It is currently Fri May 24, 2019 3:07 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 46 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: 65nm X2 3600+
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 12:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 12:56 pm
Posts: 189
Location: Houston, Texas
I caught wind of this new, unlisted (OEM-only) AMD processor on The Tech Report's "deal of the week" feature. Available separately or in a discounted bundle with a Biostar TForce mobo, it is a 65nm, 65W EE Brisbane clocked at 1.9GHz with 512KB of L2 cache per core (unlike the original 90nm 3600+ at 2.0GHz and with 256x2 KB cache). The new fabrication process should lower power consumption even further compared to the 90nm 3800+ and 3600+, and it should be the dual-core desktop CPU to beat with respect to heat output. Not a bad deal in terms of price/performance, either, at least until the E4300 drops down to similar levels.

Also available at ChiefValue.com.

So who wants to give this proc a try? And report back? :lol:

_________________
License to Silence!
Antec SLK3700AMB | ASUS M2R32-MVP (AMD 580X) | AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ (Brisbane) | 2x1GB Corsair XMS DDR2-667 | ATI RADEON X1950 XT w/ AC Accelero S1 | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer | 320GB WD Caviar SE 16 (WD3200AAKS) | Samsung 16X DVD+/-RW, Lite-On DVD-ROM | abit AirPace PCI-E Wi-Fi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 12:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2004 5:52 pm
Posts: 143
At newegg it's only available as a bundle with the board.

What is with newegg and these forced bundles now? They are doing it with the PS3 and a few other things, and IMO they suck.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 12:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 12:56 pm
Posts: 189
Location: Houston, Texas
Whoops, I should have made it clear that it is available separately only at ChiefValue. And, yeah, forcing combos is not nice. Who wants that Biostar mobo?

_________________
License to Silence!
Antec SLK3700AMB | ASUS M2R32-MVP (AMD 580X) | AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ (Brisbane) | 2x1GB Corsair XMS DDR2-667 | ATI RADEON X1950 XT w/ AC Accelero S1 | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer | 320GB WD Caviar SE 16 (WD3200AAKS) | Samsung 16X DVD+/-RW, Lite-On DVD-ROM | abit AirPace PCI-E Wi-Fi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 1:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 3:12 am
Posts: 206
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
If it can run at 1.0V on default frequency, it would probably be in the low 20W range. Pretty good.

For reference, my X2 3800+ at 2.2GHz and 1.2V seems to consume 40-45W and my E6600 at 2.4GHz and 1.0V seems to consume 25-30W.

A C2D E4300/E6300 is probably still a better alternative in every category except price.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 2:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 6:55 am
Posts: 5085
Location: UK
Quote:
For reference, my X2 3800+ at 2.2GHz and 1.2V seems to consume 40-45W and my E6600 at 2.4GHz and 1.0V seems to consume 25-30W.


Out of interest how are you calculating this? Is this at idle or load? If idle the X2 3800 number seems rather high.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 3:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 3:12 am
Posts: 206
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
jaganath wrote:
Out of interest how are you calculating this? Is this at idle or load? If idle the X2 3800 number seems rather high.

Nope, both figures are under load. I'm estimating it based on my own power consumption measurements at the wall socket and figures measured by various review sites.

The differences at the wall socket during idle and full load (using Orthos) are:

X2 3800+: 144-108 = 36W

E6600: 130-101 = 29W

Due to power supply efficiency (77-80% for the NeoHE 430W) and CPU power circuit efficiency (hardly higher than 85%), it's unlikely that more than 0.8*0.85 => 68% of that reaches the CPU. Probably not even that much.

Those figures, along with a bunch of idle numbers from around the web, is what I'm using to calculate my estimates. They're hardly exact, but should provide a pretty good estimate.

I'm very impressed by the E6600 at 1.0V. It uses about the same amount of power as the 3800+ EE SFF and is approximately 50% faster. 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 65nm X2 3600+
PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 4:02 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4284
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
tempeteduson wrote:
I caught wind of this new, unlisted (OEM-only) AMD processor on The Tech Report's "deal of the week" feature. Available separately or in a discounted bundle with a Biostar TForce mobo, it is a 65nm, 65W EE Brisbane clocked at 1.9GHz with 512KB of L2 cache per core (unlike the original 90nm 3600+ at 2.0GHz and with 256x2 KB cache). The new fabrication process should lower power consumption even further compared to the 90nm 3800+ and 3600+, and it should be the dual-core desktop CPU to beat with respect to heat output. Not a bad deal in terms of price/performance, either, at least until the E4300 drops down to similar levels.

