It is currently Sat Sep 20, 2014 9:10 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Got my new monitor, it's a BEAST! *56K WARNING*
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 1:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 10:31 pm
Posts: 305
Location: Japan
Just recieved my new monitor, a Sharp LC32D62U 32" LCD :idea: @ 1920x1080. :shock: OK, so it's a TV, but it makes for a great monitor! :wink: Pictures coming soon (my camera's on it's way back from the shop).

_________________
The 3-Step Overclocking Guides: Sandy Bridge || Bloomfield & Gulftown || Lynnfield || Clarkdale


Last edited by miahallen on Sat Oct 20, 2007 6:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Initial impressions and lots of pictures (56K warning)
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 11:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 10:31 pm
Posts: 305
Location: Japan
Well, the display is up and running fine at 1920x1080p. It is beautiful, and everything looks/feels very high in quality. Sharps packing was better than expected as I had this shipped from NY to Japan via USPS. It was not double boxed or anything, yet it arrived in great condition despite the fact the box was a bit beat up.

I'm using this only as a computer monitor at the moment, but may add an XBOX 360 later on. My eyes are about 30" to 36" away from the screen, I'm finding that getting any closer and the pixels begin to become visable (I'm pretty picky). From this distance however, everything is clear and ledgible.

1080p videos from Microsoft's library look good, but not great. Does anyone know of a better video library I can use for comparison (I do not yet have HD-DVD or Blueray capabilities)? I think I'm seeing compresion artifacts.

Anyhow, gaming is great, but games that are not capable of using antialiasing are at a real disadvantage for PQ at this dot pitch. Developers really need to get this figured out (for the XBOX 360 & the PC), most already have, but some still have issues (ie STALKER & R6 Vegas).

So far I have not identified any dead/stuck pixels, but I do see some in my long shutter photo that could have some issues (I circled them in the picture below). Also of note, as a fan of silent computing, is the screen does not make any unwanted noise (a nice change from my CRT).

So here are some pictures for your enjoyment:

5 second shutter - no visable banding, but you may notice about 6 pixels that may be suspect, althogh I cannot find them by visual inspection.
Image

Viewing angle
Image

Image

Image

My workspace
Image

Image

Image

Image

SPCR
Image

GAMING
Supreme Commander
Image

DiRT
Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Dark Messiah
Image

Image

S.T.A.L.K.E.R.
Image

Image

1080p WMV
Coral Reef
Image

Image

The Magic of Flight
Image

Image

To the Limit
Image

_________________
The 3-Step Overclocking Guides: Sandy Bridge || Bloomfield & Gulftown || Lynnfield || Clarkdale


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 4:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 1:19 am
Posts: 489
Location: Australia
you lucky, lucky bastard.

my brother has a 24 dell which is quite nice, i find that that's the biggest monitor i'd ever want- since you can sit pretty close but not have to move you head to look from one end to the next :lol: .

sharp make nice tvs, don't really like the design of these new ones though :? .


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 5:16 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 12:03 am
Posts: 777
Location: Norway
I'd like a 30" from dell, 32" 1080p would be a resolution downgrade from a 24" 1920x1200 monitor, while the 30" has 2560x1600 :)

_________________
Workstation | HTPC | 9.1TB | 19.1TB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 5:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 10:31 pm
Posts: 305
Location: Japan
Wibla wrote:
I'd like a 30" from dell, 32" 1080p would be a resolution downgrade from a 24" 1920x1200 monitor, while the 30" has 2560x1600 :)

I thought long and hard about the 30" 4MP units, specifically the Samsung 305T. But, in the end I thought this would offer more flexability (inputs, tuner, etc...), it has better response times, better contrast ratio, and it's bigger. Plus higher resolution is nice, until you try to game at native resolution. And I don't have the money to be buying every new generation graphics card to hit the market. The 8800GTX I have now replaced a Radeon 9700Pro, and I'm hoping the 8800GTX will last me just as long (about 4 years). I figure I'll be able to run most any game at this unit's native resolution for a long time. Where I'd still really bennefit from the 4MP monsters would be with photo editing, and 3D modeling (two hobbies of mine).

_________________
The 3-Step Overclocking Guides: Sandy Bridge || Bloomfield & Gulftown || Lynnfield || Clarkdale


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 5:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 10:31 pm
Posts: 305
Location: Japan
porkchop wrote:
you lucky, lucky bastard.

Actually, I'm not lucky at all, I work my a$$ off for all my gear, and then I have to get permission from my wife before buying it, which means I have to get her something first. So I actually spent $2500 to buy this ($1200 for the TV itself, and $1300 for the treadmill I had to get her :roll: ). Anyway, now we're both happy with our new toys :) .

