5770 Accelero S2 Fits?

They make noise, too.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
Mankey
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 4:39 pm

5770 Accelero S2 Fits?

Post by Mankey » Thu Nov 19, 2009 11:13 am


JamieG
Posts: 822
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Post by JamieG » Thu Nov 19, 2009 2:30 pm

Based purely on the pics of the card and the location of the GPU itself on that card, it looks like you would have difficulties fitting the Accelero S2 on, at least without modifying the S2 by cutting or bending some fins.

This doesn't take into account whether the Accelero S2 has the correctly spaced mounting holes. (FWIW, from memory the S1 has wider compatibility, but does not appear to be officially compatible any 5xxx series cards, although I believe some users on the forums here have tried and found it works with a little bit of modding).

cb95014
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 9:39 pm
Location: The insane State of California

Post by cb95014 » Thu Nov 19, 2009 9:34 pm

I have not tried an S2 on a 5770. However today I mounted an S1 on a 5770 and then an additional S1 on a 5850.

The 5850 was easy, and the trimming to the cooler was minor. If you are willing to remove the DVI shield, you don't even have to trim the cooler.

The 5770 was a complete PITA and involved major cutting. The problem is that the GPU is much closer to the back panel on the 5770 than on the 5850. Comparing the S1 & S2, it looks like you would need to trim most of the fins between the heat-pipe and the display connectors, although this will still leave *plenty* of surface area to keep a 5770 cool. With the S1, I wound-up removing about half of the fins from the outer heat-pipe and then bending the "naked" copper pipe to clear the DVI connector. This took a lot longer than I expected, and I had to remove the DVI connector shield permanently.

In both cases the final outcome is excellent. The stock cooler on both the 5770 and 5850 is *not* silent at idle, but with the "turbo module" fans mounted (which I can't hear), the S1 keeps both cards under 67C during a Furmark run. Considering that the stock coolers scream like Banshee's under heavy load and temps still push 80C+, an after-market cooler is an excellent upgrade.

vincentfox
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 8:35 pm
Location: CA

Post by vincentfox » Fri Nov 20, 2009 3:56 pm

Can you post some pics of your setup? Very timely thread.

I am trying to decide on 5750 or 5770, and would like to pair whichever one I get with something like the Accelero S1 or S2.

kater
Posts: 891
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 11:20 pm
Location: Poland

Post by kater » Sat Nov 21, 2009 4:17 am

Me too, me too! So far I'm happy with the 4770 but I'm looking at 5770 for my next upgrade - when prices get a little friendlier, that is. And also would like to use my already hacked S1 with the new card.
If you could also measure the position of the GPU and mounting holes that would be v helpful, too.

alecmg
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 5:56 am
Location: Estonia

Post by alecmg » Mon Nov 23, 2009 4:38 am

kater wrote:Me too, me too! So far I'm happy with the 4770 but I'm looking at 5770 for my next upgrade - when prices get a little friendlier, that is. And also would like to use my already hacked S1 with the new card.
If you could also measure the position of the GPU and mounting holes that would be v helpful, too.
I believe GPU on 5770 is located exactly like on 4770 relative to backplate. But double hieght DVI connectors may be an issue

cb95014
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 9:39 pm
Location: The insane State of California

Post by cb95014 » Mon Nov 23, 2009 10:02 am

vincentfox wrote:Can you post some pics of your setup?
I didn't take any photos during assembly, but I will try to post something later today.

dutchie
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 8:36 am

Post by dutchie » Tue Nov 24, 2009 7:02 am

The thermalright HR-03

http://www.thermalright.com/new_a_page/ ... 03reva.htm

is supposed to fit according to their compatibility page.

Not sure how it compares to the Accelero 1 or 2. But it would work quite well for me as you can place it wrapped around the card.

I'm attempting to keep my new system totally passive to use only convection like my previous build, and I think it will help to have the heatsink on the back, as that will be the side facing up in my tower case.

Anyway, I'll let you know how I get on, once the HR-03 arrives.

Cheers,
Dutchie

Mescalero
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:02 am
Location: TU-BS, Germany

Post by Mescalero » Tue Nov 24, 2009 10:25 am

The cheaper Accelero L2 should fit. I read a review on a German website where they did that mod because they were quite unsatisfied with the stock cooler. Can't find the link though, pretty sure I got it from this board though, so maybe if you look at all the 5770 threads you'll find it.

dutchie
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 8:36 am

Post by dutchie » Wed Nov 25, 2009 12:48 am

I found that site with the L2 yesterday. It's here:

http://ht4u.net/reviews/2009/amd_radeon ... index2.php

Not fanless of course 'but should be pretty quiet.

cb95014
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 9:39 pm
Location: The insane State of California

OK, here are some pics.

