Join the SPCR Folding@Home effort

A forum just for SPCR's folding team... by request.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
dgouldin
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 1:31 pm
Location: Denton, TX
Contact:

Post by dgouldin » Fri May 09, 2003 10:18 pm

I just had to make a post about this, and I didn't feel like it was important enough for its own thread: my brother is now folding for SPCR (even though he's not a forum member). Collin_Gouldin is now part of the folding team.

...

Brothers don't shake hands. Brothers gotta fold!
Silence is Gouldin.

rpc180
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 309
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2003 8:01 pm
Location: Washington, DC

Post by rpc180 » Sat May 10, 2003 4:58 am

Woohoo! Milestone! I just hit 1000pts :)
Laptop : Lenovo x120e : AMD e350 : G.Skill 8GB : Intel x25-m SSD
HTPC : Intel E8400 : Gigabyte GA-E7AUM-DS2H : G.Skill 8GB : OCZ Vertex 2 SSD : Ahanix MCE-302 : Sony Bravia KDL-40S2000 : Yahama HTR-5830 5.1
Desktop | VMWare Testlab : Intel Q9550 : Gigabyte GA-EP45T-UD3LR : Mushkin 16GB : XFX HD5850 : RAID1 WD120 Scorpio : Antec Solo : Seasonic X-400 Fanless : 3 x Dell 2007FP S-IPS Eyefinity

fmah
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 399
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 9:32 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Post by fmah » Sat May 10, 2003 7:22 am

We have hit 80!

aristide1
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 4284
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US

Post by aristide1 » Sat May 10, 2003 7:26 am

Folding@Home2 Core Shutdown: FINISHED_UNIT
CoreStatus = 64 (100)
Sending work to server
My first one.

Question, how soon will I be knighted by the Queen?
OK how about how soon will my results get posted?
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.

riffst3r
Posts: 221
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 8:43 am
Contact:

Post by riffst3r » Sat May 10, 2003 8:11 am

rpc180 wrote:Woohoo! Milestone! I just hit 1000pts :)
i beat you to it mwuahahaha :twisted: ,watchout, i'm gunning for ya. :D
[url=http://forums.silentpcreview.com/viewtopic.php?p=17121#17121][img]http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0PADVAtURxRVSQVlAFs285ZenYORuaaSACZNaNxzPz*JXEWqAkkQLwQ1AaRTlwU0VP!abPbjXK1f0jKipyX4LYXM0Wxar!Hyz/sib.jpg?dc=4675427731303618688[/img][/url]

http://www.riffst3r.com

rpc180
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 309
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2003 8:01 pm
Location: Washington, DC

Post by rpc180 » Sat May 10, 2003 10:57 am

I'm checking us all the time, we're within 20 points of each other, so its going to be place swapping unless one of us runs into a low end gromacs or a tinker ... :evil:
Laptop : Lenovo x120e : AMD e350 : G.Skill 8GB : Intel x25-m SSD
HTPC : Intel E8400 : Gigabyte GA-E7AUM-DS2H : G.Skill 8GB : OCZ Vertex 2 SSD : Ahanix MCE-302 : Sony Bravia KDL-40S2000 : Yahama HTR-5830 5.1
Desktop | VMWare Testlab : Intel Q9550 : Gigabyte GA-EP45T-UD3LR : Mushkin 16GB : XFX HD5850 : RAID1 WD120 Scorpio : Antec Solo : Seasonic X-400 Fanless : 3 x Dell 2007FP S-IPS Eyefinity

NeilBlanchard
Moderator
Posts: 7681
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Contact:

I've got a 70.9 point Tinker

Post by NeilBlanchard » Sat May 10, 2003 6:18 pm

Hello:

I've got a Tinker core WU -- 393 p638_L939_K12M-ext -- that is only going to take my #1 Athlon 2100+ (@2gHz = ~2400+) 22 hours! 8)

OTOH, the #2 Athlon ~2400+ has got a 40.6 point Tinker that will take almost the same time...and my Athlon 700 will take about 62 hours to crunch a different 40.6 point Tinker core WU! :?
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/

Athlon Powers
Posts: 376
Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 4:33 pm
Location: Athlonville, My Computer
Contact:

Post by Athlon Powers » Sun May 11, 2003 9:07 am

Im on the team! Ill probably show up when my rig finishes this first WU.
*Official* Court Jester of SPCR
*Unofficial* Friend of The Knights Who Say Ni

