Enabling Temp Sensor on 6600GT

They make noise, too.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
seangoesbonk
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 10:46 am
Location: Vancouver, BC.

Enabling Temp Sensor on 6600GT

Post by seangoesbonk » Sun Apr 03, 2005 9:49 pm

I came across this on another forum and thought it might be of interest. (I know Edward Ng doesn't like that his MSI doesn't report temps)

According to the article, it works on:
"Apollo, AOpen, Albatron, Asus, BFG, Club3D, eVGA, Galaxy, Gigabyte, Inno3D, Leadtek, MSI, Palit, PNY, Rosewill, Sparkle, and XFX"

It involves a BIOS mod, so it is not for the faint of heart, although it appears fairly simple...

http://www.ocia.net/articles/tempmonitoring/page1.shtml

HolyBastard
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 1:57 pm
Location: US

Post by HolyBastard » Sat Apr 09, 2005 5:40 pm

This site has all the Bios or close to for most card. It also has a tool called Nibitorv that can modify the bios for you.

http://www.mvktech.net

Thunder
Posts: 168
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 5:06 pm
Location: Bay Area Ca.

Post by Thunder » Sat Apr 09, 2005 7:19 pm

My MSI 6600GT shows temps, I guess not all do then, strange.

HolyBastard
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 1:57 pm
Location: US

Post by HolyBastard » Sun Apr 10, 2005 12:26 pm

seems like older bios had Temperator monitor enabled but newer ones have it disabled. Or something like that. They didn't wanted ppl overclocking too much I guess

Edward Ng
SPCR Reviewer
Posts: 2696
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 9:53 pm
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Contact:

Post by Edward Ng » Sun Apr 10, 2005 6:52 pm

This is most interesting...

Later on when I get the opportunity to set up a floppy disk drive on my machine, I will give this a go.

-Ed
[size=75][b]Contributing Writer, SPCR
[url=http://www.ngtechnik.com/]NgTechnik[/url][/b]
[url=http://forums.silentpcreview.com/viewtopic.php?t=6134]Want something reviewed? Help us get samples![/url]
[url=http://www.silentpcreview.com/article98-page1.html]Donate for Patron or Friend Status![/url][/size]

meglamaniac
Posts: 380
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: UK

Post by meglamaniac » Tue Apr 12, 2005 12:11 am

It still beats me why they'd disable it in the first place.
What possible purpose does it serve?

Oh well...

RedSnapper
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2005 4:01 pm
Location: UK

Post by RedSnapper » Tue Apr 12, 2005 4:25 am

In case anyone is interested, 6600gt Silentpipe has a flashing utility supplied with it. There's BIOS's available from the gigabyte website to download. Apparently, the F3 version has no temp monitor, but the older F2 has. :)

Haven't tried it yet, as my card seems to have developed a fault :evil: . Anyone experienced purple banding on the BIOS post screen before?

Lwood
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2003 12:17 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Post by Lwood » Thu Apr 14, 2005 1:17 pm

I can confirm that this works. I have the same card as Ed, the MSI nx6600gt-vtd128, and I followed the instructions given in the first post.

Image

HolyBastard
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2005 1:57 pm
Location: US

Post by HolyBastard » Fri Apr 15, 2005 11:33 am

do you use any sort of fan control program to regulate your fan speed?

m0002a
Posts: 2831
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 2:12 am
Location: USA

Post by m0002a » Fri Apr 15, 2005 1:07 pm

My Leadtek 6600GT PCI-e shows the temps out of the box.

jmatucd
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 10:22 pm
Location: Davis, CA

Post by jmatucd » Fri Apr 15, 2005 1:14 pm

my msi 6600gt PCIE shows it with no problems (even in linux :) ) And w/ normal usage it is at ~30 -> 34 degrees... usually one degree below ambient in the case .. or so it claims (btw I have the NV silencer 6 rev2)

Post Reply