_________________
The 3-Step Overclocking Guides: Sandy Bridge || Bloomfield & Gulftown || Lynnfield || Clarkdale


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 6:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 7:44 am
Posts: 62
I have recently bought the Dell 24". Same resolution as yours, so the dot pitch is smaller (sharper images, games without AA are not as problematic).
When I unpacked and installed it, I too had a "WHOA" feeling, what was I thinking buying a big monster like that :D (coming from a 17").
But I got used to the screen real estate really fast, wouldn't wanna go back.

No tuner in the Dell, but a plethora of other connections.

Oh, and I didn't have to ask or bribe my wife for it :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 7:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:01 am
Posts: 299
Location: Vancouver Wa USA
Still, a good answer to the lucky comment. I hear that all too often. Many people seem to think the key to life is luck and not working for what they get.

What treadmill did you get? I'll have to see if that would get my wife to let me buy a "monitor" too. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 7:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 9:20 am
Posts: 3141
Location: Missing in Finnish wilderness, howling to moon with wolf brethren and walking with brother bears
That makes me want same, but no way poor student like I can afford that. But still it looks awesome. And very good pictures.

_________________
If seeing is believing, how can blind person believe in anything?
Maturity is just not experience in life but also ability to make compromises.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 12:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:37 am
Posts: 871
Location: North Carolina
Sweet setup! :D I have to ask how is the performance at 1920x1080? Can you GTX play at maxed settings (Including AA & AF) or do you have to turn the settings down to get good FPS?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 2:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 10:31 pm
Posts: 305
Location: Japan
VanWaGuy wrote:
What treadmill did you get? I'll have to see if that would get my wife to let me buy a "monitor" too. :)

I am in the US Army and live in Japan, so my options are VERY limited. I got her the Reebok Vista 9500 from AAFES, as you can see Dicks is a little more expensive.

angelkiller wrote:
I have to ask how is the performance at 1920x1080? Can you GTX play at maxed settings (Including AA & AF) or do you have to turn the settings down to get good FPS?

The only games I do not get good framerates on are Supreme Commander and FSX. But in both cases it is because I am CPU limited. So turning down the graphics settings does not help. All other games run VERY smooth at this resolution. Overall it's almost exactly the same pixel count at 1600x1200, so you can use that as a comparision when checking out benchmarks around the net.
1600x1200=1,920,000
1920x1080=2,073,600

_________________
The 3-Step Overclocking Guides: Sandy Bridge || Bloomfield & Gulftown || Lynnfield || Clarkdale


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2007 3:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 1:19 am
Posts: 489
Location: Australia
Quote:
Actually, I'm not lucky at all, I work my a$$ off for all my gear, and then I have to get permission from my wife before buying it, which means I have to get her something first. So I actually spent $2500 to buy this ($1200 for the TV itself, and $1300 for the treadmill I had to get her Rolling Eyes ). Anyway, now we're both happy with our new toys Smile .


fair enough, i cordially withdraw my comment

Quote:
Still, a good answer to the lucky comment. I hear that all too often. Many people seem to think the key to life is luck and not working for what they get.


and in response to this, change it to 'good on you for working hard for your nice new monitor!'


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2007 9:06 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 5:47 pm
Posts: 867
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Thanks for the review and all the pictures. What's sad is that at first I looked at the pics of it on your desk and thought to myself "Wait, did he mean a 23" display?" I have a 21.3" 4:3 display and have long been considering a 24" or 30" widescreen and somehow I guess I just expected a 32" to look bigger somehow, but in reality it appears to be an almost sensible, reasonable size. I guess I'll just keep waiting for the prices to come down more on 30" displays since it now seems like it wouldn't make much sense to just go with only a 24".

_________________
Phenom 1090T / 9800GTX+ / Antec P180 / Seasonic S12-600


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2007 3:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 10:31 pm
Posts: 305
Location: Japan
AZBrandon wrote:
Thanks for the review and all the pictures. What's sad is that at first I looked at the pics of it on your desk and thought to myself "Wait, did he mean a 23" display?" I have a 21.3" 4:3 display and have long been considering a 24" or 30" widescreen and somehow I guess I just expected a 32" to look bigger somehow, but in reality it appears to be an almost sensible, reasonable size. I guess I'll just keep waiting for the prices to come down more on 30" displays since it now seems like it wouldn't make much sense to just go with only a 24".

You're welcome, but the pictures do not do it justice. It looks MUCH BIGGER in person.

