It is currently Tue Sep 19, 2017 11:35 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Is it worth it for you to start folding?
PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2004 8:09 pm 
*Lifetime Patron*

Rhetorical question -- you don't have to answer. I'll answer it for you:

YES!

I see people posting about being only a "white" or "green" folder. (The colors refer to the coding used at the folding.extremeoverclocking.com statistics site. If you are contributing to folding, you're at least "white." If you're contributing 500-999 points a week, you're "green." The colors progress from there.) If you think that you couldn't make a significant contribution by joining SPCR's folding effort or if you think that your "white" or "green" contributions are just a drop in the bucket, please think again!

A brief tangent:

I am an amateur radio ("ham radio") operator and I take pleasure in an activity called "RadioSport" or "contesting." The biggest contests I participate in run for 48 hours straight. For me that means staying at the radio for as many of those 48 hours contacting as many different stations as I can in as many different countries as I can. I compete for fun and to contribute my points (which are based on a complex formula of how many different stations I contact and where they're located) toward the total score of my radio contesting club (much like contributing folding points toward the SPCR team.)

A few miles down the road is a LARGE RadioSport station. The owner of the station owns a radio tower installation business and he installs and services towers all over the world. His station has several towers with dozens of large antennas directing his radio signals at the exact locations he wants and extensive automation to maximize the effectiveness of each radio in his contest station. During a contest he will have several operators scheduled to man up to six radios simultaneously. He regularly breaks scoring records in contests.