It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 12:08 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How do i get someone into smartphones?
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 11:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 9:47 pm
Posts: 195
Location: New York
This person has only used phones with buttons. He likes to read emails so has used several LG Env type phones on verizon.
Now his phone broke and pretty much the only qwerty phone is a Samsung, and then there are 100 smartphones.

He sometimes dials while driving (yes i know its dangerous), so something physical to guide his fingers is incredibly helpful.
Any advice?

_________________
Antec P180B|Asus P5B Deluxe/Wifi|Intel Q9550 (2.8) w/ Kingwin 12025| Dominator 4gb + 4gb XMS2 @667|nVidia GTX 260|Seagate 200gb 7200.10|WD 6400AAKS | WD 1tb | Sandisk Extreme 120gb


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do i get someone into smartphones?
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 12:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:49 pm
Posts: 1193
Location: UK
xev wrote:
He sometimes dials while driving (yes i know its dangerous)

What about voice dialing?

A proper hands free device like a Parrot with built in dialing capabilities would be better. Better still, get a car with Bluetooth integration but I'm guessing that might be a little over budget. :wink:

_________________
Silverstone SG03B: E8200, Asus P5E-VM HDMI, 2Gb RAM, Leadtek 9600GT+S1 rev. 2, Samsung 500Gb, Seasonic X-400, 2x Akasa 120mm, Scythe Zipang 2 fanless


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do i get someone into smartphones?
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 2:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 5:18 am
Posts: 490
Location: London, UK
xev wrote:
This person has only used phones with buttons. He likes to read emails so has used several LG Env type phones on verizon.
Now his phone broke and pretty much the only qwerty phone is a Samsung, and then there are 100 smartphones.

He sometimes dials while driving (yes i know its dangerous), so something physical to guide his fingers is incredibly helpful.
Any advice?
Is waiting for the Blackberry q10 an option?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do i get someone into smartphones?
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 2:12 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Posts: 4561
Location: Monterey Bay, CA
Chances are, he doesn't have a data plan and his phone only costs him $40/mo. Any smartphone from the big providers will require a data plan and kick him up to $80/mo....

If you stick with a feature phone, just get a decent Bluetooth earpiece. Many support voice command. He can either tell it to dial a number or call someone by name in his saved list. This Moto HX550 has been suprisingly good for it's price.

_________________
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, MSI Z87-G45, MSI GTX 760 2GB Gaming, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung Evo 250GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic X-560. 35-40W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 200-230W Rift, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do i get someone into smartphones?
PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 4:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 9:47 pm
Posts: 195
Location: New York
I bought him a Jawbone before and he never used it. The car does have handsfree and he uses it to talk. But sometimes he needs to check email or reply.

Might just get a used qwerty phone for now.

_________________
Antec P180B|Asus P5B Deluxe/Wifi|Intel Q9550 (2.8) w/ Kingwin 12025| Dominator 4gb + 4gb XMS2 @667|nVidia GTX 260|Seagate 200gb 7200.10|WD 6400AAKS | WD 1tb | Sandisk Extreme 120gb


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do i get someone into smartphones?
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 1:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:49 pm
Posts: 1193
Location: UK
xev wrote:
The car does have handsfree and he uses it to talk. But sometimes he needs to check email or reply.

Now that's mroe dangerous. There are cars now which will connect to certain phones emails and SMS's so that they can be read on the screen. I used to have a Merc which was really annoying in that it could tell you that you had a message by showing an envelope symbol but not show the message, hence it made it more dangerous by tempting people to read the message!

_________________
Silverstone SG03B: E8200, Asus P5E-VM HDMI, 2Gb RAM, Leadtek 9600GT+S1 rev. 2, Samsung 500Gb, Seasonic X-400, 2x Akasa 120mm, Scythe Zipang 2 fanless


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do i get someone into smartphones?
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 2:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 11:23 am
Posts: 629
Location: Germany
Oh oh... your paying an awful lot over there for plans.

