New RAM?

Our "pub" where you can post about things completely Off Topic or about non-silent PC issues.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
xev
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 9:47 pm
Location: New York

New RAM?

Post by xev » Tue Oct 28, 2008 10:04 pm

I have been getting the urge to get new RAM since the price is ever so low.
I have looked at MB2 's topic and have a similar question.

What is the best kind of ram for me?

p5b deluxe/wifi
intel e6400 (2.72 w. 340 fsb x 8)
ocz plat rev 2 2gb ram. (850 mhz)

I was thinking of simply adding another 2x1 gb sticks and hope that my current ram can oc up to the new speed.

aristide1
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 4284
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US

Post by aristide1 » Wed Oct 29, 2008 3:05 pm

Wow, nobody replied all day? I'm kinda surprise.

In your situation with DDR2 memory you may as well buy DDR2-800 CAS 4. It pretty cheap right now. DDR2-667 makes no sense and you should have no trouble reaching 4300MHz FSB.

Some might suggest DDR2-1066, but really once you're running 1:1 FSB:DRAM you won't see much of an increase with faster memory.

If you insist on spending extra get 2-2GB sticks, then you can run really memory hungry apps easy.

I'd get Patriot, Corsair, or Mushkin, no experience with OCZ.

If you go to the Asus website and check the memory compatibility list you will most likely see certain brans present all the time, and certain ones missing all the time, FWIW.
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.

xev
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 9:47 pm
Location: New York

Post by xev » Sat Nov 01, 2008 5:21 pm

I didnt find anything on the asus site that has compatible ram. As you mentioned i want to get a 1:1 outcome. But since I currently have my cpu oc'd and plan on increasing it to approximately 3.0 ghz, I think I will need ram that can handle a slight oc as well.

My thoughts are to make the fsb around 430 and set the multiplier to 7. This would give me 3.01 ghz cpu and ram PC2 860.

As for ram settings, I'm hoping for at least 4-4-4-12 at a max of 2.1 V.

Another possibility is use a fsb of 375 and multiplier of 8. This would give a 1:2 ratio. However I don't know what the increase in performance would be with a lower fsb and higher ram speed.

I'm pretty sure that my current (OCZ platinum rev 2) can handle it. But would like something

aristide1
*Lifetime Patron*
Posts: 4284
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 6:21 pm
Location: Undisclosed but sober in US

Post by aristide1 » Sun Nov 02, 2008 5:45 pm

If your RAM is 4-4-4-12 DDR2-800 and plan on taking it to 860 I would set it to 5-5-5-15. Honestly you won't feel any difference. But there's no reason you can't do 400MHz * 8 anyways for 3.2GHz.
People who put money and political ideology ahead of truth and ethics are neither patriots nor human beings.

Post Reply