It is currently Sun Dec 28, 2014 9:12 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Surge protector do i need one?
PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2007 7:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 3:28 pm
Posts: 33
Hi guys,

i am going to be running the follwoing

Corsair VX 450W ATX PSU
Dell E228WFP 22" Widescreen LCD Monitor
and 5.1 surround headset in there

(£7.04)
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showprodu ... =UP-005-BE


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2007 7:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 3:17 am
Posts: 780
Location: Croatia
1) No, you don't.

Equipment dies when grounding is faulty, not because one doesn't have a surge protector. TVs (if you have a roof antenna) are in danger, though.


2) Yes, you do.

Your average surge protector is usually of a higher build quality than an el cheapo extension cord imported from China for £0.1 a piece.


3) You need a UPS.


Last edited by Matija on Wed Dec 26, 2007 12:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2007 9:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 8:28 pm
Posts: 41
I second Matija's #3. Just get a descent (Not $29.99) UPS. You'll be glad you did when you're doing something and the power sags and your PC doesn't switch off. Get one with Voltage regulation from a respectable source (That's read: Not Walmart).

Like insurance or seat belts a good UPS is just a waste until the exact moment you need it, and then suddenly you'll think 'Holy crap I'm glad that was there'.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2007 12:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 8:10 pm
Posts: 332
Location: Toronto - Ontario - Canada
This always confuses me why someone would drop $1000.00 into system then plugin the system into the wall socket or $5.00 Wal-Mart surger protector. No, you do not need one but if you prefer not frying your $1000.00 investment you do. I my self use UPS it is worth investing in.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2007 2:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 11:58 am
Posts: 294
Interesting post. In your opinion is it necessary to use an expensive pure sine-wave UPS?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2007 10:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 9:32 pm
Posts: 15
Location: China - Shanghai
Do as you think, but personnaly i am getting an APC Smart UPS for my new PC.
What's 200 bucks for safety when you already put 2000 in sensitive electronic. That's not including the pain in getting data lose or time lost rebuilding a Raid array because of a power failure.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2007 9:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 11:58 am
Posts: 294
jwickers wrote:
Do as you think, but personnaly i am getting an APC Smart UPS for my new PC.
What's 200 bucks for safety when you already put 2000 in sensitive electronic. That's not including the pain in getting data lose or time lost rebuilding a Raid array because of a power failure.


I agree, better to buy a decent ups, especially here, in Italy :P
Would you please post a link of your UPS on apc website? Just curiosity, i need a suggestion/idea to what to buy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2007 10:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 9:39 pm
Posts: 109
Location: The insane State of California
Image

http://tinyurl.com/8y564

In Italy: http://tinyurl.com/59xdf

There are lots of good UPS choices, but I have two of these. Fry's was selling them for $135. :D

Tall & skinny (minimal floor space, & you don't need the extra 'stabilizers') with sufficient capacity to run the computer & two big flat panels. Similar ones are available in black.

If this is not enough juice, they sell add-on power packs to double the run-time. :shock:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2007 11:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 11:58 am
Posts: 294
Nice toy, eheheh :P

Does it have a fan? Is it quiet enough? I heard about problems with UPS with stepped sinewave and PSU with Active PFC... i have a Zalman 600W psu, hope it can run with it :?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2007 12:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 9:39 pm
Posts: 109
Location: The insane State of California
Quote:
Does it have a fan? Is it quiet enough? I heard about problems with UPS with stepped sinewave and PSU with Active PFC...

Yes, it has a fan, but that only runs when the power cuts out. Usually I don't worry about fan noise at that point. :) Otherwise it is completely silent.

I have tried it with three different Seasonic (/Corsair) and two different Antec supplies. No problems.

This thing is complete overkill, but the price was right. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2007 12:26 pm 
Offline
*Lifetime Patron*

Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2004 2:14 pm
Posts: 145
Location: Jersey, UK
That looks quite decent. I've got one of these

Image

Picked up a reconditioned one from ebay for £130. saved my bacon twice so far :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2007 1:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 3:17 am
Posts: 780
Location: Croatia
I have a simple APC Back-UPS CS 500. http://www.apc.com/resource/include/tec ... _watts=200

Enough for me :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2007 11:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 9:32 pm
Posts: 15
Location: China - Shanghai
merlyn wrote:
That looks quite decent. I've got one of these

Image

Picked up a reconditioned one from ebay for £130. saved my bacon twice so far :)


will get the same, but SUA1000 not 1500. That's overkill :D


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group