4770 worth waiting for?

They make noise, too.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

silo
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 3:16 am
Location: HOME

Post by silo » Thu May 28, 2009 6:38 pm

~El~Jefe~ wrote:
Mats wrote:What a great thread! doveman must be very grateful for all these replies.
For those who doesn't know what Mitsubishi Electric does can have a look over here, we're not talking about cars here... :lol:

Oh and if anyone feels like giving me a reply, please don't edit quotes from me, and dont use the word SHIT.
nice right?

My monitor has less than 1 frame of input lag which is imperceptable.

Image



yes, I do have that monitor in my basement. It awaits someone who has enough room and not enough cash for a decent monitor. It weighs over 50 lbs though. this one is like 15 lbs, almost all from the base weight.

yes, yes, yes, is so thin light, and energy efficient. oh marvelous! o what a space saver! lol do you live in japan? i dont i carry my monitor most of the time, so your point is kinda useless. and what about the image quality @ moving images ? ... ehhh no big deal just a bit of motion blur, ghosting, lag, and shit response time, ideal for those fast paced games i like so much!


you can also get an LG pva monitor that has about 1.x frame of lag, which is also imperceptable. that runs about 450 dollars.
oh, Mitsubishi? best AC evar! i got 1 in my house , nice and quiet ( not the quietest, the fujitsu on my room is even quieter) [/img]

edit, i didn't mean to offend your sensibilities- anonymous user-
so please no more naughty pics on my door, i get the message, LCD IS GREAT. you are rigth, im wrong. ENJOY IT and please excuse me for my rudeness and ignorance. @ runs

~El~Jefe~
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 2887
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 4:21 pm
Location: New York City zzzz
Contact:

Post by ~El~Jefe~ » Fri May 29, 2009 9:41 am

I am throwing the mitsubishi 2070sb in the garbage

no joke.

I was thinking about it for a long time as it was a nice monitor but it's heavy to carry on a train.

Now I will feel joyful in the act knowing that you think it's grand and majestic. It's supposed to rain too so no freebies for anyone.

(too bad you aren't outside my 5th floor apartment right now, I would throw it to you. Then it's goodness would be put to some use.)

silo
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 3:16 am
Location: HOME

Post by silo » Fri May 29, 2009 10:01 am

man you are such a badass! im actually impressed by your macho attitude, yes throw away your logic as well, and please take a picture of the busted crt, so i can laugh at your... how to put it kindly, "unique judgement" (no emoticon available to express the feeling)

edit, max res of 1600 x 1200? your crt was kinda lame, no wonder you have such a low opinion about it. this is what mine does, btw ( all3 of them)

Image

fanerman91
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 12:41 pm
Location: Yonder

Post by fanerman91 » Fri May 29, 2009 1:57 pm

Oh. I think I'm in the wrong forum. I was looking for info about the ATI 4770 video card (for computers) and it looks like I ended up in the "Get In Stupid Arguments Over Nothing" forum. My bad.

thepwner
Posts: 175
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 12:19 pm
Location: US

Post by thepwner » Fri May 29, 2009 2:11 pm

fanerman91 wrote:Oh. I think I'm in the wrong forum. I was looking for info about the ATI 4770 video card (for computers) and it looks like I ended up in the "Get In Stupid Arguments Over Nothing" forum. My bad.
Dude I hate those threads...

silo
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 3:16 am
Location: HOME

Post by silo » Fri May 29, 2009 4:05 pm

fanerman91 wrote:Image
well i think i made a lot of post regarding my 4770, hell i even took a few pictures of it in another thread, you might find that info useful, or not. you can also complain a little more, thats fine 2.

edit. here, enjoy

viewtopic.php?t=51843&postdays=0&postor ... &start=210

NeilBlanchard
Moderator
Posts: 7681
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:11 pm
Location: Maynard, MA, Eaarth
Contact:

Post by NeilBlanchard » Fri May 29, 2009 5:11 pm

Stay on topic, please -- and we're all adults here (more or less).

