'Infamous' nv4_disp.dll problem

They make noise, too.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Anodyne

'Infamous' nv4_disp.dll problem

Post by Anodyne » Sat Jan 13, 2007 5:53 am

This post doesn't really have any bearing on 'silence', but this is the only website forum I belong to, and I know there are lots of smart folks here :wink: ...

Recently I began experiencing some strange bootup problems; occasionally my computer would boot to the Windows splash screen but when actually loading the desktop it would reboot. Following some advice from a helpful SPCR'r, I changed my settings so I could read the bluescreen. This told me that the problem was caused by an 'infinite loop' related to 'nv4_disp.dll'. A little Googling told me that this is an infamous problem with nVidia drivers, although I have never experienced it before. I have been using nVidia cards for about 6 years now and never seen it until now. In fact I have been using my current card for over 2 years and not seen it before.

Well, I have followed some of the advice I found using Google but the problem still occurs (intermittently). Things I tried included uinstalling nVidia drivers, installing the latest drivers, installing older drivers, and adjusting the video BIOS settings. The problem does not occur all the time - I haven't been able to see a pattern. I am now seeing another problem as well; occasionally the mouse cursor 'freezes' on screen...the mouse still works, but I have to 'guess' where the actual pointer is at because the arrow stops moving.

Does anyone have any experience with this? Hints? Advice? Should I just buy an ATI card to sidestep the issue?

Thanks!

mentawl

Post by mentawl » Sat Jan 13, 2007 5:56 am