Also available at ChiefValue.com.

So who wants to give this proc a try? And report back? :lol:


Crap, first the 3600+ has an odd divider, second the newegg package includes the 550 mobo as opposed to the T6100 which would also have video.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 4:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 4:02 pm
Posts: 1608
Location: United States
I think I may have to try one of these out, looks perfect for me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 5:09 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4284
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
I looked for a long time at AMD and the E6300 is just way, way more processor for the extra money.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 5:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 6:55 am
Posts: 5085
Location: UK
aristide1 wrote:
I looked for a long time at AMD and the E6300 is just way, way more processor for the extra money.


I'm curious, what do people do with these super-powerful processors these days? For someone who doesn't Fold or game anything above a Sempron is overkill.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 6:36 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4284
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
Yes, I intend to fold. Your overall assessment is probably correct.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 10:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 4:02 pm
Posts: 1608
Location: United States
Well, I bought one. Should be able to set everything up later this week, will let you guys know how it does.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 11:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 12:56 pm
Posts: 189
Location: Houston, Texas
frostedflakes wrote:
Well, I bought one. Should be able to set everything up later this week, will let you guys know how it does.


Thanks, frostedflakes. Eagerly awaiting your report. :)

_________________
License to Silence!
Antec SLK3700AMB | ASUS M2R32-MVP (AMD 580X) | AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ (Brisbane) | 2x1GB Corsair XMS DDR2-667 | ATI RADEON X1950 XT w/ AC Accelero S1 | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer | 320GB WD Caviar SE 16 (WD3200AAKS) | Samsung 16X DVD+/-RW, Lite-On DVD-ROM | abit AirPace PCI-E Wi-Fi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 6:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 8:24 am
Posts: 89
Location: MA, USA
Mikael wrote:
X2 3800+: 144-108 = 36W

E6600: 130-101 = 29W


But isn't one of the big things about the AMD, that it uses so much less power at idle than the Intel?

_________________
formerly Dell P4 Northwood desktop (ugh), modified, plus NSK2400 X2 MythTv PVR/server


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 10:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 6:55 am
Posts: 5085
Location: UK
jimmyfergus wrote:
Mikael wrote:
X2 3800+: 144-108 = 36W

E6600: 130-101 = 29W


But isn't one of the big things about the AMD, that it uses so much less power at idle than the Intel?


No.1, those are not exact measurements, No.2 the AMDs use less than C2D at idle when everything is left at stock (CnQ/EIST enabled), Mikael's measurements are undervolted.

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/di ... ent_6.html

However the new E4XXX CPUs from Intel may eradicate AMDs lead in this area.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 1:05 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4284
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
frostedflakes wrote:
Well, I bought one. Should be able to set everything up later this week, will let you guys know how it does.


Well if you got the NewEgg combo deal then you must have been one of the last ones because that offer is no longer available.

I asked them to combo it with the T6100. No such luck.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 5:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 4:02 pm
Posts: 1608
Location: United States
Nah I ordered from ChiefValue. Price and selection is basically the same.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 6:18 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4284
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
Yeah their prices are just about identical to NewEgg.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 10:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 4:02 pm
Posts: 1608
Location: United States
Looks like I'll have to hold off on my dual core rig. Started having some car problems and should probably cut back on spending, so I canceled the order. :(

Looks like someone else will have to be our guinea pig. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 2:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 12:56 pm
Posts: 189
Location: Houston, Texas
Ah well, thanks for the effort. :)

_________________
License to Silence!
Antec SLK3700AMB | ASUS M2R32-MVP (AMD 580X) | AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ (Brisbane) | 2x1GB Corsair XMS DDR2-667 | ATI RADEON X1950 XT w/ AC Accelero S1 | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer | 320GB WD Caviar SE 16 (WD3200AAKS) | Samsung 16X DVD+/-RW, Lite-On DVD-ROM | abit AirPace PCI-E Wi-Fi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 10:47 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4284
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
For $20 more you can get a 65W 3800+ (10*200) that will probably hit (10*250). For another $35 you can get a 65W 4200+ that will probably do (11*250).

