My new Antec P182 case hums. Is this normal?

Enclosures and acoustic damping to help quiet them.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Devonavar

danielG

My new Antec P182 case hums. Is this normal?

Post by danielG » Thu Jul 17, 2008 3:51 pm

Hi. Following advice on SPCR, I bought an Antec P182 case. I just finished building the PC and I am a bit disheartened.

The top fan vibrates the case and the case make a noticeble hum. Is this normal? Did I do something wrong?

I've disconnected the top fan molex and the case no longer hums, but I want my top fan working. Is there something I can do?

Saros

Post by Saros » Thu Jul 17, 2008 7:17 pm

I'm no expert, but perhaps you can try using soft fan mounts, like the Acoustifan ones. Also one edge of the top fan is screwless so you can't do much about that.

Unless you go a bit mod happy and file the fan edge down, and use some kind of anti-vibration strips.

Or you can just not use the fan altogether, it really makes little difference if you cover it up.

jhhoffma

Post by jhhoffma » Thu Jul 17, 2008 7:26 pm

Look around your home for some small pieces of foam (relatively thin) and put them in between the fan and the case panel. That's a simple and cheap way of reducing vibration.

Luminair

Post by Luminair » Fri Jul 18, 2008 6:07 am

Do you mean the top panel vibrates, or something else?

One disadvantage of the p180 is that the top panel is prone to noisy vibration if you attach something to it that vibrates a lot. Like a fast fan or some hard drives in the 5.25" bays.

I think this is partly because the top panel is made up of a plastic panel with adhesive, attached to a metal panel... and the panels warp and the adhesive doesn't hold them together, letting one or the other vibrate.

The solution is to either decouple the vibration source from the panel, or apply weight and/or compression to the panel so it stops vibrating.