It is currently Sun Jul 13, 2014 9:03 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Fractal design 1000 & Arctic Cooling Alpine 64 Pro CPU
PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 3:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 12:22 pm
Posts: 1719
Location: Guatemala
From Kitguru OCZ Power Supply Roundup

Image

You should have a cable that has 4 connectors, kinda flat, you can see them on the picture above in the middle. Those are the Sata power connectors, those should fit your sata harddrive, just be careful as there are latches, it has a way to enter, see both the PSU sata and the hdd shape before you plug it.

_________________
GameMi >> MSI Z87-GD65 | Intel Core i7-4790K | Thermalright Silver Arrow IBE + 3x Noctua NF-A15 PWM @500rpms| Crucial Ballistix Sport 32GB DDR3 1600 | nVidia GTX780 + ARCTIC Accelero Xtreme IV | Samsung SA850 27'' 2560x1440 | Samsung 840pro 512GB | Hitachi 7K1000 1TB | Fractal Design Define R4 + 4x Noctua NF-A14 PWM @450rpm | SeaSonic SS-860XP2
Other builds ---> ServeMi | HTPCMi | DLMi | CamMi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fractal design 1000 & Arctic Cooling Alpine 64 Pro CPU
PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 3:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2008 4:29 am
Posts: 47
Location: Oslo
If your RAM and CPU heatsink isn't touching you should be fine, just remember to be careful if reinstalling. RAM chips can be really hard to install because, yes - you need to apply lotsa pressure to make it go 'click'. It's possible to also press lightly on the latches to help out. Having installed fresh RAM/MoBo a few times I've been afraid to break the PCB...

On the M/B chassi screws, you must look for which holes correspond with the M/B you've got. From your picture I would say most of those on the left side, and none of those on the right side.

_________________
New Rig *** Old Rig


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fractal design 1000 & Arctic Cooling Alpine 64 Pro CPU
PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 4:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 5:38 am
Posts: 23
Calling it a night now.

Just need to connect all the power cables. Sort the wires. Then boot.

Been a heck of a experience so far.

Made a few mistakes. Weather the pc boots or not is another thing


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fractal design 1000 & Arctic Cooling Alpine 64 Pro CPU
PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 7:44 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Posts: 4438
Location: Monterey Bay, CA
matthenewbie wrote:
Are the S/O screws in the correct place? or do they go in the outer holes?


Try this: align the i/o ports on the motherboard with the case. Once that's in place, you can see where the mobo standoff holes are.

_________________
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, MSI Z87-G45, MSI GTX 760 2GB Gaming, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung Evo 250GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic X-560. 35-40W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 200-230W Rift, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fractal design 1000 & Arctic Cooling Alpine 64 Pro CPU
PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 12:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 3:29 am
Posts: 1119
Location: UK
+1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fractal design 1000 & Arctic Cooling Alpine 64 Pro CPU
PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 5:38 am
Posts: 23
Almost there now.

For some reason my pcu came with 2 cables with (CPU) on them. However i can only find one slot.

Just need to plug the power cable into the DVD DRIVE. And i am DONE.

Next Task (Cable Management)

The rules are NO cables touching the motherboard right? Secondly a little worried about my sata cables. and im not sure if i can avoid them touching my G-CARD!

Also does everything look good from the picture that people can see

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fractal design 1000 & Arctic Cooling Alpine 64 Pro CPU
PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 6:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 5:38 am
Posts: 23
Just looked at the wires that come with the case.

there is no Clear cmos or COM wires :/ ?

I guessing its supposed to come with these? there is also no Command Chassie lead to go in the FP either


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fractal design 1000 & Arctic Cooling Alpine 64 Pro CPU
PostPosted: Thu Sep 19, 2013 11:06 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 6:53 am
Posts: 1489
Location: Sweden
matthenewbie wrote:
For some reason my pcu came with 2 cables with (CPU) on them. However i can only find one slot.

Some motherboards has an 8pin connector (or two 4pin side by side) for extra power, but most just have one 4pin. It's normal. :)

The cables themselves can touch the motherboard, just make sure they don't obstruct the fan. Most cable management enthusiasts opt for style and low air resistance.

_________________
Main: ASRock B85M-ITX | i3-4330 | 16GB DDR3 | Intel 730 240GB | HDPLEX H1-S | picoPSU | No moving parts | Idle 13.9W AC
HTPC: ASRock H81M-ITX | Pentium G3420 | 4GB DDR3 | X25-M G2 80GB | HDPLEX H1-S | picoPSU | No moving parts | Idle 11.2W AC
Gaming: Intel DH77EB | i5-3570K | GTX 760 | 16GB DDR3 | Intel 520 120GB | TJ08-E | G-360 360W
Server: Intel DH77DF | i3-2100T | 4TB+3x3TB | picoPSU | Idle 24W AC


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group