AOpen H360 as HTPC (client for media server)

Enclosures and acoustic damping to help quiet them.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Devonavar

plind

AOpen H360 as HTPC (client for media server)

Post by plind » Thu Oct 18, 2007 5:10 am

Hi,

My intention is to build a simple client computer for a media server. The client computer just needs to play everything on the media server and needs no dvd player of its own or anything. I want to base the client on an AMD 690G board and I want to place it on the ground, preferably vertically. It seems that the AOpen H360 series is perfect for this (I'm looking at the quite stylish H360C (judging from the photo's)).

Does anyone have experience with this case? Especially with the noise level and thermal properties? Could you please share your experiences?

Thanks!

Pascal.

deebass
Patron of SPCR

Post by deebass » Thu Oct 18, 2007 6:00 am

I've been using several Aopen H3xx cases for the last 6 years.

I think they're the best bang for the buck you can buy at this size. They are made of 1,0mm steel (although small, they feel heavy) and they come with good quality Fortron PSUs (I think somehow Aopen and Fortron belong to the same group) with temperature controlled fan (Fortron/Aopen calls it "Super Noise Killer")

The problem is that you can't hardly add any fan besides PSU and CPU fans (There's only an option for a 50mm mini-blower on the H360), but if room temperature is low and you use low power devices, you can have a quite quiet setup.

Try to get a unit with 300W PSU. This PSU usually has a 92mm fan (the standard PSU fan is 8cm) that should push more CFMs with less noise, although most noise in these cases is turbulence due to airflow passing thorough small holes everywhere.

So buy it, pick up an EE Athlon 64 and a "cool" harddrive (or put it suspended in 5,25'' bays) and you'll have a cheap setup with a very good compromise between quality, noise and performance.