Anyone Folding With One Of These

A forum just for SPCR's folding team... by request.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
unregistered
Posts: 542
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 5:54 pm

Anyone Folding With One Of These

Post by unregistered » Sat Jul 23, 2005 5:13 pm

I want one bad. I always wanted a dually and here is another option.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6819103544

If anyone has, or has heard of someone folding with one of these, see if you can find out what their PPD and PPW are.

I noticed that the voltage is 1.35-1.4 unlike the FX cores and more like the venice and san diego cores, so I am guessing that it would be easier to cool.
Still wondering what the wattage draw is. Anyone know :?:

It is out of stock, so it must be selling.

I might have to wait for it to come down in price a bit too :!: :evil:


EDIT: I found this thread http://forums.silentpcreview.com/viewtopic.php?t=23583 on a 4600, interesting 8) , Now I need to find out how it folds. Maybe I'll PM and see if he can "test fold" a few WU's :idea:

tomcat
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 12:37 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by tomcat » Sun Jul 24, 2005 12:37 pm

i got the X2 4600+ a few days ago and it's folding right now .. although still one one core so far.

Markus

StarfishChris
Posts: 968
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:13 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
Contact:

Post by StarfishChris » Sun Jul 24, 2005 1:15 pm

My first thought is "isn't two separate processors cheaper?" I'm not in the loop as far as dual-core is concerned but... ;p
It's coming back

frostedflakes
Posts: 1608
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 4:02 pm
Location: United States

Post by frostedflakes » Tue Jul 26, 2005 8:54 am

I don't see any reason why it would be just as good as two 4000+ (2.4GHz 1MB). You might see a slight performance hit because the processors have to share the same busses, but I doubt it would hurt much.

Dual 4000+ would probably be cheaper than a 4800+, but unfortunately, there aren't any dual Athlon64 boards available, and there probably won't ever be. Your only option for a K8 dualie would be Opteron, which would surely be more expensive, because the processors themselves cost more (even though there's really no difference, you're paying for "reliability" of a server chip), and you'd need to purchase registered DDR memory to use with it.
Corsair Obsidian 650D | Seasonic X-650 | Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 | Phenom II X4 955 | Noctua NH-D14 | 2x4GB Corsair DDR3-1600 | ASUS HD6950 DirectCU II 2GB | OCZ Vertex 2 120GB | 2x WD Green 1TB

teknerd
Posts: 378
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 5:33 pm

Post by teknerd » Tue Jul 26, 2005 9:01 am

part of the appeal of dual core processors is because of how you can get a dual processor machine for a much lower price.
normally for a dual processor setup you would have to get two-way capable opterons, plus a dual socket board (which is usually at least $350 for an entry-level one), plus registered memory (which is at least 50% more expensive, sometimes 2x as much).
With a dual core chip, you can use consumer motherboards and RAM to save money.
[img]http://tinyurl.com/rqlff[/img]
[size=75]Main Rig: X2-4200+ | XP-120 | A8N-SLI Premium | 2GB RAM | XFX 6600GT w/VF700 | 74GB Raptor & 320GB 3200JD | P180 | SmartPower II 500W | 2x Dell 1704FPV (Digital)
Media Center: Athlon XP-M 2500+ @ 2.2GHz | ALX800 w/92mm Panaflo | 1GB RAM | 40GB WD | SLK3000B | Modulated, Fan-Swapped 380S PSU
[/size]

Straker
Posts: 657
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: AB, Canada
Contact:

Post by Straker » Thu Aug 04, 2005 5:42 pm

tomcat wrote:i got the X2 4600+ a few days ago and it's folding right now .. although still one one core so far.

Markus
not sure exactly what you're saying - were you expecting it to use both by itself or something, and it's only using one? try running two copies. would be prudent to duplicate the folder first, basically follow whatever directions they give for dual CPU systems. not sure how Windows handles it but Linux used to just show two processes both using 100% CPU if you were doing something like folding on a dual CPU machine.

AZBrandon
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 867
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 5:47 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Post by AZBrandon » Fri Aug 12, 2005 1:59 pm

So has anyone actually done folding on an x2 processor yet and benchmarked the performance increase versus one instance? Like in terms of average points per day for one instance versus two. I know for hyperthreading Intel processors, most folks report about a 15% increase by running two instances. Is the x2 a 40% increase by running two instances instead of one? 80%? 95%?
[size=67]Phenom 1090T / 9800GTX+ / Antec P180 / Seasonic S12-600[/size]

