It is currently Fri May 24, 2019 8:19 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Troubles with the Liquid Ninja's sigs?
PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 3:12 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7662
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Hello:

My signature has stopped working (maybe when I changed my password?) and I notice that one or two others have the same problem -- but not all of you! :x
I re-did it using the handy sticky in this section -- but it still is busticated... :?

Any hints to getting it working -- or why it isn't?

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Troubles with the Liquid Ninja's sigs?
PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 7:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 8:14 pm
Posts: 106
Location: Toronto (Ontario), Canada
I believe SPCR's phpBB is configured to not render images if the URL "does not look like an image" (my guess); perhaps it's a result of some upgrade...

I don't fold myself but I notice this when I tried to post some images to the general gallery.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 7:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 5:54 pm
Posts: 542
Mine was working a little while ago. lets see about now

here is the code for mine

http://www.liquidninjas.com/dc/ln_dc_si ... team=31574

copy/pasted from profile

Image


Last edited by unregistered on Thu Dec 23, 2004 7:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 7:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 8:14 pm
Posts: 106
Location: Toronto (Ontario), Canada
Oh well, there goes my little theory... we need new theories now ...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 7:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 5:54 pm
Posts: 542
I'm glad you saw that wing, now mine quit.

As an experiment I copy pasted Neil's sig code in to my sig to see if I ended up with two sigs and I ended up with 2 codes. I went back and deleted Neil's and it still doesn't work.

Maybe voodoo?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 8:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 5:54 pm
Posts: 542
I have my liquidninja folding stats sig at the bottom of my yahoo email.

I just checked it and it is working, so the problem must be at SPCR level.

I think it needs a good nites sleep to heal itself :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 8:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 8:14 pm
Posts: 106
Location: Toronto (Ontario), Canada
Perhaps I can amend my little theory and someone who knows how phpBB works can check whether I'm way off or not.

I am guessing that phpBB disables [img] tags when phpBB somehow thinks that the URL is not an image (sounds reasonable enough), but a recent upgrade/reconfiguration has changed phpBB's idea of what "looks like an image URL" means, and perhaps this check is only done when you edit and save something, so old sigs continue to work, but they get broken as soon as it gets edited and saved...

Or, my current guess of what is broken is: the code inside phpBB that does the guessing of what looks like an image URL or not

_________________
國之將亡,必有妖孽


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 1:16 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 11:24 am
Posts: 1740
Location: 'Sunny' Cornwall U.K.
unregistered wrote:
Maybe voodoo?



:shock:


Nothing to do with me at all !!! :evil:


Though mine still being there due to me being more 'chosen' might have something to do with it..... :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 1:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2004 8:14 pm
Posts: 106
Location: Toronto (Ontario), Canada
peteamer wrote:
Though mine still being there due to me being more 'chosen' might have something to do with it..... :D

There's an easy way to test both your theory and my theory at the same time! Just edit your sig a bit and save it and see if it turns into code :)

_________________
國之將亡,必有妖孽


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 4:42 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 11:24 am
Posts: 1740
Location: 'Sunny' Cornwall U.K.
Just incase it helps anyone figure out what's going on, I copied the link from my sig, hit the Img button, pasted in, then rehit Img.

Image


Yet my sig still works :shock: :?


Strange.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 4:48 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 6:07 am
Posts: 2674
Location: Houten, The Netherlands, Europe
This has something to do with the new phpBB version. The same happened at the folding-community.org forums. As long as you don't change anything in your profile it keeps working. But new and changed profiles don't understand that it is an image.

_________________
3) MSI RS480M2-IL | A64 3000+ | Freezer 64 | SS-301HT | 7200.7 PATA 40GB
5) Intel D525MW | Intel 320 40GB | Vertex II 180GB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 5:26 am 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Posts: 7662
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Hello Tibors:

I suspected as much -- although this is just a minor thing, rusulting from the hacking...I'm sure it will be cleared up if and when it becomes the most important issue! If not, I'll just live without the stats part of my sig...

_________________
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 7:56 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 6:07 am
Posts: 2674
Location: Houten, The Netherlands, Europe
I'm pretty sure it will not be fixed as long as this forum uses phpBB 2.0.11. The admin at folding-community.org looked into it and didn't solve it. He's fairly knowledgable about it. He moddifies the code of phpBB for his own forums.

_________________
3) MSI RS480M2-IL | A64 3000+ | Freezer 64 | SS-301HT | 7200.7 PATA 40GB
5) Intel D525MW | Intel 320 40GB | Vertex II 180GB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 3:27 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2004 9:54 am
Posts: 258
Location: FOLDING IN TORONTO, CANADA
So until further notice, no new liquid-ninja FAH sigs on SPCR?

