It is currently Fri Jul 25, 2014 1:56 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8
PostPosted: Thu Jan 16, 2014 6:30 pm 
Offline
SPCR Reviewer

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 9:07 pm
Posts: 1018
Location: Vancouver
http://www.silentpcreview.com/HP_ProLiant_MicroServer_Gen8/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8
PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2014 1:09 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 1:39 am
Posts: 1921
Location: Finland
Good to see more complete computer products reviewed. I've actually been looking to replace the aging 1.5 TB Buffalo NAS I have.

The Recommendation here is a bit questionable though, the caveat(s) is (are) simply too big. At least HP probably won't use the "seal" in their marketing.

_________________
Case: FD Define Mini
Parts: P8Z77-M Pro µATX, i5-3570K @stock, N650Ti-1GD5/OC, G.Skill 2x4/1600/CL9 DDR3U, Xonar DX, WD G 1 TB, m4 128 GB, RX-5300 PSU
Cooling: Noctua NH-U12P SE2 + Scythe SS PWM, 2x Noctua NF-P12
Extras: Eaton UPS, Dell 24" EIPS, Ducky kb, SteelSeries m, Synology DS213j NAS
idle & load: CPU 32 °C & 44 °C @ 300/600 & 600/800 RPM, GPU 35-65 °C @ 1200-1650 RPM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8
PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2014 8:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 10:20 am
Posts: 473
Location: Ottawa
Nice review, but your network speeds seem very low given what you describe of your setup. Not just for the Microserver, but all your tested systems. I've seen much better speeds on much lower end equipment very regularly. A G2020T should be able to saturate even a crappy gbit NIC without breaking a sweat.

I've never used Lan Speed Test before, but a quick iperf test with the slowest machine I have on hand (AMD e-350 @ 800 MHz, realtek NIC) gave me over 800 mbit/sec. I used the gbit switch in a d-link router to eliminate my higher end switch as a factor.

I'd be curious as to what speeds you get with a simple file copy of a single large file. With the above setup, copying a 1.6 GB file gives around 95-100 MB/sec, which is consistent with the 800 mbit/sec from iperf.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8
PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2014 10:14 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 11818
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Das_Saunamies wrote:
The Recommendation here is a bit questionable though, the caveat(s) is (are) simply too big. At least HP probably won't use the "seal" in their marketing.

The noise/fan control issue is the only real negative, and it disappears when RAID is engaged. It's very quiet, I would not have any desire to mod it for more quiet -- its role is a file server so it won't be front/center in any room. If you can live with the built in RAID 0/1, then there's nothing to compete with this box at market prices. The Amazon ad on the last page shows a G2020T base build at $471. It's really tough to do better in a complete 4-bay mini-server.

Quote:
I'd be curious as to what speeds you get with a simple file copy of a single large file. With the above setup, copying a 1.6 GB file gives around 95-100 MB/sec, which is consistent with the 800 mbit/sec from iperf.

Moving big video files around (2-6gb), I typically get 80~100 MB/s. It's the folders with multiple smaller files that slow the system down -- and the 10x sequential repetition we employed on some LAN speed tests. I recently copied 200GB of photos over the network, most files were 6~20mb, the avg speed seemed to be around 30~40 MB/s.

_________________
Mike Chin,
Editor/Publisher, SPCR
Support SPCR with your donations!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8
PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2014 11:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 12:00 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Ontario, Canada
I looked at getting one of these, but settled on a Gen7 Microserver(N54L). The cost and apparent lack of (official) support for WHS2011 made me go for the older model.

The upside to the Gen8 is that it, if BIOS supports, could be upgraded to an i5-3470T, or with a TDP stretch to 45W, perhaps an i7-3770T. However, I've not yet seen any confirmation that either of these would work.

_________________
The New Hotness: PS07B, X560, F1A75-M Pro, A8-3870K@3.5, 4x4Gb Ripjaws X 1866, Intel 520 180GB, Asus DRW-24B1ST, Noctua D14, Sapphire 7870OC@1140/5400
The Old Girl: Thermal Master TC-102, 3xNexus 120, Enlight(Delta) 450, AW-8B Max, Pentium D 945, 4x2Gb OCZ, Velociraptor 300GB, Sapphire Ultimate 6670, Mugen 3
The Black Box: HP Microserver Gen7 N54L, 2GB, 250GB Seagate HDD, 2x2TB Hitachi HDD


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8
PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2014 11:32 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 1:39 am
Posts: 1921
Location: Finland
It's such a big oversight though, but fair enough.