NeilBlanchard
Moderator
Posts: 7681
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Contact:

While we are on the subject of firsts

Post by NeilBlanchard » Mon May 12, 2003 7:47 am

Hello:

I've decided to run SuSE 8.2 Pro as the main OS on my second machine, and not only did I get the Linux F@H client running again (easier this time -- I'm learning as I go along!), I also got a monitoring program to work as well. Here is the page where I found the Linux utilities; and they have a very complete set of links for Windows as well:

Folding@Home & Genome@Home utilites

Another very useful place to go for help with Folding@Home is their BBS:

Folding-Community.org

It will look very familiar, as they use the same software as SPRC! :o

I also got the Linux SETI client as well as KSETIwatch running. Linux takes some getting used to, but it also gets more enjoyable as I go along!
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/

aristide1
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 4284
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US

Post by aristide1 » Tue May 13, 2003 6:08 pm

Wow, last I looked we were at 80 now we're at 74. I wonder what other people think.

Out of our way :!:
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.

aristide1
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 4284
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US

Post by aristide1 » Wed May 14, 2003 4:16 am

Well this is an unwelcome surprise. I made 2 upgrades last night. I added another 256MB of RAMM and set it to CAS 2. Then I upgraded myGeForce 2 card to a GeForce FX 5200. After driver installation I noted a longer faster screen refreshes, but a longer boot up time. And now I'm doing a frame in 11 minutes. I have to add I started a new work unit, so I am not sure if this WU is more resource hungry than the last one, or if my video card is more resource hungry.

Have you seen different times for frames with different work units? This WU will take me very long time to finish.
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.

Rusty075
SPCR Reviewer
Posts: 4000
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by Rusty075 » Wed May 14, 2003 6:53 am

Radeonman wrote:Rusty is on my conquest list!

I'll catch him on Mar 31, 2022 at 11:00 PM
Lol. I guess I'd better get cracking now :lol:
[size=75][b]Senior Contributing Writer, SPCR[/b][/size]

aristide1
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 4284
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US

Post by aristide1 » Wed May 14, 2003 7:08 am

I wonder if Radeonman factored in how many upgrades he would need over the next 20 years.
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.

NeilBlanchard
Moderator
Posts: 7681
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Contact:

Yes, different WU's take very different lengths of time...

Post by NeilBlanchard » Wed May 14, 2003 7:16 am

Hello:
aristide1 wrote:Well this is an unwelcome surprise. I made 2 upgrades last night. I added another 256MB of RAMM and set it to CAS 2. Then I upgraded myGeForce 2 card to a GeForce FX 5200. After driver installation I noted a longer faster screen refreshes, but a longer boot up time. And now I'm doing a frame in 11 minutes. I have to add I started a new work unit, so I am not sure if this WU is more resource hungry than the last one, or if my video card is more resource hungry.

Have you seen different times for frames with different work units? This WU will take me very long time to finish.
I don't know about the video card, but yes, different work units take very different amounts of time to complete. They are working on different protein molecules, so there is more or less work to do "folding" them! Even with the same number of frames...

Are you running the graphical version of F@H? Can you suppress all the graphics? If so, I bet that's why the video card affects the speed, and it might mean that the new nVidia driver is not optimized yet.
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/

aristide1
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 4284
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US

Post by aristide1 » Wed May 14, 2003 8:23 am

different work units take very different amounts of time to complete.
That's good to know. Wish I had changed video cards after running my 3rd WU for a while, just to establish a baseline.

Went to NVidia's website and downloaded newer drivers. That didn't help. So I'll wait till this WU is finished and then see how the next one is. The only yucky part is this one will take me almost a whole week.
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.

Wrah
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 316
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2003 1:56 am

Post by Wrah » Wed May 14, 2003 9:05 am

You also get more points for the longer WU's. Unfortunately it's not allways proportional. A WU that takes twice the amount of time won't allways give you twice the amount of points.
You can look up how much points you're gonna got for that WU here.
[size=84]XP 2800@2270mhz+SLK800A+Nexus fan, Aopen 8RDA+@414mhz, Samsung 80gb on foam, XFX6800GT with a Nexus 120mm fan taped onto it, Nexus 4090 PSU, Chieftec Dragon+Nexus fan@1200rpm[/size]

aristide1
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 4284
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US

Post by aristide1 » Wed May 14, 2003 9:15 am

I recently dropped my ram to 2, kicked about 10-20 seconds per frame ... extrapolated, 10 sec * 100 frames (gromacs) = 1000 / 60 = 16.7 minutes speed up. Or 20 secs -> ~30 minutes speed up.
Yeah from my playing around I'm guessing 20-30 second reduction per frame on my PIII, RAM running at 133MHz.
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.