_________________
The 3-Step Overclocking Guides: Sandy Bridge || Bloomfield & Gulftown || Lynnfield || Clarkdale


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 6:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 10:31 pm
Posts: 305
Location: Japan
Well, I finally got around to replacing my dinky Altecs, and I rearraged my office/cleaned up the wiring and what-not.

Here's some updated pictures of my setup, all pictures were taken with my Canon SD630 point & shoot mounted on a tripod with manual adjustments:

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

_________________
The 3-Step Overclocking Guides: Sandy Bridge || Bloomfield & Gulftown || Lynnfield || Clarkdale


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 8:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 5:18 pm
Posts: 48
Location: King of Prussia, PA
Is that the Maha MH-C401FS charger on your shredder? I love that model. Best charger I've ever owned.

Great job on the photographs. Really make that monitor look fantastic.

_________________
2.8GHZ E7400 on Asus P5K, Intel X-25E 80GB SSD / Intel X-25M 80GB SSD


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 2:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 10:31 pm
Posts: 305
Location: Japan
Davinator wrote:
Is that the Maha MH-C401FS charger on your shredder? I love that model. Best charger I've ever owned.

Yep, I've owned it for years. Works great with all my rechargables.

_________________
The 3-Step Overclocking Guides: Sandy Bridge || Bloomfield & Gulftown || Lynnfield || Clarkdale


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 3:25 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2003 6:14 am
Posts: 1235
Location: Finland
What did you do on the case intake filters? They look cool.

_________________
my general purpose desktop system: HP LP3065 30" LCD 2560x1600 pixels, Q9450, 8GB DDR2 ECC 800MHz, EVGA 460GTX 1GB SC (OC@800MHz/2000MHz), WD Velociraptor 300GB, Samsung 2TB, Gigabyte EX38-DS4, Antec P182b, Corsair VX450, Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme, Scythe S-Flex fan, <90W AC idle, 200W AC gaming


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 3:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 10:31 pm
Posts: 305
Location: Japan
lm wrote:
What did you do on the case intake filters? They look cool.

Got rid of the stock ones, and cut out the stock metal grills. I added the Silverstone 5.25" to 3.5" conversion to increase my HDD capacity (still haven't used the extra space yet), plus it mounts a fan in the front. Then I replaced the stock filters with some aluminum filers from jab-tech (I think they're a little less restrictive).

Since I'm using a higher airflow senario than most people, my limiting factor right now is the lack of frontal intack volume. So I created the small intake duct below my graphics card which draws air in due to the negative pressure design.

_________________
The 3-Step Overclocking Guides: Sandy Bridge || Bloomfield & Gulftown || Lynnfield || Clarkdale


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 4:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 1:05 pm
Posts: 419
Location: Palo Alto, CA
I just took your suggestion to heart and got an AQUOS 42" as my secondary monitor. Looks good, but I'm having problems displaying 1920x1080; the edges of the desktop are off the screen. Any suggestions?

(picture)

_________________
A64 6000+, GF 7950GT, 4GB DDR2-1000, Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4, Auzentech X-Plosion 7.1, 3Ware 9650SE-16ML, 2x 74GB Raptors, 6x 750GB 7200.10s, Antec Nine Hundred, Samsung SATA DVD-RW, Seasonic M12 700W, Logitech G15, Razor Copperhead, Vista Ultimate


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 5:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 6:27 pm
Posts: 47
Location: California, where else?
Sharp TV's are great. My parents just bought a 42" Sharp Aquos today and its beautiful. Im using a 37" Westinghouse 1080P as my monitor for my machine and it doubles as an HDTV. Its a whole new experience using such a big TV as your monitor.

Here's a picture of my setup for reference:
Image

_________________
Intel E6600 @ 3.2GHz | ThermalRight HR-01+ | Gigabyte EP45-DS3R | Corsair XMS PC-6400 4GB | eVGA 8800GT 512MB SC | WesternDigital 320GB | Seagate 1TB | ASUS DVD-RW | Corsair 520HX | Antec P180 | Nexus RealSilent Fans @ 7V | Logitech Z-5500 | Westinghouse 37" LCD | Logitech DiNovo Edge & G7


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 2:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 10:31 pm
Posts: 305
Location: Japan
Hey extreme, I just posted another comment about your setup over at nvnews (widescreen Dell thread)...you were my insiration for getting my wiring cleaned up. Thanks!

_________________
The 3-Step Overclocking Guides: Sandy Bridge || Bloomfield & Gulftown || Lynnfield || Clarkdale


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 2:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 10:31 pm
Posts: 305
Location: Japan
ddrueding1 wrote:
I just took your suggestion to heart and got an AQUOS 42" as my secondary monitor. Looks good, but I'm having problems displaying 1920x1080; the edges of the desktop are off the screen. Any suggestions?

