motherboards and case fit (antec p150)

Enclosures and acoustic damping to help quiet them.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Devonavar

studio32

motherboards and case fit (antec p150)

Post by studio32 » Tue Nov 19, 2013 12:50 am

Hi,

Newbie here. I want to go the cheap way and buy a 2nd hand computer and also a case, I was thinking about the antec p150 I.
Now I'm wondering whether the hardware of that computer would fit in the case. How do you choose a motherboard for a case, or does all motherboards with the right size fits? How future proof is such a p150 case when it comes to usb ports etc.?

thx

khaakon

Re: motherboards and case fit (antec p150)

Post by khaakon » Tue Nov 19, 2013 8:24 am

Hi, and welcome. It is a brilliant idea to buy second hand to save money, as the performance strides in the PC industry hasn't been that great the last 3 years or so. Surely you can get good performing HW for less money than new stuff (save your money for good monitor/mouse/keyboard, one of my personal hangups :wink: ) As long as you don't get burned and end up with stuff that fails and is hard to return, sorry I don't mean to scare you. Maybe you even find used SSD's worth a look.

A PC case wouldn't be in much danger to fail, though - and the P150 can be a good home for a silent computer (think good fans, sound dampening mats like http://www.scan.co.uk/products/acoustip ... terial-kit, and else the right HW for your needs). The Antec P150 will fit most any motherboard (standard ATX and smaller) and PSU, I think it is sold with 430W PSU. http://www.antec.com/specs/P150_spe.html. It does not come with USB3 ports so that you would have to fit yourself.

Good luck :) *edit; be careful if you add sound dampening mats as it will make your temps go up.

khaakon

Post by khaakon » Tue Nov 19, 2013 8:37 am