Rusty075
SPCR Reviewer
Posts: 4000
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by Rusty075 » Wed May 14, 2003 10:50 am

aristide1 wrote:I wonder if Radeonman factored in how many upgrades he would need over the next 20 years.
Or how many upgrades I will have over the next 20 years. :lol:

My machine is only 3 months old and I'm starting to get the itch for an upgrade.
[size=75][b]Senior Contributing Writer, SPCR[/b][/size]

wussboy
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 12:34 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Post by wussboy » Wed May 14, 2003 11:54 am

Ha ha ha. That oil thing still makes me chuckle.
Everything is exactly what it seems.

Rusty075
SPCR Reviewer
Posts: 4000
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by Rusty075 » Wed May 14, 2003 1:43 pm

I'm glad you can laugh at my misfortune. :wink:

Radeonman, you just wait until I fire up the 10Ghz, quad processor, Vaseline cooled behemoth I've got planned. Then we'll see who has the last laugh. :P
[size=75][b]Senior Contributing Writer, SPCR[/b][/size]

AndrewC
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2003 7:16 pm
Location: Mobile, AL

Post by AndrewC » Wed May 14, 2003 1:52 pm

From the sound of that I hope you've lost your credit card!:D

Rusty075
SPCR Reviewer
Posts: 4000
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:26 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Post by Rusty075 » Wed May 14, 2003 1:55 pm

Luckily the lack of success (so far) in finding a "real" job after graduation has limited my ability to waste money on any more wacky computer building schemes.


Speaking of which, does anyone know of any architecture firms that are looking to hire an Intern? :wink:
[size=75][b]Senior Contributing Writer, SPCR[/b][/size]

DaShiv
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2003 12:32 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA

Post by DaShiv » Wed May 14, 2003 2:17 pm

Oil, vaseline, this silencing thing is really beginning to sound kinky... :)
[img]http://www.liquidninjas.net/dc/ln_dc_sig.php?xteam=31574&xuser=DaShiv[/img]

Wrah
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 316
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2003 1:56 am

Post by Wrah » Wed May 14, 2003 2:41 pm

Not to mention harddisks wrapped in rubber.
[size=84]XP 2800@2270mhz+SLK800A+Nexus fan, Aopen 8RDA+@414mhz, Samsung 80gb on foam, XFX6800GT with a Nexus 120mm fan taped onto it, Nexus 4090 PSU, Chieftec Dragon+Nexus fan@1200rpm[/size]

wussboy
Posts: 635
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 12:34 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Post by wussboy » Thu May 15, 2003 7:22 pm

:shudder:

So what's with these Knights who so recently said "Ni"? Now they're gonna pass us in July! I'm not encouraging any hackers here to crash their computers, but I do have a $50 bill in an envelope waiting to be addressed to someone...
Everything is exactly what it seems.

riffst3r
Posts: 221
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2003 8:43 am
Contact:

Post by riffst3r » Thu May 15, 2003 8:28 pm

get yourself a 1800+... then add an ecs mobo... then 256mb of ram... then a powersupply... then learn linux and use ltsp.... then do it all over again :D
[url=http://forums.silentpcreview.com/viewtopic.php?p=17121#17121][img]http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0PADVAtURxRVSQVlAFs285ZenYORuaaSACZNaNxzPz*JXEWqAkkQLwQ1AaRTlwU0VP!abPbjXK1f0jKipyX4LYXM0Wxar!Hyz/sib.jpg?dc=4675427731303618688[/img][/url]

http://www.riffst3r.com

DaShiv
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2003 12:32 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA

Post by DaShiv » Thu May 15, 2003 8:31 pm

No Luke! Beware of the Dark Side! Once you start buying more hardware to fold with, there's no turning back... :)
[img]http://www.liquidninjas.net/dc/ln_dc_sig.php?xteam=31574&xuser=DaShiv[/img]

aristide1
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 4284
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US

Post by aristide1 » Fri May 16, 2003 5:07 am

I feel the Dark Side tempting me as we speak.
What to do?
:?
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.

Post Reply