Finally....AMD *officially* releases the Geode

The forum for non-component-related silent pc discussions.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Green Shoes
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 477
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 6:41 am
Location: Nashville, TN

Finally....AMD *officially* releases the Geode

Post by Green Shoes » Mon May 23, 2005 8:48 pm

A processor that only dissipates 0.9 watts!!!! Yeah, it's 500MHz, but I'm running an old Intel PIII 600MHz machine that can run iTunes and the internet just fine, and that proc dissipates more like 50-60W. I like where AMD is going with this...

frostedflakes
Posts: 1608
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 4:02 pm
Location: United States

Post by frostedflakes » Mon May 23, 2005 9:03 pm

Go AMD go!

So what exactly are Geodes? I know the architecture is K7, but are they based on a 90nm process or extremely low-voltage 130nm process? I'd also assume it has tweaks on the transistor level similar to those of Turion64 to reduce power consumption even further.
Corsair Obsidian 650D | Seasonic X-650 | Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 | Phenom II X4 955 | Noctua NH-D14 | 2x4GB Corsair DDR3-1600 | ASUS HD6950 DirectCU II 2GB | OCZ Vertex 2 120GB | 2x WD Green 1TB

lenny
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 1642
Joined: Wed May 28, 2003 10:50 am
Location: Somewhere out there

Post by lenny » Mon May 23, 2005 10:04 pm

Get more information straight from AMD's web site

It's sort of like VIA's EPIA on Valium. Useful for embedded apps or simple servers. Not too useful for desktop apps.

ruprag
Posts: 323
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 7:02 am
Location: Reykjavík, Iceland

Post by ruprag » Tue May 24, 2005 1:28 am

I have one question that I hope that you can answer (I did not find the answer:( at AMD) , what socket is the GEODE NX compatible with ??


The NX 1400 looks like a winner in a Media center
[size=75]xp2000 (running as xp1800), ATI7-MAX2, SPN1614N (susp in 5" bay), Chieftec dragon orig. 360W PSU(fan@1500-1700 rpm, "loud"), LG DVD/CD-RW, CoolerM. HS with 80mm Vantec Stealth@1500rpm (better than orig. 70mm fan), Zalman NB32j, Zalman MFC-1, GF 440MX passive, 2xL1A@7v exhaust[/size]

sgtpokey
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 301
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2002 11:29 pm
Location: Dublin, CA / Liverpool UK

Post by sgtpokey » Tue May 24, 2005 4:29 am

Last we talked about this (maybe 6 months ago), there was one thing I thought AMD did that was sneaky:

Their performance ratings for the Geode were based on a completely different set of benchmarks vs their "normal" desktop chips. In essence the geode's performance rating was equivalent to the megahertz of the competing Via low power chip (which itself is roughly analagous to 1/2 to 3/4 the speed of a PIII at same clocks)...

I'll have to dig through AMD's website to see if this is still true.

sgtpokey
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 301
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2002 11:29 pm
Location: Dublin, CA / Liverpool UK

Post by sgtpokey » Tue May 24, 2005 4:40 am

Here's the direct link to how AMD's performance rating for the Geode is calculated:

http://www.amd.com/us-en/ConnectivitySo ... 72,00.html

since this area of computing is less-well covered it'll a bit hard to find equivalent benchmarks for the via's or any other low-power cpu.

sgtpokey
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 301
Joined: Sat Dec 14, 2002 11:29 pm
Location: Dublin, CA / Liverpool UK

Post by sgtpokey » Tue May 24, 2005 4:59 am

BTW,
The geode sounds like a great low-power processor for the same tasks the low-powered via's are good for.

Via, on the other hand is no slouch: they have a nice long track record and community to fall back on, and they also have hardware assisted mpeg playback capabilities in their chipsets.

This arena is interesting because their is no Intel in this space and it is for highly specific uses.

elec999
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 10:54 pm

Post by elec999 » Tue May 24, 2005 7:26 am

I hope I can go out and buy this cpu. Tyan was suppose to release a matx board to support this cpu.
Thanks

Green Shoes
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 477
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 6:41 am
Location: Nashville, TN

Post by Green Shoes » Tue May 24, 2005 7:35 am

thanks lenny, I meant to post that link but it was late and my brain had apparently stopped working. This does look promising for a generic box; you wouldn't even need a heatsink, much less a fan. Get some onboard graphics and you're good to go.

lenny
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 1642
Joined: Wed May 28, 2003 10:50 am
Location: Somewhere out there

Post by lenny » Tue May 24, 2005 8:46 am

ruprag wrote:I have one question that I hope that you can answer (I did not find the answer:( at AMD) , what socket is the GEODE NX compatible with ??
According to this it is compatible with Socket A. Draws 6W to 14W.

