It is currently Tue Sep 19, 2017 6:38 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Was: Solo WS - Now: Solo HTPC (Updated 30.07.08)
PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 2:22 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 12:03 am
Posts: 779
Location: Norway
Last post for more details

This system was built to be a replacement for the laptop I was using i Bergen untill recently (it died on the plane home). Built it last weekend from misc parts I had laying around.

I'm definently gonna get a new cpu cooler for it, as it gets noisy when cpuload goes up.

Its fairly quiet when I'm not abusing it, the cpu cooler will run at about 700-1100rpm and the case fans will run at around 350-400rpm.
This is below the ambient noise level if I have the window open (I'm in bergen, its windy here..) :)


Specs:

Antec Solo
Corsair VX450W PSU
Asus P5W DH Deluxe Motherboard (Got this for $70 :D )
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
2x1GB RAM
Asus 8600GT Silent
500GB + 320GB Samsung drives
Scythe S-FLEX 1200rpm fans + Nexus cpu cooler

... its my old [email protected] box, but with new mobo and drives.. as the new mobo is identical to the one in my workstation I just mirrored the system drive and put it in.. no install to worry about...

Some pics - this case is even worse to build in than the P182 - cramped as h*ll..:

Image
Almost empty, just the PSU left from the old p5k-vm setup

Image
Mobo + CPU + GFX in

Image
Duct/Gaffer tape is my friend, that vent is a dust magnet...

Image
All done and running :)

_________________
Workstation | HTPC | 9.1TB | 19.1TB


Last edited by Wibla on Wed Jul 30, 2008 8:09 am, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2008 5:37 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 12:03 am
Posts: 779
Location: Norway
No replies - not a shock tho...

Did a couple of mods to it;

- Put in a Nexus fan below the DVDRW, far into the drive bay, and removed the metal blanking plates.. no filter tho, but the aiflow isnt massive anyway - this to reduce cpu temps
- Removed and reseated cpucooler with new TIM, correctly applied this time.. No big difference in temps as of yet, but it seems to react faster to fan speed change, thats good.
- Moved the 320GB and 500GB drives from the normal drive trays and into the stock elastic bands, this helped more than I thought...

CPUtemps @ 2.7GHz, 1.24Vcore is still 65-66C with cpufan at 1300rpm and [email protected] SMP at 80% cpu load, but its silent enough at that speed that I can sleep in the same room, so its ok for now.. temps are higher than I like, but I cant afford a new cpu cooler and fan right now, so...

_________________
Workstation | HTPC | 9.1TB | 19.1TB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2008 6:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 6:55 am
Posts: 5085
Location: UK
LOL, your "spare parts" computer is about 1000x better than my main comp :lol: wish I had spare parts like that lying around :wink:

_________________
JFK:
What do our opponents mean when they apply to us the label "Liberal?" If by "Liberal" they mean...someone who looks ahead, who welcomes new ideas without rigid reactions,who cares about the welfare of the people, who believes we can break through the stalemate and suspicions that grip us in our policies abroad...then I'm proud to say I'm a "Liberal."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2008 7:15 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 8:56 pm
Posts: 356
Location: Council Bluffs, Iowa
I never found my Solo all that cramped to work in. You might want to try running more of the wiring behind the motherboard; there's plenty of space and it gets the wires out of your way. If you look at my system, you can see how much space this will save.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2008 7:16 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 12:03 am
Posts: 779
Location: Norway
Hehe :)

Well, I scour the webshops for good deals, so when I find a good mobo for next to nothing, I buy it.. same with cpu, ram, gpu etc... I paid less than half price for the E6600 last summer, and I had it running in my P5K-VM for a good while...

_________________
Workstation | HTPC | 9.1TB | 19.1TB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 10:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 5:20 am
Posts: 34
I wish I had a E6600 laying around in spare parts. :lol: my spare parts pc is an athlon1700 :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 11:16 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 12:03 am
Posts: 779
Location: Norway
Haha, yeah.. I had that E6600 laying around for a while, bought it used off a friend, and used it in my [email protected] rig for a while, but when my laptop shit itself I had to take action :)

I'm about to order more spare parts and a HTPC chassis + new 1TB drives... gah.. so much money...

a 780G based mobo and one of the newer low-powered X2's should be fine as a backup box if something dies, methinks...

