It is currently Wed May 23, 2018 1:05 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Super easy way to run [email protected] like a service
PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2003 2:04 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 543
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
For Windows users only (Win2k and possibly other versions):
  1. Go to Control Panel / Scheduled Tasks.
  2. Click on Add Scheduled Task.
  3. Click Next, then Browse and locate fah4console.exe.
  4. Name Task as you wish and click the "When my computer starts" radio button.
  5. Click Next, check the "open advanced..." checkbox and Finish.
  6. Go Settings tab and uncheck "Stop task if it runs for..."
  7. DONE!


No windows will popup on the next reboot. No .REG files to add. No .EXE's to download. You just need to have the client already configured. I have 2 instances of the client running on my dualie using two scheduled tasks.

Cheers,
Leo

_________________
FS: SX1040, PSU duct, TigerMP, 2x1.4GHz, 'Cuda7 120GB, dcupld L1As (6V) (link)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2003 8:09 am 
Offline
Friend of SPCR

Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2002 12:55 pm
Posts: 1063
Location: Richland, WA
Does this list it with all the other Services, letting you stop/start it if need be?

_________________
Z
________


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2003 10:13 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2003 11:09 pm
Posts: 2425
Location: Earth
We now have a third way to skin the cat. Good job Leo.

David

_________________
Join SPCR's Folding Team! <-- Click Here


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2003 11:56 am 
Offline
Patron of SPCR

Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 543
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Zyzzyx wrote:
Does this list it with all the other Services, letting you stop/start it if need be?

No, but it will be listed under the scheduled tasks control panel. From there you can start and stop as you wish. Only issue is that if you stop, then start it again after windows has booted, the client will become visible (IME).

_________________
FS: SX1040, PSU duct, TigerMP, 2x1.4GHz, 'Cuda7 120GB, dcupld L1As (6V) (link)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group