New here, but not a newbie, looking for suggestions.

New to PC silencing? Read & post your questions here. Dedicated to rosy_toes.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Kaishi

New here, but not a newbie, looking for suggestions.

Post by Kaishi » Thu Jul 31, 2008 11:30 am

Hey all. I'm new to SPCR. I'm an IT Pro by trade, university student during the year, and passionate computer builder.

I'm looking for some advice on my current build. Here's what I'm using:

Gigabyte GA-EP45-DQ6
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 2.66GHz (333x8)
4GB (2x2) OCZ Reaper DDR2-800 @ 4-4-4-15
Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 4870 512MB @ 790/1100
Western Digital Velociraptor 300GB @ 10kRPM (SATA)
Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB (SATA)
Samsung 22x DVD+/-RW DL (SATA)
LG 16x DVD-ROM (IDE, sadly)
Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion (PCI-E)
Zalman ZM600-HP 600w Modular Power Supply
Antec P182 (using all 3 stock 120mm, added spare thermaltake [ick] 120mm to front-upper bay)

I'm no stranger to reducing noise in a box, and I've done a pretty good job keeping things quiet on this one. I'll post photos tonight to show the wiring job I did (I took my time and did it right rather than rushing it).

I really love all the silicone rubber mounting points used in the P182's design, as well as the general layout. It has made my cabling job very easy, much moreso than other cases I've used for previous builds.

My problems are that the machine is still audible (I'd like to minimize this, that's why I'm here), the GPU runs a little hot (unless I use the .XML hack to crank the fan speed to 30%, which make sit quite audible), and the northbridge seems hot too.