_________________
Workstation | HTPC | 9.1TB | 19.1TB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 11:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 3:32 am
Posts: 486
Location: Poland
Unless you really need the processing power, why not lower the CPU speed and undervolt it (even further?)?

_________________
Can you keep it down? I'm having trouble hearing the artillery.

Current rig
Old PC


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 12:15 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 12:03 am
Posts: 779
Location: Norway
the P5W DHD wont allow undervolting in bios (1.2V is the lower limit), and Im running it at 2.7GHz for [email protected], so you could say I need the processing power, hehe :)

_________________
Workstation | HTPC | 9.1TB | 19.1TB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 6:58 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 12:03 am
Posts: 779
Location: Norway
This PC will now do service as a HTPC for a while. Chucked out the P5W DHD with defect audio, and put in a P5E WS PRO I had spare..

Image
And by cheating a little (looking at other solo projects) I got this version alot more tidy than the previous incarnation.

The Nexus cooler, however, will be removed shortly, the pushpin mechanism on this cooler cannot provide enough pressure, so the temps are -WAY- too high. A Xigmatek 1283 will take over.

_________________
Workstation | HTPC | 9.1TB | 19.1TB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:19 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 12:03 am
Posts: 779
Location: Norway
Oi, what happened?

Image

_________________
Workstation | HTPC | 9.1TB | 19.1TB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 12:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 9:20 am
Posts: 3142
Location: Missing in Finnish wilderness, howling to moon with wolf brethren and walking with brother bears
oooh, Nexus transformed into Xigmatek with Nexus...

Very nice build wibla ^^ Very nice. Clean as what ^^

_________________
If seeing is believing, how can blind person believe in anything?
Maturity is just not experience in life but also ability to make compromises.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 12:33 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 12:03 am
Posts: 779
Location: Norway
Thanks a bunch :)

... I just need a decent DVI -> HDMI cable, and then I can move it away from next to the livingroom table (so the VGA cable will reach the projector)

Image

Image
... The buisness end of the HTPC rig.. 92" :D

Check out my P182, Workstation-link in my sig, it is even cleaner than my Solo atm.. took a few hours, hehe

_________________
Workstation | HTPC | 9.1TB | 19.1TB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 9:20 am
Posts: 3142
Location: Missing in Finnish wilderness, howling to moon with wolf brethren and walking with brother bears
O.O!!!! I so would like to see Black Hawk Down 1080P from 92" screen.... *drools* That is awesome ^^

_________________
If seeing is believing, how can blind person believe in anything?
Maturity is just not experience in life but also ability to make compromises.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 2:27 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 12:03 am
Posts: 779
Location: Norway
Image

... :mrgreen:

_________________
Workstation | HTPC | 9.1TB | 19.1TB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 22, 2009 12:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 9:00 am
Posts: 69
Location: Bristol, UK
Hi Wibla,

I sent this link to a colleague who is trying to get a similar setup at home.
He wondered what projector you were using there and whether you'd rate it?

Thanks,

MG


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 5:00 pm 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 12:03 am
Posts: 779
Location: Norway
Sorry I didnt see this untill now.

The Projector is an Epson TW700. The model is now quite old, and there should be newer ones on the market with better specs. It is however pretty quiet in operation, and has decent black levels and colours to boot. Should be used with a grey screen tho, using a silver one will make black levels horrid, which goes for most LCD based projectors.

I have moved since those pictures were taken, new ones will be posted when I get back from vacation.
I've also put in a new 250GB 2.5" SATA drive instead of the Seagate 160GB that was in there, so yet another noise source mitigated.... :D

_________________
Workstation | HTPC | 9.1TB | 19.1TB


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group