[/moderator's hat]
Sincerely, Neil
http://neilblanchard.blogspot.com/

alecmg
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 5:56 am
Location: Estonia

Post by alecmg » Wed Jun 03, 2009 2:50 am

http://www.matbe.com/actualites/67941/g ... 477sl-1gi/
Gigabyte releases passive 4770

Crossing fingers so that it is optimized in power also
[size=75]#6) Plug in one device at a time, stick your fingers in your ears, close your eyes, and hit the power switch with a toe[/size]

CA_Steve
Moderator
Posts: 7452
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Location: St. Louis, MO

Post by CA_Steve » Wed Jun 03, 2009 6:36 am

alecmg wrote:http://www.matbe.com/actualites/67941/g ... 477sl-1gi/
Gigabyte releases passive 4770
"Gigabyte also has a Radeon HD 4770 with this passive system is also with 1024 MB of memory but of GDDR5 on type 128-bit bus." (via google translater).

Great to see a passive solution. That's a lot of memory for that narrow memory bus...it'll be interesting to see it work.
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, Asrock Z97 Anniversary, MSI GTX 1660 Gaming X, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB, Crucial MX100 256GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic SSR-550FX. 35W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)

Ch0z3n
Posts: 400
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:48 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Post by Ch0z3n » Wed Jun 03, 2009 8:31 am

Ok, seriously... Unless I have missed something somewhere;

at the same frequency, 128bit gddr5 = 256bit gddr3.

Why does everyone keep complaining about the 128bit memory interface? That is like complaining that I gave you 10 dimes instead of 20 nickles.

Anyway, I got tired of playing the waiting game and picked up the MSI 4830 with the 4+1 phase power for $69.99 AR. From what I hear, it is more efficient than the 2+1 phase power ones (almost all of them).

I waited for 2 months for the 4770 to come out; then I waited another month for non-reference cards to come out even though they were supposed to be out half a month ago. Reports are now surfacing from Computex about various non-reference 4770s but we don't really have any idea when they will start selling.

I guess I just got tired of waiting for TSMC to fix the problem with the 40nm fab that is slowing everything down. I just said 'screw it, if I keep waiting for the "perfect card" to come out, I will never buy anything.'

If that perfect card does come out soon then I might just have to bite the bullet and buy it and sell whatever I have. I just decided to cross that bridge when I got to it.
[size=75]Main Rig: [color=blue]Athlon II X4 620 @ 3ghz, w/ Ninja Mini, MSI R4830-T2D512, GA-MA78GM-S2HP, 4x2GB DDR2 800, WD5000AACS, 120mm S-Flex 1,200rpm & 800rpm, TV Wonder 650, Signature 650, NSK2400[/color]
Laptop: [color=green]Asus UL80VT-A1[/color]
[/size]

thepwner
Posts: 175
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 12:19 pm
Location: US

Post by thepwner » Wed Jun 03, 2009 9:00 am

Ya if you always wait for something better...in terms of technology...you'll be waiting till you die...

Ch0z3n
Posts: 400
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:48 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Post by Ch0z3n » Wed Jun 03, 2009 9:06 am

Pretty much; especially since I tinker all the time anyway. I've sold 2 computers in the last year or so, to friends, so it isn't entirely outside the realm of possibility that I won't even have this computer next year.
[size=75]Main Rig: [color=blue]Athlon II X4 620 @ 3ghz, w/ Ninja Mini, MSI R4830-T2D512, GA-MA78GM-S2HP, 4x2GB DDR2 800, WD5000AACS, 120mm S-Flex 1,200rpm & 800rpm, TV Wonder 650, Signature 650, NSK2400[/color]
Laptop: [color=green]Asus UL80VT-A1[/color]
[/size]

sampo
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 1:56 am
Location: Finland

Post by sampo » Wed Jun 03, 2009 11:32 am


Ch0z3n
Posts: 400
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:48 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Post by Ch0z3n » Wed Jun 03, 2009 12:13 pm