(picture)

Make sure you have a digital connection (DVI or HDMI) then update your nVidia drivers to the most recent version. Open the nVidia control panel, click on "Resize HDTV desktop", check the option "do not resize my desktop", then click "apply". That did it for me, good luck.

edit: also, press the button "view mode" on the Sharp remote, and select "dot by dot"

_________________
The 3-Step Overclocking Guides: Sandy Bridge || Bloomfield & Gulftown || Lynnfield || Clarkdale


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 3:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 10:52 am
Posts: 595
Display size is like money, you can never have enough...or :)

Looks like a very nice screen (that appears) to be sharp and with both warm and nice clean colours.

Edit: I like your setup and those aluminium filters too.

cheers.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 3:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 1:05 pm
Posts: 419
Location: Palo Alto, CA
miahallen wrote:
edit: also, press the button "view mode" on the Sharp remote, and select "dot by dot"


This did the trick. Thanks!

Now I'm figuring out how to get Supreme Commander to work on the 42" (1920x1080) and the 22" (1600x1200) at the same time. I don't think my passive 7950GT is up for it.

_________________
A64 6000+, GF 7950GT, 4GB DDR2-1000, Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4, Auzentech X-Plosion 7.1, 3Ware 9650SE-16ML, 2x 74GB Raptors, 6x 750GB 7200.10s, Antec Nine Hundred, Samsung SATA DVD-RW, Seasonic M12 700W, Logitech G15, Razor Copperhead, Vista Ultimate


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 3:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 10:54 pm
Posts: 273
Great monitor. I wonder if its worth getting a 32 inch 1080p lcd tv vs a 30 inch lcd.
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 4:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 1:05 pm
Posts: 419
Location: Palo Alto, CA
elec999 wrote:
Great monitor. I wonder if its worth getting a 32 inch 1080p lcd tv vs a 30 inch lcd.
Thanks


32" 1080p = 1920x1080
30" LCD = 2560*1600

A no-brainer for me. The only reason I stopped at 1080p was beacuse they don't make anything higher res in this size. My next move will be to replace my secondary monitor with a Samsung 305T for photo and detail work.

_________________
A64 6000+, GF 7950GT, 4GB DDR2-1000, Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4, Auzentech X-Plosion 7.1, 3Ware 9650SE-16ML, 2x 74GB Raptors, 6x 750GB 7200.10s, Antec Nine Hundred, Samsung SATA DVD-RW, Seasonic M12 700W, Logitech G15, Razor Copperhead, Vista Ultimate


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 5:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 10:31 pm
Posts: 305
Location: Japan
elec999 wrote:
Great monitor. I wonder if its worth getting a 32 inch 1080p lcd tv vs a 30 inch lcd.
Thanks

My primary use is gaming, and while gaming would be incredible at 2560x1600 (one of the 30" displays) you need to keep you PC specs cutting edge all the time to play the latest games. 1920x1080 only has about 1/2 the pixel count, so gaming is smoother with less need for high end hardware. I have the power for a 4MP beast right now, but I'm planning ahead, as I do not upgrade as often as many other enthusiasts out there.

The other thing is the 30" models still have a very small dot pitch, while this makes for a very crisp picture quality...I do not like having to lean in to read webpages...with my 32" I can sit back and relax in a more comfortable posture while browsing the net, etc...

_________________
The 3-Step Overclocking Guides: Sandy Bridge || Bloomfield & Gulftown || Lynnfield || Clarkdale


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 5:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 10:54 pm
Posts: 273
I understand. I have a 22 inch lcd and I think its too small for me. The biggest mistake I made is getting a 1080i LCD tv. BIG BIG mistake.
Wish I didnt rush to get a new tv, no 1080p at the time or at least they crazily priced. At least I didnt blow $3500 on a Sony 1080i lcd. For the price I paid for my 1080i I could have had a 1080p Sharp, the 1080i is totally useless other then tv watching.
Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2007 11:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 10:31 pm
Posts: 305
Location: Japan
extreme4377 wrote:
Sharp TV's are great. My parents just bought a 42" Sharp Aquos today and its beautiful. Im using a 37" Westinghouse 1080P as my monitor for my machine and it doubles as an HDTV. Its a whole new experience using such a big TV as your monitor.

Here's a picture of my setup for reference:
Image


You inspired me to clean up my rats nest.
Image[/img]

_________________
The 3-Step Overclocking Guides: Sandy Bridge || Bloomfield & Gulftown || Lynnfield || Clarkdale


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group