I just changed my contract and booked for the next two years a SIM-only plan (Network carrier: E-Plus), including nationwide (german) free calls, free SMS and 500 MB internet volume, adding up to a total cost of 28 Euro/month incl. taxes and fees. The contract is a 24 Month agreement.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do i get someone into smartphones?
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 6:08 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 4:53 am
Posts: 1313
Location: CT
Phone plans are super expensive in the US with the major carriers (Verizon), especially for simple plans (few minutes, and few texts).
Next month, my 2 years contract with VZ is over and I'll be switching to Page Plus : same network, but $12 a month for 250 minutes and 250 texts, same for my wife (total of $24 including tax and fees, no contract, instead of our current2 year locked $80 basic family plan that doesn't even include texts !!!...)

back on topic : You could try getting a used phone on amazon, they have good deals, and you don't have to renew the contract. Make sure it's VZ compatible. You can make the phone change on your account page, it takes only a few minutes.

_________________
Main/gamming : Antec Solo|X-650|Asus P5Q-E|Intel Q9550@3.4GHz|HR-01 Plus 120mm Nexus @6V|Corsair 2x2Go XMS2 DHX cas 4 @4-4-4-12|Exhaust Nexus 120mm @9V|Intel X25M G2 160Gb|Samsung 1TB in SQD|2xGigabyte GTS450 OC (@900/1900/3800)|GPU fan 120mm Nexus @6V
HTPC/folder/Storage : Silverstone|E5300 with Samurai-Z|2Go RAM|GTX460@800|2x1To WD EARS|Intel X25M G2 80Go

Fold with SPCR


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do i get someone into smartphones?
PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2013 7:29 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 9:09 am
Posts: 1834
Location: Northern California.
CA_Steve wrote:
Chances are, he doesn't have a data plan and his phone only costs him $40/mo. Any smartphone from the big providers will require a data plan and kick him up to $80/mo....

.

my nexus 4 is on a no contract $ 30/month pre-pay plan with 5 GB of data...the speed is 10-20 megs, over twice my home adsl2+...
tell him you can use speech to text and also have his incoming texts read to him.

if you need verizon coverage and frequencies, check out pageplus. -they have similarly priced plans and use verizon towers,

_________________
“USA is not America, America is a continent!”


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do i get someone into smartphones?
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 4:10 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Posts: 4561
Location: Monterey Bay, CA
xan_user wrote:
my nexus 4 is on a no contract $ 30/month pre-pay plan with 5 GB of data...the speed is 10-20 megs, over twice my home adsl2+...
tell him you can use speech to text and also have his incoming texts read to him.

if you need verizon coverage and frequencies, check out pageplus. -they have similarly priced plans and use verizon towers,


If pageplus is using verizon's network, how the heck does your Nexus 4 work on it...as Nexus 4 doesn't support CDMA.

_________________
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, MSI Z87-G45, MSI GTX 760 2GB Gaming, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung Evo 250GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic X-560. 35-40W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 200-230W Rift, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do i get someone into smartphones?
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 9:47 pm
Posts: 195
Location: New York
I bought him a used LG octane (same one that got messed up). Hopefully it will work for now.
As for touchscreens, i will get him a tablet and get him used to the concept. Hopefully it'll help.
thanks for the advice

_________________
Antec P180B|Asus P5B Deluxe/Wifi|Intel Q9550 (2.8) w/ Kingwin 12025| Dominator 4gb + 4gb XMS2 @667|nVidia GTX 260|Seagate 200gb 7200.10|WD 6400AAKS | WD 1tb | Sandisk Extreme 120gb


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do i get someone into smartphones?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2013 7:30 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 9:09 am
Posts: 1834
Location: Northern California.
CA_Steve wrote:
xan_user wrote:
my nexus 4 is on a no contract $ 30/month pre-pay plan with 5 GB of data...the speed is 10-20 megs, over twice my home adsl2+...
tell him you can use speech to text and also have his incoming texts read to him.

if you need verizon coverage and frequencies, check out pageplus. -they have similarly priced plans and use verizon towers,


If pageplus is using verizon's network, how the heck does your Nexus 4 work on it...as Nexus 4 doesn't support CDMA.

sorry to confuse....
im not on pageplus anymore, switched to tmobile when i got my N4. I just offered up pageplus as a low cost option if some one wants to stay on CDMA. ( i think they even had a $14 plan...)

_________________
“USA is not America, America is a continent!”


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group