The artificial sweetener war...at Walmart.

Our "pub" where you can post about things completely Off Topic or about non-silent PC issues.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Bluefront
*Lifetime Patron*

The artificial sweetener war...at Walmart.

Post by Bluefront » Sun Jul 01, 2007 1:54 am

I've been using artificial sweeteners of various brands for several years, ever since I contracted Diabetes. I guess I tried every brand I could find (can't drink black coffee). I settled on Splenda......the most expensive, but the one that tastes best. Well the other day at Walmart, I found a new brand......Altern. Suspiciously it is packaged very similar to Splenda, contains the same chemicals, and most of all tastes exactly the same.

No wonder.....it is Splenda. Apparently Walmart is obtaining the stuff from the same plant that makes Splenda, at least at the beginning of this affair. Lately there is speculation Walmart is now getting the stuff from China. Of course there were threats of law-suits flying around, and Altern was removed from Walmart for a while......but now it's back at some stores anyway.

It's worth a try if you use artificial/lo-cal sweeteners. It costs about 1/3 less than Splenda......you can't tell any difference.

One of many Google links

tehfire

Post by tehfire » Sun Jul 01, 2007 6:05 am

Just a question...

I remember the Splenda commercials from a while back. They said that it isn't sugar, but it tastes like sugar because it's made from sugar...WTF?

What's it made out of?

jharne

Post by jharne » Sun Jul 01, 2007 6:27 am

tehfire wrote:Just a question...

I remember the Splenda commercials from a while back. They said that it isn't sugar, but it tastes like sugar because it's made from sugar...WTF?

What's it made out of?
Yeah the sugar industry isn't so happy about that.
http://www.truthaboutsplenda.com/ (FUD warning)
Basically it's a chemical like sugar, but saying it's made from sugar is stretching it a bit.