It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 11:01 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: OK to use Duron 700 MHz with no fan?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2004 3:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2003 11:10 pm
Posts: 37
Is it possible to use only the standard heatsink for a Duron 700 MHz. I want to switch the fan off.

Using a temperature probe on the heatsink fins I get a reading of no more than about 43 C (110 F) in normal operation.

This website says I can go up to 90 C .

http://www.pantherproducts.co.uk/Articl ... ures.shtml

Is it likely I will go as high as this without a standard fan and a standard heatsink?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2004 4:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:10 am
Posts: 42
Location: Melbourne, Australia
If it's doing 43c with a fan then it doesn't sound good.
Sadly the duron chip is a bit of a power hog.
[url=http://users.erols.com/chare/elec.htm]Duron 700 = 34w -> 39w
Pentium 3 700 = 18.3[/url]

_________________
[ Duron1.3 | Thermaltake Silentboost @ ~8v | 40gb 'cuda IV | Passive Radeon 9550 (128bit) ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2004 5:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 5:14 am
Posts: 555
Location: London, UK
It won't work - it will just burn up.

I tried running a Duron 700mhz undervolted to 1.5v with a copper HS but fan disconnected and there was acrid burning within a minute, so I had to immediately disconnect everything. The HS was scaldingly hot to touch as well. I wouldn't recommend it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: duron 600
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2004 1:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2003 1:20 pm
Posts: 18
Location: Madison, WI USA
I'm running a Duron 600 with an SLK-800A and a 80MM Panaflo L @ 5V and it's 'cold' (less than 40C under load).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2004 2:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Posts: 277
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
I know you can't run a TBird 1.1G fanless even with a large heatsink. I would say no. Particularly with the stock heatsink, you need some kind of a fan. The best you could expect to get away with would be an 80mm "L" fan on that heatsink.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2004 10:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 1:35 am
Posts: 1283
Location: Sweden, Linkoping
Quote:
The Duron 700 will work without a fan - my girlfriend's fan died on her AMD stock heatsink and it was running passive for months.


I guess this was without any heavy load?
If you got CPUBurn or even just normal programs that used 100% CPU I would expect that CPU to die within the hour.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group