It is currently Fri Aug 29, 2014 1:54 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Cloning a System Drive for an Upgrade
PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 11:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 7:09 am
Posts: 73
Location: Canada
Hello All,

I know this isn't really a silent PC issue but I trust this forum more then anywhere else on the web for general system advice and troubleshooting.

I am upgrading from a Crucial M4 128Gb SSD to a Samsung 840 Evo 250Gb SSD (finding the 128 A bit limiting). I reformatted a couple of months ago and want to avoid having to do an entire new install. Can I just clone the M4 to the 840 using a program like Drive Image XML (http://www.runtime.org/driveimage-xml.htm) if the rest of the system is identical and run it like normal?

Thanks for any advice,

_________________
Lian-Li PC-9F 2xNF-P12 on front NF-S12B ULN on back, i5-2500K, NH-U12P SE2 /w BeQuiet! Silentwings, Asus P8P67, 8Gb Ripjaws X 1600, 240gb Samsung 840 EVO 250GB, 1.5Tb WD Caviar Green (suspended), Seasonic x-560, ASUS 660 DC2O


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning a System Drive for an Upgrade
PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 12:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 3:29 am
Posts: 1157
Location: UK
As you will cloning a partition something like EaseUS Partition Master Free might be worth considering.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning a System Drive for an Upgrade
PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 12:28 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Posts: 4544
Location: Monterey Bay, CA
In general, yep.

Never used that particular program. Since you have a WD drive in the system...it should give you access to WD's utility to clone a drive. Samsung should have a transfer utility as well - might try that first.

_________________
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, MSI Z87-G45, MSI GTX 760 2GB Gaming, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung Evo 250GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic X-560. 35-40W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 200-230W Rift, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning a System Drive for an Upgrade
PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 2:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 11:23 am
Posts: 625
Location: Germany
DriveImage XMl works nicely. You could also try Samsungs tool, or look for UltimateBootDisk, as it is WinPe based. Even of cloning is successful you might still need a Win-DVD to repair Win start up once the drives are changed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning a System Drive for an Upgrade
PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2013 4:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 7:09 am
Posts: 73
Location: Canada
Thanks guys,

Will probably try the samsung or WD utility. Here's hoping it works.

_________________
Lian-Li PC-9F 2xNF-P12 on front NF-S12B ULN on back, i5-2500K, NH-U12P SE2 /w BeQuiet! Silentwings, Asus P8P67, 8Gb Ripjaws X 1600, 240gb Samsung 840 EVO 250GB, 1.5Tb WD Caviar Green (suspended), Seasonic x-560, ASUS 660 DC2O


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning a System Drive for an Upgrade
PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 4:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 4:27 am
Posts: 1728
Location: Switzerland
I use Clonezilla.

Pappnaas wrote:
Even of cloning is successful you might still need a Win-DVD to repair Win start up once the drives are changed.

It used to be you didn't need any repairs if you did it right.
You only ended up with a problem if you connected your new drive to your PC while the system you were trying to clone was running. And it was possible to plan for the problem and/or correct it manually (messy, not recommended).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning a System Drive for an Upgrade
PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 8:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:12 am
Posts: 2894
Location: ITALY
HFat wrote:
It used to be you didn't need any repairs if you did it right.


+1


HFat wrote:
You only ended up with a problem if you connected your new drive to your PC while the system you were trying to clone was running. And it was possible to plan for the problem and/or correct it manually (messy, not recommended).


I use Acronis (retail, but used also as OEM product by many SSD suppliers, like Intel): up to now I never run into problem even cloning a working system (under Windows 7).

_________________
Regards,
Luca


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cloning a System Drive for an Upgrade
PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 8:46 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7368
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
I believe the WD utility is a version of Acronis. The thing to realize is that you need to use the utility from the company who makes the *new* hard drive you are using. It will only recognize the new drive of the same brand.

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group