Antec sonata III or Antec sonata Designer

Enclosures and acoustic damping to help quiet them.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Devonavar

kattskralle

Antec sonata III or Antec sonata Designer

Post by kattskralle » Thu Nov 01, 2007 11:54 am

Hi!

I'm new to this forum aswell to building silent rigs.

I'm looking for some first hand experience in choosing the right case. My goal is to get a really quiet case with the least amount of money (i'm a student). Since i'm going to record music it's vital for me to have a quiet computer.
I've narrowed my choices down to Antec sonata 3 or the Sonata designer. The sonata plus is considered too but it's harder to get and a bit more expensive.

Have anyone of you guys tried both out or just one of them and can tell me what the sound level is? (The product information can sometimes be decieving, like the 430W seasonic s12 mark2 i bought which was supposed to be über quiet but sounded like a smaller aeroplane:D.)

Are these cases as quiet as the manufacturers say, or have you got other case ideas?

Thanks!

thejamppa
Location: Missing in Finnish wilderness, howling to moon with wolf brethren and walking with brother bears

Post by thejamppa » Thu Nov 01, 2007 12:08 pm

Sonata Designer. Hands down. Both have same PSU. Designer is former P150 which is far superior to Sonata III in acoustics and in cooling.

ame

Post by ame » Thu Nov 01, 2007 1:51 pm

second that - Designer would be better than III. reasons: Hd mounting and side panel dampening first, looks second, no door third.

NeilBlanchard

Post by NeilBlanchard » Thu Nov 01, 2007 3:43 pm

Welcome to SPCR!

The "Designer" case is the better, for all the reasons already given.

dragmor

Post by dragmor » Thu Nov 01, 2007 4:00 pm

I just built a PC in a Sonata III for a friend. The case itself is ok, but it does let alot of sound out and the powersupply is loud (well for SPCR standards).

Das_Saunamies
*Lifetime Patron*