Here we see the laws on diminishing returns. And if you're not OCing they are retail, come with heatsinks.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 4:02 pm
Posts: 1608
Location: United States
UPDATE: Car problems turned out to be nothing serious, so I redid my order. X2 3600+ HERE I COME!!! :D

I have been using a single-core laptop, but since getting broadband I've started to do a lot more multimedia stuff. This dual core should really help out with that. Will let you all know how it undervolts. I also have a wattmeter so I can measure power consumption.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 1:34 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 7:05 am
Posts: 618
Location: State College, PA
nice one, be interested to hear how it goes - this chip and the E4300 are currently vying for my next fantasy build :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 1:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 12:56 pm
Posts: 189
Location: Houston, Texas
AMDZone's first look at the 3600+ Brisbane, for what it's worth. They basically tell you they could overclock the chip to 3.1GHz with a core voltage boost. That's it.

_________________
License to Silence!
Antec SLK3700AMB | ASUS M2R32-MVP (AMD 580X) | AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ (Brisbane) | 2x1GB Corsair XMS DDR2-667 | ATI RADEON X1950 XT w/ AC Accelero S1 | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer | 320GB WD Caviar SE 16 (WD3200AAKS) | Samsung 16X DVD+/-RW, Lite-On DVD-ROM | abit AirPace PCI-E Wi-Fi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 6:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2005 2:59 am
Posts: 1066
Location: Santa Cruz
New Egg is selling this OEM at under $120.

I'd think that how Cool/Quiet this runs would be a BIG thing here. Undervolt a bit-stick a Ninja on it...you could run a low restriction case with a lone low speed 120 mm case fan + whatever the PSU contributes.

Yeah,Gamers may care about overclocking,I'd see this as a competitor to the Semprons as the heart of a SILENT system for pretty low cost.

Yeah,could go Intel,but I like the options for AMD mobos and like too that the whole package adds up to less $.

We talk about Watts out of the wall,the claimed worst case watts for the Brisbane series-what I WANT to see is how FEW RPM's I could get with this,A Core 2,a Venice or Semp....in other words-whats the cool-quiet factor.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 1:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:36 am
Posts: 967
chiefvalue, newegg and abs are the same company.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 9:49 am 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Posts: 4284
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US
Before I decided against an AMD (for efficiency and bang-for-the-buch reasons) I saw this as a super cooler for an OEM chip.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16835200014

A nice sold chuck of copper on the bottom and it takes a 92mm fan, for $13. At this price odds are good you'll have to chuck the fan. Has a generic speed control as well.

I'd put a 120mm fan on it with those plastic ties and cool the board as well.

_________________
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 12:56 pm
Posts: 189
Location: Houston, Texas
I saw this article yesterday but didn't have a chance to read it until today: Josh Walrath's testing of the new 3600+ at Penstar Systems. Again, no thermal or power consumption data; just an overclocking endeavor. He got close to 2.8Ghz but cited the motherboard as the limiting factor. The chip scales nicely with clock speed, so no surprises there.

_________________
License to Silence!
Antec SLK3700AMB | ASUS M2R32-MVP (AMD 580X) | AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ (Brisbane) | 2x1GB Corsair XMS DDR2-667 | ATI RADEON X1950 XT w/ AC Accelero S1 | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer | 320GB WD Caviar SE 16 (WD3200AAKS) | Samsung 16X DVD+/-RW, Lite-On DVD-ROM | abit AirPace PCI-E Wi-Fi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 10:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 4:02 pm
Posts: 1608
Location: United States
All the parts showed up today. After getting everything put together and spending a few hours pulling my hair out, I finally got it working. Had to disable CnQ on my board to get it to complete POST. The motherboard shipped with an old BIOS, and I suspect Brisbane's odd half multipliers just didn't play well with CnQ. After updating to a more recent BIOS with Brisbane support all seems to be good w/CnQ enabled. Just a little tip for those who might be trying to put together a similar setup.

Am getting ready to download RMClock and start testing undervolting. Will be sure to post the results and power tests coming up soon.

_________________
Corsair Obsidian 650D | Seasonic X-650 | Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 | Phenom II X4 955 | Noctua NH-D14 | 2x4GB Corsair DDR3-1600 | ASUS HD6950 DirectCU II 2GB | OCZ Vertex 2 120GB | 2x WD Green 1TB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 3:19 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 11:25 am
Posts: 260
frostedflakes wrote:
Am getting ready to download RMClock and start testing undervolting. Will be sure to post the results and power tests coming up soon.


Excellent. I'm looking forward to seeing the figures. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 46 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group