Right, but when will they be available?
[size=75]Main Rig: [color=blue]Athlon II X4 620 @ 3ghz, w/ Ninja Mini, MSI R4830-T2D512, GA-MA78GM-S2HP, 4x2GB DDR2 800, WD5000AACS, 120mm S-Flex 1,200rpm & 800rpm, TV Wonder 650, Signature 650, NSK2400[/color]
Laptop: [color=green]Asus UL80VT-A1[/color]
[/size]

yensteel
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 5:58 am
Location: Hong Kong

Post by yensteel » Wed Jun 03, 2009 6:05 pm

Edit: nvm. Somebody posted about the Gigabyte Silentcell earlier than me.

quest_for_silence
Posts: 5275
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:12 am
Location: ITALY

Post by quest_for_silence » Mon Jun 08, 2009 1:35 pm

Are you waiting for what? :lol:

http://vr-zone.com/articles/amd-plans-p ... l?doc=7173

Regards,
Luca

Mats
Posts: 3044
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 6:54 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Mats » Mon Jun 08, 2009 4:03 pm

Ch0z3n wrote:Ok, seriously... Unless I have missed something somewhere;

at the same frequency, 128bit gddr5 = 256bit gddr3.

Why does everyone keep complaining about the 128bit memory interface? That is like complaining that I gave you 10 dimes instead of 20 nickles.
I think it's valid for 512 MB, but is it the same with 1024 MB?

Ch0z3n
Posts: 400
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:48 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Post by Ch0z3n » Mon Jun 08, 2009 4:51 pm

Why would it be any different? Are 1gb video cards 512 bit memory interface?
[size=75]Main Rig: [color=blue]Athlon II X4 620 @ 3ghz, w/ Ninja Mini, MSI R4830-T2D512, GA-MA78GM-S2HP, 4x2GB DDR2 800, WD5000AACS, 120mm S-Flex 1,200rpm & 800rpm, TV Wonder 650, Signature 650, NSK2400[/color]
Laptop: [color=green]Asus UL80VT-A1[/color]
[/size]

Mats
Posts: 3044
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 6:54 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Mats » Mon Jun 08, 2009 5:22 pm

Ch0z3n wrote:Why would it be any different?
For the same reason 128 bit isn't enough for 512 MB GDDR3, it becomes a bottleneck. It exists, but it's not a good combination.
Ch0z3n wrote:Are 1gb video cards 512 bit memory interface?
No, the 1 GB 4870/4890 have a 256 bit GDDR5 interface, twice as much as the card we're talking about. Don't know where you get the 512 bit figure from, four times more than 128.

Ch0z3n
Posts: 400
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 5:48 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Post by Ch0z3n » Mon Jun 08, 2009 7:11 pm

As far as I know, the memory capacity has no effect on the memory interface...

512mb 900mhz 256bit gddr3 = 512mb 900mhz 128bit gddr5
1024mb 900mhz 256bit gddr3 = 1024mb 900mhz 128bit gddr5

512mb 900mhz 512bit gddr3 = 512mb 900mhz 256bit gddr5
512mb 1800mhz 256bit gddr3 = 512mb 900mhz 256bit gddr5
[size=75]Main Rig: [color=blue]Athlon II X4 620 @ 3ghz, w/ Ninja Mini, MSI R4830-T2D512, GA-MA78GM-S2HP, 4x2GB DDR2 800, WD5000AACS, 120mm S-Flex 1,200rpm & 800rpm, TV Wonder 650, Signature 650, NSK2400[/color]
Laptop: [color=green]Asus UL80VT-A1[/color]
[/size]

grandpatzer
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 3:22 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by grandpatzer » Wed Sep 23, 2009 11:25 am

so for a C2D at 2.7ghz is there any difference between 4770 and 4870?

4770 is obviously nice choise but since this would be gaming rig I might aswell go for the 4870.

I'm pretty sure 4890 is bottlenecking(?) also I almost never play so I guess it'sn not justified to buy a 4890, 4870 at most.

Post Reply