_________________
Case: FD Define Mini
Parts: P8Z77-M Pro µATX, i5-3570K @stock, N650Ti-1GD5/OC, G.Skill 2x4/1600/CL9 DDR3U, Xonar DX, WD G 1 TB, m4 128 GB, RX-5300 PSU
Cooling: Noctua NH-U12P SE2 + Scythe SS PWM, 2x Noctua NF-P12
Extras: Eaton UPS, Dell 24" EIPS, Ducky kb, SteelSeries m, Synology DS213j NAS
idle & load: CPU 32 °C & 44 °C @ 300/600 & 600/800 RPM, GPU 35-65 °C @ 1200-1650 RPM


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8
PostPosted: Sun Jan 19, 2014 4:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 5:47 pm
Posts: 426
Location: London, UK
darqsyde wrote:
The upside to the Gen8 is that it, if BIOS supports, could be upgraded to an i5-3470T, or with a TDP stretch to 45W, perhaps an i7-3770T. However, I've not yet seen any confirmation that either of these would work.
Not sure if you require it (I would), but the i5-3470T doesn't have ECC.
Anyway, here's a link to some guy swapping in E3 CPUs with success..
and google cache, because link above seems to be broken.
The comments seem to suggest someone tried a non-ECC CPU (i5, but didn't say which), and it didn't work in the Gen8.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8
PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 7:04 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 1:49 pm
Posts: 834
Location: Somerset, WI - USA
I feel your pain with the Matrox graphics. I have a couple of Supermicro servers that I built which also use onboard matrox graphics. I don't believe they actually make a driver for this GPU for anything newer than Vista/2008. I think I got them to install on 2008 R2 using compatibility, but it was very buggy and caused more issues. So I've let it just use the default "Standard VGA" driver which works but doesn't do any GPU acceleration. So dragging windows and scrolling is terrible. At the very lest, being servers, I rarely am sitting at them physically and manage them over RDP. Why this ancient and apparently unsupported GPU is still being used is beyond me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8
PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:00 am
Posts: 471
Location: Puget Sound, WA
Why on earth would you try and install Windows 7? That's what Windows Home Server 2011 is for.

-D

_________________
Desktop: Antec P150|Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R|Intel Xeon E3110|2x2048MB PC8500|HR-01|eVGA 8800GT SC|HR-03 GT|Scythe PWM 120mm|Scythe PWM 92mm|WD5000AAKS|Seasonic SS400-HT
HTPC: OrigenAE X11|Intel DG45ID|Intel E8400|2x2048MB PC6400|Scythe Big Shuriken|ATI HD4550|2xATI DCT|80mm Nexus|2TB WD 3.5" SATA + 100GB Seagate 2.5" SATA|NeoHE 430


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8
PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2014 3:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 4:11 pm
Posts: 12
Upgrading to the newest version of the BIOS ROM made the machine quieter. (Version 2013.11.09 21 Feb 2014). Courtesy of the "MicroServer Gen8 is noisy" thread linked in the review.
Download link below.

http://h20566.www2.hp.com/portal/site/hpsc/template.PAGE/public/psi/swdHome/?sp4ts.oid=5387585&spf_p.tpst=swdMain&spf_p.prp_swdMain=wsrp-navigationalState%3DswEnvOID%253D4064%257CswLang%253D%257Caction%253DlistDriver&javax.portlet.begCacheTok=com.vignette.cachetoken&javax.portlet.endCacheTok=com.vignette.cachetoken#BIOS%20%28Entitlement%20Required%29%20-%20System%20ROM

_________________
AMD Athlon XP 1800+, 1 gig RAM, suspension Samsung 120gb HDx2. Seasonic PSU, GeForce 6600
(Yes it is 5 years old. Only use it for web/email now a days)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8
PostPosted: Sun Mar 30, 2014 3:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 1:49 pm
Posts: 6
I have 2 Gen7 MicroServers, one of which is just a spare (at less than £100/unit in the UK, this is worth doing, especially as I had to replace the motherboard under warranty for the original unit).

The Gen8 has some nice added features (faster processor, USB3) but it lost some of the features which made the original unit attractive: support for multiple OS, including Win7 and WHS2011, support for ECC and Non-ECC memory, ability to add SSD and optical drives, two PCIe slots (which could be used with a fanless video card, etc), the ability to make the unit reasonably quiet, a tweaked BIOS to enable Sata-II on the optical drive and eSata ports, standard connectors, etc.).

The price has also crept up significantly.

While transcoding may be a bit limited with the Gen7 model (the N54L is OK), the new model won't improve file transfer speed over Ethernet, as a Gen7 already saturates a GigE network, when properly configured (with WHS2011 or Ubuntu server, for instance).


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group