what are all these screws for?

Enclosures and acoustic damping to help quiet them.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Devonavar

pepsi_max2k

what are all these screws for?

Post by pepsi_max2k » Sat Sep 02, 2006 4:57 am

ok just wanted to double check this with people who'd know because i've never done a whole pc from scratch before...

just got an antec slk3000b. very impressed with how many little screws are provided. not quite so impressed with my knowledge of what they're all used for. see pic:

clockwise from bottom left:

1. twenty four big flat headed philips head things with the screw grooves only going half way up. this one's kinda obvious with the included rubber grommets, as nothing else will fit through the grommets and have anything left out the other side. so these are probably hard drive ones. i did think maybe mobo ones with the things screwing right into the standoffs and the motherboard resting on the un-groved part, but i dunno.

2. twenty small philips head screws with smaller groove than the rest and a flat bit around the edges. from previous experience i'm guessing these are 5.25" drive screws, they look exactly the same as the ones i get with optical drives and they dont fit the standoffs.

3. eigth chunky philips head with hexagon sides and a groved underside. same as case screws, which i'm guessing these are, possibly intended for psu use & spares for case, but they also look the same as pci bracket screws and there's not enough for much of both.

4. eight screws with philips & slotted groves, short and rounded around the top. as they fit the standoffs and don't look like any other screws i have, then i'm guessing that's where they go, except there's not enough to fit all the standoffs .

5. in the center, mobo standoffs. i think i left one off the plate when i took the pic too, so there should be eleven. sure you're much happier now you know that :shock: