It is currently Fri Dec 19, 2014 3:21 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: access wireless router
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2012 1:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:24 pm
Posts: 335
Location: CA, USA
Is there a way to login to a wireless router (to access the router's settings) wirelessly?
I am able to connect a PC to the router's WiFi network (though Windows states it is an "Unidentified network"), and I'm able to access the router's settings when the router is plugged into a PC with a network cable, but I cannot access the settings wirelessly.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: access wireless router
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2012 1:59 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2003 7:16 am
Posts: 1302
Location: en.gb.uk
On the routers I've come across it is possible to administer them wirelessly, but this is disabled by default because it's a potential security hole. There should be an option under settings to enable this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: access wireless router
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2012 9:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:24 pm
Posts: 335
Location: CA, USA
Thanks. There doesn't seem to be a setting to enable/disable wireless admin. I'm thinking it might be something more complicated. It is a second router and my goal is to use it as a dedicated wireless print server on my wireless LAN. But first I'm just trying to configure it to play nice with my existing wireless LAN. I'm not sure how I need to configure it. For the time being I'm happy to administer it via network cable.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: access wireless router
PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2012 10:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:24 pm
Posts: 335
Location: CA, USA
OK, I am able to access it wirelessly now. I think it was conflicting with my other wireless router, because after I changed the router IP and rebooted the PC it worked. Also Windows no longer says "unidentified".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: access wireless router
PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2012 8:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 10:20 am
Posts: 496
Location: Ottawa
It sounds like you want to use it as a wireless bridge. Many "home use" wireless routers don't support this.

In any case you don't want two routers in their default configuration on the same network. They both will try to hand out DHCP leases and claim to be the default gateway. However, since only one has an internet connection if you get an IP from the other one it won't work. You should turn off the routing and DHCP functions of the second router.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: access wireless router
PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:08 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 12021
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
washu wrote:
It sounds like you want to use it as a wireless bridge. Many "home use" wireless routers don't support this.

In any case you don't want two routers in their default configuration on the same network. They both will try to hand out DHCP leases and claim to be the default gateway. However, since only one has an internet connection if you get an IP from the other one it won't work. You should turn off the routing and DHCP functions of the second router.

But it is possible to convert a router to a bridge. See here: http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/how-to-tur ... ss-bridge/

_________________
Mike Chin, SPCR Editor/Publisher
Support SPCR by buying your gear through these links: NCIX, Amazon and Newegg


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group