I have no idea about GX and LX. There's a databook you can download from AMD if you're curious enough. I'm not - I figure boards will come with the processor, like the VIA EPIAs.

Chang
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 12:26 pm

Post by Chang » Tue May 24, 2005 12:18 pm

lenny wrote:According to this it is compatible with Socket A. Draws 6W to 14W.
The online photos definately do not show a Socket A compatible chip. There are pins in the middle and too few along the outside.

StarfishChris
Posts: 968
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:13 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Post by StarfishChris » Tue May 24, 2005 12:42 pm

Is that a pinless chip, or a trick of the camera?
It's coming back

Green Shoes
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 477
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 6:41 am
Location: Nashville, TN

Post by Green Shoes » Tue May 24, 2005 1:14 pm

StarfishChris wrote:Is that a pinless chip, or a trick of the camera?
Definitely not pinless. Did you click for a larger view? The thumbnail on that page is a little deceiving.

lenny
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 1642
Joined: Wed May 28, 2003 10:50 am
Location: Somewhere out there

Post by lenny » Tue May 24, 2005 2:02 pm

Chang wrote:
lenny wrote:According to this it is compatible with Socket A. Draws 6W to 14W.
The online photos definately do not show a Socket A compatible chip. There are pins in the middle and too few along the outside.
That's a photo of the LX.

There are (at least?) 3 different versions. LX, GX and NX. The NX is the one ruprag asked about, and the one that is compatible with Socket A.

ruprag
Posts: 323
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2003 7:02 am
Location: Reykjavík, Iceland

Post by ruprag » Wed May 25, 2005 12:33 am

Thank you for the answer.
[size=75]xp2000 (running as xp1800), ATI7-MAX2, SPN1614N (susp in 5" bay), Chieftec dragon orig. 360W PSU(fan@1500-1700 rpm, "loud"), LG DVD/CD-RW, CoolerM. HS with 80mm Vantec Stealth@1500rpm (better than orig. 70mm fan), Zalman NB32j, Zalman MFC-1, GF 440MX passive, 2xL1A@7v exhaust[/size]

~El~Jefe~
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 2887
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 4:21 pm
Location: New York City zzzz
Contact:

Post by ~El~Jefe~ » Thu May 26, 2005 3:30 pm

Anyone see the dual VIA Eden processor setup, eh?

Its FANLESS! in claim, not even through modification and trickery does one have to figure it out. As I understand, the eden is as powerful as a P3 tualitin in some aspects I hear... I have a tualatin 1.2 ghz, it ran everything realy realy well. I even played doom3 in a low setting wihtout choppy graphics on it. :)

So... a dual of these badboy less than a watt Via's would, I would hope, outclass the geode. They havea cn400 chipset that has enhanced mpeg and multimedia things on it as well, it could be a nice xp pro system.

I thought the geode was a joke to AMD and to most people? I hear its dreadful.

jamesavery22
Posts: 271
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 3:19 pm

Post by jamesavery22 » Tue May 31, 2005 8:31 am

Green Shoes wrote:
StarfishChris wrote:Is that a pinless chip, or a trick of the camera?
Definitely not pinless. Did you click for a larger view? The thumbnail on that page is a little deceiving.
Uh sure looks like the exact same package as a surface mounted chipset to me. 4mb picture even shows the solder ball points or whatever. No pins.

mellon
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2005 12:17 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Post by mellon » Tue May 31, 2005 11:51 am

To understand the thinking behing the Geode processor line it's somewhat important to know where the history of the product line.

The somewhat humble beginnings were with Cyrix that tried to develop a very low-cost all-integrated solution for laptops about 8 years ago. It was called MediaGX and it's performance was less than stellar. Two years forward and Cyrix was sold to VIA after which the Geode design was controlled by National Semiconductors. National developed the chip some more and it became very popular in different embedded solutions where x86 compatibility was needed.

One example would be CPU boards using the PC/104 standard that are widely used in industrial and mobile applications where extremely low heat output is needed. Example: http://www.eurotech.fi/products/CPU-1232.html. The performance is not enough for modern operating systems with fancy GUI's but you can run Win2K on a GX1. It's just not very snappy... Win98 and lightweight Linux WM's work nicely and the power consumption is really low. No fans here :)

At some point National lost interest in Geode and sold the design and the people working on it to AMD. AMD still has the GX1 available but they have also done a few other types of Geodes. PC/104(Plus) CPU boards are currently moving toward ULV Celerons and Pentium-M's but perhaps some of the new Geodes will be comparably usable.

