It is currently Mon Mar 25, 2019 2:14 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: how low can I go?
PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2003 9:34 am 

With the fan on my 350W antec before she blows?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2003 12:23 pm 
*Lifetime Patron*

The scientific answer is probably along the lines of measure the heatsink temps. I am no electronics engineer but believe the psu components to be a lot more robust than CPUs, so heatsink temps up to say 70C should be OK (to cause an argument).

The Heath Robinson answer is, "what, you still have a fan in your psu?" I don't, but then I do have 'positive' case pressure that certainly generates flow through my psu. Random positioned thermistor on my psu heatsink indicates max heatsink temp about 69C, air exhausting my psu is about 45C. It has lasted like this about 4 weeks so far :D

So go on, take it out. See if your psu enjoys a sauna as much as you do :D

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2003 10:08 pm 

I love sauna :)

So you have put a thermistor in the psu? I guess that would require buying an electronic one, and I'm a bit weary about that. I could take a normal one and place it in the powersupply for a while.

By positive pressure, you mean you have more air input then output? I have a 120mm fan sucking air into the fan, and two 80mm ones blowing it out. I'm currently planning on removing one of the 80mm ones, as soon as I get tools to cut the grill out from in front of it.