Asus A7V8X vcore and my silent pc

The forum for non-component-related silent pc discussions.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
Kello
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:23 am
Location: Finland

Asus A7V8X vcore and my silent pc

Post by Kello » Wed Aug 13, 2003 1:43 pm

I was grining like Tom Cruise when I put some Panaflos in my PC today. M1A@12V and L1A@12V at the back of the case (Aopen H500) replacing one Globe fan and L1A@12V on the HS replacing Adda. I tried them with Fan Mate1 but as long as I have Geforce Ti4200 with its fan they don't bother me at 12V.

I got a nice surprise when I received Nexus NX-3000 to replace Aopen FSP300-60ATV(PF). They seem exactly the same. :shock: Well I was expecting something like that. They're quiet anyway.

Then finally my question. My CPU (XP2000) is running very hot. Idling @ 60 C. And the reason seems to be the high vcore value. (Mainboard Asus A7V8X). The minimum option is 1.75V with the OVER_VOLT1 jumper disabled (same range enabled). Sisoft Sandra shows 1.81V as vcore. Has anyone found a way to get it lower?

Thanks SPCR and the members of its forum. Without you I would still have my pc sounding like a vacuum cleaner. :D

starsky
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 368
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2003 5:41 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by starsky » Thu Aug 14, 2003 1:03 am

I have the same problem with vcore on my Xp2400+ on an A7v266

Can't fix it :(

I am looking for a new mobo to fix it
Silverstone FT03
Asus P8Z77-M Pro with I7-3770 (Noctua NH-U9B SE2)
ASUS Radeon 6950
23" Samsung LED
http://bluecouch.com.au

bluehat
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 3:47 am

Re: Asus A7V8X vcore and my silent pc

Post by bluehat » Thu Aug 14, 2003 9:43 am

Kello wrote: Then finally my question. My CPU (XP2000) is running very hot. Idling @ 60 C. And the reason seems to be the high vcore value. (Mainboard Asus A7V8X). The minimum option is 1.75V with the OVER_VOLT1 jumper disabled (same range enabled). Sisoft Sandra shows 1.81V as vcore. Has anyone found a way to get it lower?
Just cut L11-4 bridge on your cpu with a sharp tool, then you can select Vcore from 1,35 to 1,55 or with overvolt jumper enabled, 1,50 to 1,70 V. Cutting bridges is much easier and less risky than connecting them.

This nice page has all amd cpu bridge settings information:
http://fab51.fc2web.com/pc/barton/athlon-e23.html

nbac
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 142
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2003 11:27 am
Location: Sweden

Post by nbac » Fri Aug 15, 2003 10:32 am

Great source bluehat!

Just to clarify: Don't mix up segments and VID-bits

Cutting the fifth bridge-segment (VID4) lowers the
voltage by 0.4V, and cutting the fourth segment (VID3)
lowers the voltage by 0.2V.

If you are familiar with a solder iron, I would recommend
a reversible operation: unsolder pin 22 (VID4) or pin 21(VID3)
of the ST L6917 (2 phase DC/DC converter) chip next to the
cpu socket. Leave the pin floating 2mm or so above the pad.

Kello
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:23 am
Location: Finland

Post by Kello » Thu Aug 28, 2003 12:55 pm

Thanks bluehat! :)

I cut the bridge and now I've got a vcore range of 1.55V-1.75V (on Palomino).

Today I did some experimenting with Zalman ZM80A-HP on Asus GF4 Ti4200 and Barracuda IV on foam. Both were a fiasco. :oops: First everything sounded fine and temperatures were low as I got a new SLK-800 for cpu. Only a bit odd thing was a new whining sound from PSU. Problem with Barracuda maybe?

Then after a few hours I noticed that the cpu temp was 60 C again! :evil: SLK-800 :evil:. I opened the case and Zalman was almost too hot to touch and Barracuda was also very warm. / I closed every little hole on the case with painters tape except the 10cm x 4 cm filtered hole in front of the Cuda. / I wonder if it had the bad effect on temps or what.

Now I'm back to using the Asus' own cooler and the Cuda is back in the hdd-frame.

That's all folks! :wink:

Post Reply