Post by cb95014 » Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:55 am

I've posted some pics here:
http://picasaweb.google.com/cb95014/HD5 ... directlink

The cooler is a Arctic Cooling "Twin Turbo" which is essentially a short version of the Accelero S1. In retrospect I wish I had used a standard S1, and *particularly* had not tried to retain the fan shroud. But otherwise this works great.

cb95014
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 9:39 pm
Location: The insane State of California

Post by cb95014 » Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:33 am

I've never tried linking directly from Picasa, so here goes...

Image

Image

Image

dutchie
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 8:36 am

Post by dutchie » Thu Nov 26, 2009 2:20 am

Nicely done mod. Have you tried running it without the fans?

cb95014
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 9:39 pm
Location: The insane State of California

Post by cb95014 » Thu Nov 26, 2009 11:03 am

dutchie wrote:Nicely done mod. Have you tried running it without the fans?
Thanks.

Yes, and it definitely will NOT work under load. The turbo module works OK @7V (inaudible by my standards), but requires cool air.

kater
Posts: 891
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 11:20 pm
Location: Poland

Post by kater » Thu Nov 26, 2009 11:20 am

Image

Hmm, it looks to me as if the GPU was really NOT sitting in the same place in 4770 (see pic up) and 5770. Mine's a crappy pic, but you can see that the 1st heatpipe on the left is closer to the I/O end of the card. Unless there are some more differences between AC S1 and TwinTurbo.

I also tried to run the card fanless but would get artifcts and almost no OC. I slapped a 92mm @ 700 rpm on it and all is cool. Strange, cause my previous 8800GT would run totally fanless with the same AC S1, being a more power hungry card. Them Radeons don't seem to like no wind :/

CA_Steve
Moderator
Posts: 7470
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Location: St. Louis, MO

Post by CA_Steve » Mon Nov 30, 2009 8:26 am

Hardware Overclock also has a review on the AC Accelero L2 Pro on a 5770.

alanoo
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 7:26 am
Location: Paris

Post by alanoo » Tue Dec 01, 2009 10:29 pm

Note they officially added the 5770 to the L2 Pro compatibility list

tutu
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 8:26 pm
Location: UK

Post by tutu » Wed Mar 03, 2010 3:23 pm

Anyone know if a Accelero S1 (Rev 2) fits a 5750? I have one at the moment on my 3870 but I would like to upgrade (need 3 monitors, infrequent PC gamer as well).

The Club 3D/PowerColor ones seem to have an S1 but I don't have know if it's been modified. They are not available in the UK still.

bradyapba
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 3:24 pm
Location: USA

Post by bradyapba » Thu Mar 04, 2010 5:16 pm

im not surprised it cooled the GPU well, what about your VRMS? You didnt post any temps, i would be concerned about them.

MoJo
Posts: 773
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 9:20 am
Location: UK

Post by MoJo » Sun Mar 07, 2010 6:42 am

I think a card with a proper baseplate that could be left on might be a better candidate for replacement.

Tzeb
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 4:29 pm

Post by Tzeb » Tue Apr 27, 2010 7:26 am

I just got a 5770 made by club3d - http://www.club3d.nl/products/products_ ... uct_id=234
As you can see in the pics, it doesn't have double height connectors.

I want to put an s1 on it. Do you guys think i could get get away without bending the heatpipe? I guess some fins will have to be trimmed though.

Tzeb
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 4:29 pm

Post by Tzeb » Tue Apr 27, 2010 1:30 pm

Pfff, i was worried for nothing. Just a few small bends and all fits well.
Yate loon connected to a speedfan controlled header, kept at 500 rpm, bliss.

Idle ~37 C, load ~55 C.

Image Image

widdlecat
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 12:35 pm
Location: missouri
Contact:

Post by widdlecat » Tue May 04, 2010 2:05 pm

tutu wrote:Anyone know if a Accelero S1 (Rev 2) fits a 5750? I have one at the moment on my 3870 but I would like to upgrade (need 3 monitors, infrequent PC gamer as well).

The Club 3D/PowerColor ones seem to have an S1 but I don't have know if it's been modified. They are not available in the UK still.
I'm running 2 PowerColor 5750s passively, and the coolers don't seem to be modified in any way. The vidram and power regulators have large heatsinks on them, however.

Post Reply