teknerd
Posts: 378
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 5:33 pm

Post by teknerd » Fri Aug 12, 2005 5:53 pm

running an x2 will result in a 100% increase over a single core of the same speed.
unlike hyperthreading which splits threads from a single core, dual core processors are truly two seperate processors. Since FAH is completely processor dependent, putting in the second core doubles performance.
[img]http://tinyurl.com/rqlff[/img]
[size=75]Main Rig: X2-4200+ | XP-120 | A8N-SLI Premium | 2GB RAM | XFX 6600GT w/VF700 | 74GB Raptor & 320GB 3200JD | P180 | SmartPower II 500W | 2x Dell 1704FPV (Digital)
Media Center: Athlon XP-M 2500+ @ 2.2GHz | ALX800 w/92mm Panaflo | 1GB RAM | 40GB WD | SLK3000B | Modulated, Fan-Swapped 380S PSU
[/size]

cotdt
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 3:30 pm

Post by cotdt » Fri Aug 12, 2005 6:13 pm

dualcore is slightly faster than two separate CPUs, because some components are shared.

ckolivas
Posts: 393
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 7:16 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by ckolivas » Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:52 pm

cotdt wrote:dualcore is slightly faster than two separate CPUs, because some components are shared.
hehe and also slightly slower because some components are shared. Depends entirely on workload.

AZBrandon
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 867
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 5:47 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Post by AZBrandon » Sat Aug 13, 2005 10:23 am

I was looking more for someone with real-world test results, not theory. I already know that in theory it's twice as fast, but I've still never seen a multi-threaded benchmark test show more than about a 40% increase. That would imply that adding a second instance of FAH may only result in a 40% increase in PPD, but again, I don't really care about theory, I was hoping someone, somewhere had actually tested it in the real world.
[size=67]Phenom 1090T / 9800GTX+ / Antec P180 / Seasonic S12-600[/size]

teknerd
Posts: 378
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 5:33 pm

Post by teknerd » Sat Aug 13, 2005 3:38 pm

Unlike FAH, other applications are limited by things such as memory bandwith, graphics performance, and disk performance. FAH uses files less than 5MB in size and has no graphics (unless using the GUI version). The only thing that determines performance is CPU speed. Therefore, if you have twice the processors, you have twice the speed.
[img]http://tinyurl.com/rqlff[/img]
[size=75]Main Rig: X2-4200+ | XP-120 | A8N-SLI Premium | 2GB RAM | XFX 6600GT w/VF700 | 74GB Raptor & 320GB 3200JD | P180 | SmartPower II 500W | 2x Dell 1704FPV (Digital)
Media Center: Athlon XP-M 2500+ @ 2.2GHz | ALX800 w/92mm Panaflo | 1GB RAM | 40GB WD | SLK3000B | Modulated, Fan-Swapped 380S PSU
[/size]

tomcat
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 12:37 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by tomcat » Sun Aug 14, 2005 3:43 am

here is some real-world data from my system (X2 4400+)

cpu0: p1149_RIBO_semihelixfrom1140: PPD 253, frame time: 34min 8s
cpu1: p1140_RIBO_FSpeptide_EXT_nospring: PPD 255, frame time: 33min 48s

Markus

unregistered
Posts: 542
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 5:54 pm

Post by unregistered » Tue Aug 16, 2005 12:25 am

Those are some pretty good #s Markus :D


Just wondering, if you have a kill-a-watt or similar type meter, have you checked the power consumption?


Does it run as cool as rumored?

tomcat
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 12:37 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by tomcat » Tue Aug 16, 2005 1:44 pm

i don't have a watt meter ... i don't want to know anyway, my power bill is high enough already :)

it runs pretty cool, vcore is at 1.280v according to cpu-z. the system (cpu, chipset and graphics card) is water cooled with a single 120mm radiator.

cpu temp: 47C
water temp: 35C
case temp: 30C

this with two cores folding 24/7 :)

not bad i think

Markus

davebell1
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 10:39 pm
Contact:

Post by davebell1 » Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:10 pm

Just built a AND64X2 4400+ and just joined folding! Seems to be one processor at about 50% according to task manager in XP. Dave
ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
AMD64X2 4400+
ASUS 128 meg fanless vid card
1 gig Ballstix RAM
Memorex DVD Burner dual layer
Seagate 250 7200.8 SATA
Antec 2650BQE case w/ Nexus 400 PS
Thermalright XP 90 w/Nexus 92mm FAN
LG L1920P

unregistered
Posts: 542
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 5:54 pm

Post by unregistered » Sun Aug 21, 2005 5:55 am

Image to the team :!: :!: davebell1

Image Image

davebell1
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 10:39 pm
Contact:

Post by davebell1 » Sun Aug 21, 2005 7:57 am

WOW, thanks! Nice welcome! Dave
ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
AMD64X2 4400+
ASUS 128 meg fanless vid card
1 gig Ballstix RAM
Memorex DVD Burner dual layer
Seagate 250 7200.8 SATA
Antec 2650BQE case w/ Nexus 400 PS
Thermalright XP 90 w/Nexus 92mm FAN
LG L1920P

Post Reply