_________________
12" iBook G4 / 20" iMac G5 / My System -> 3.06GHz Northwood / CNPS7000-AlCu / Phantom 350 / ATI 9800Pro w/ZM80C-HP Cooler / My Folding Stats


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 8:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 3:11 pm
Posts: 35
Location: South East London, UK
The sig's still arnt working :( , any update on the subject yet?.

_________________
My rig: Athlon XP 2600+ @ 2.08ghz, 1.12gb PC2100 DDR, 9800XT, Windows XP Home SP2.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 1:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 5:54 pm
Posts: 542
$*[email protected]$!#&*(^(*&X- Hackers! :evil: :evil: :evil:

May everyone of them die of cancer the day before we find the cure!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 1:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:35 am
Posts: 539
Location: Cambridgeshire, England
I just noticed that it's not just the sigs that's messed up, but regular IMG tagged files as well.
I had several posts in the gallery with linked images to my Snapfish account that no longer display. For those of you not familiar with Snapfish, their image links look like this:
http://images.snapfish.com/34278%3C%3B9 ... 9%3Anu0mrj
If you paste this into an IMG tag you won't get to see the picture, just code like this.
Image

MikeC, we need your help!

_________________
Sonata (foamed)Bezel mod
Seasonic S12-330, 2x120mm Yate Loon [email protected], P4-2.6C w/PAL8942 80mm [email protected], 1GB Mushkin DDR400, ATI 9800Pro 128MB w/ZM80A, Samsung SATA 160Gb


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 4:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 5:54 pm
Posts: 542
DO NOT EDIT your Signature, unless you want to get rid of your stats.

I found out the hard way!!!!! :( :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 6:21 am
Posts: 509
Location: Czech republic
Me sadly too - I wanted to enlighten one member that is enought to edit the signature as in HTML style (the img src= tag) - and I lost my sig as well, bloody hell!!! :evil: :evil: :evil:

_________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
"I believe that all the people who stand to profit by a war and who help provoke it should be shot on the first day it starts..." - Hemingway


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 10:06 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 11:24 am
Posts: 1740
Location: 'Sunny' Cornwall U.K.
Problem ??? ... What Problem ??? ... :lol: ... :wink:


My only problem is not enough computers to fold on...


Pete


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: And now...
PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2005 12:23 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 11:24 am
Posts: 1740
Location: 'Sunny' Cornwall U.K.
Heads up, Fellow Folders...


http://www.liquidninjas.com/bbs/showthread.php?t=10863



Pete


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:54 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 6:07 am
Posts: 2674
Location: Houten, The Netherlands, Europe
Well that certainly looks like the LN sigs will never return. Now if everybody can remove them from their sig. That saves some useless bandwidth gobbling.

_________________
3) MSI RS480M2-IL | A64 3000+ | Freezer 64 | SS-301HT | 7200.7 PATA 40GB
5) Intel D525MW | Intel 320 40GB | Vertex II 180GB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2005 2:18 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2003 11:24 am
Posts: 1740
Location: 'Sunny' Cornwall U.K.
If there's nothing to retrieve... how does it gobble up bandwidth?... :?


Pete 'The Unknowing'...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2005 3:20 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 6:07 am
Posts: 2674
Location: Houten, The Netherlands, Europe
It is not much, but for every broken link image that is displayed:
  • The SPCR server uses some cycles for the php engine to translate the [ img ] blah blah [ /img ] text in the database to < img src="blah blah" border="0" / >
  • Then those characters are send to my computer.
  • My computer then asks the LN server: Can I have blah blah.
  • Finally the LN server says to my computer: Sod off, you are not allowed to receive that image!
Sure, when it worked it used more bandwidth. But then it was usefull. Now it ain't.

The type of sigs me and wooglin have still recruit folders, the broken images don't.

_________________
3) MSI RS480M2-IL | A64 3000+ | Freezer 64 | SS-301HT | 7200.7 PATA 40GB
5) Intel D525MW | Intel 320 40GB | Vertex II 180GB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2005 3:31 pm 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2004 9:54 am
Posts: 258
Location: FOLDING IN TORONTO, CANADA
Aw shucks Tibors, thanks! Did I ever mention that I'm 1/2 dutch?

_________________
12" iBook G4 / 20" iMac G5 / My System -> 3.06GHz Northwood / CNPS7000-AlCu / Phantom 350 / ATI 9800Pro w/ZM80C-HP Cooler / My Folding Stats


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group