So, to put some of this together the difference between Geodes and VIA's offerings is that the Geodes are meant primarily for designers to put into consumer devices whereas VIA is offering C3's and Edens straight to consumers as x86 computers.


* I work for Eurotech.

mb2
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 2:42 pm
Location: UK

Post by mb2 » Wed Jun 01, 2005 4:22 pm

so are any of the Socket A geodes available to actually buy anywhere?

elec999
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 10:54 pm

Post by elec999 » Wed Jun 01, 2005 9:07 pm

Will I be able to go out and buy one of these cpus.
Thanks

wim
Posts: 777
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 5:16 am
Location: canberra, australia

Post by wim » Wed Jun 01, 2005 9:47 pm

0.9 W yikes, sounds like quite an achievement

hey thanks for the info mellon

mb2
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 2:42 pm
Location: UK

Post by mb2 » Tue Jun 28, 2005 10:22 am

mb2 wrote:so are any of the Socket A geodes available to actually buy anywhere?
...i'm guessing no then?

scruzbeachbum
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 11:15 am
Location: California

Post by scruzbeachbum » Tue Jun 28, 2005 2:57 pm

Some additional background:

Cyrix was acquired by NSC. NSC expanded the development of Cyrix's x86 core to go for system on a chip designs (using the Geode name) for embedded apps where speed didn't matter, but x86 compatibility, low power/fanless apps were compelling. Core/northbridge/southbridge all in one chip. Typical systems were things like thin client computing.

They sold the x86 core group to via and then later gave up on the x86 system on a chip stuff and sold Geode to AMD. Couldn't tell you where things stand now with AMD's performance.

ex- NSC guy
Barton 2800, Abit NF7-S, Gigabyte 6600GT-passive (58C idle, 85C while gaming), 2 x 512MB dual channel, old HP CDRW, Samsung 160GB S-ATA with Nidec, in a stock Sonata case.

alglove
Posts: 363
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2004 11:21 am
Location: Houston, TX, USA

Post by alglove » Tue Jun 28, 2005 4:35 pm

scruzbeachbum wrote:Cyrix was acquired by NSC.
That would be National Semiconductor, for those who do not recognize the initials "NSC".

~El~Jefe~
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 2887
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 4:21 pm
Location: New York City zzzz
Contact:

Post by ~El~Jefe~ » Sun Jul 03, 2005 11:29 am

Does anyone realize that compared to an Eden or even old c3 chip from via, these things are like slow and cant handle multi processing well?

I wouldnt consider a 500mhz geode on anything. I bet it wouldnt even keep up with 100 mbit network and crap out on someone. its meant to tabulate cash registers and for alarm companies.....

go Via is my suggestion.... unless in the last 6 months geode completely changed and isnt a geode anymore. It bombed horribly a few years ago.

2x eden system, now theres a severely low wattage setup that at idle is less han a watt per proc. shrugs. (just costs a buttload if you use it just for a 2ndary fun machine)

winguy
Posts: 447
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 9:31 am

Post by winguy » Fri Jul 29, 2005 10:42 am

does geode nx have powernow , i.e. multiplier unlocked?

anyway more pics [source]

Image

Image

Image

elec999
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 10:54 pm

Post by elec999 » Mon Sep 12, 2005 11:32 pm

Is it possible to buy a Geode from somewhere.
Thanks

jjr
Posts: 187
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 3:16 pm
Location: Travelling worldwide

This could change the face of silent computing / HTPC

Post by jjr » Sun Sep 25, 2005 4:00 pm

Apparently the first Geode based PCs are already hittting the market.

http://www.watch.impress.co.jp/akiba/ho ... sizka.html

This is very impressive : it is barely bigger than a mouse.
Absolutely nothing to envy to the Mac Mini.

This could change the face of silent computing / HTPC.

scruzbeachbum
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 11:15 am
Location: California

Post by scruzbeachbum » Thu Sep 29, 2005 7:05 am

...and it looks like it's here, as well.
Barton 2800, Abit NF7-S, Gigabyte 6600GT-passive (58C idle, 85C while gaming), 2 x 512MB dual channel, old HP CDRW, Samsung 160GB S-ATA with Nidec, in a stock Sonata case.

dorion
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 11:47 am

Post by dorion » Fri Oct 07, 2005 11:50 am

Ok so NX is socket A? Is there a possibility of doing this:
http://www.hardwarezone.com/articles/vi ... d=393&pg=2

You know so I could have a Dual Fanless system for multitasking in my living room?

Post Reply