 430W


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group