ferrite chokes on monitor cables....an informal poll

They make noise, too.

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
CA_Steve
Moderator
Posts: 7394
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 4:36 am
Location: Monterey Bay, CA

ferrite chokes on monitor cables....an informal poll

Post by CA_Steve » Mon Nov 12, 2012 1:31 pm

As far back as I can remember, every monitor I've bought has a big honking ferrite choke on at least one end of the video cable. VGA versions as well as DVI. I haven't purchased a monitor in a few years and am wondering: Is this still common for monitors bought today that ship with a DVI cable? What about monitors that ship with a HDMI cable?
1080p Gaming build: i5-4670K, Mugen 4, Asrock Z97 Anniversary, MSI GTX 1660 Gaming X, 8GB 1866 RAM, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB, Crucial MX100 256GB, WD Red 2TB, Samsung DVD burner, Fractal Define R4, Antec True Quiet 140 (2 front + rear) case fans, Seasonic SSR-550FX. 35W idle, 45-55W video streaming, 170-200W WoW, 318W stress test (Prime95 + Furmark)

Support SPCR through these links: Amazon and Newegg

Dirge
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 8:55 pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: ferrite chokes on monitor cables....an informal poll

Post by Dirge » Tue Nov 13, 2012 3:53 am

I cannot answer your question directly, as I haven't purchased a monitor in some time, but you can buy clamp on style ferrite chokes such as the one linked below. However I am not sure if all chokes are made equal and what frequencies they address? Would anyone like to chirp in?

http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/TDK ... TQwUzjNRcm

As for your original question, perhaps you can find visual confirmation by checking reviews and un-boxings of your favourite monitors.

mkk
Posts: 687
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 1:51 pm
Location: Gefle, Sweden
Contact:

Re: ferrite chokes on monitor cables....an informal poll

Post by mkk » Tue Nov 13, 2012 6:33 am

Still common on both DVI and VGA, and with HDMI as far as included cables go. If a cable is included with a monitor they'll want to avoid getting customer complaints in some odd situation. Otherwise there are plenty of non-ferrited HDMI cables out on the market and I haven't seen a problem with them. (I quite like the flat, flexible types myself) Should be mainly an analogue signal thing unless there's unusual interference near where the cable needs to be routed and then the ferrite might not help anyway. But then again I'm certainly no cable guy.

mentawl
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 10:29 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: ferrite chokes on monitor cables....an informal poll

Post by mentawl » Tue Nov 13, 2012 7:08 am

My older DVI cables have chokes, but I've got a coupl've new cables with lower-profile heads (no "box" behind the connector) that do not, and none of my HDMI or DP cables have chokes.
i5 2500k @ 4.5ghz | Asus P8Z68-V | PNY GTX780 | 32gb DDR3 | SSD & HDD| Antec Solo 2
i5 4670k @ 4.3ghz | Asus Z87I-Pro | MSI GTX670 | 8gb DDR3 | SSD & HDD | Cubitek Mini Cube

Cryoburner
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 4:25 am

Re: ferrite chokes on monitor cables....an informal poll

Post by Cryoburner » Thu Dec 13, 2012 11:27 pm

I'm sorry if this is entirely off-topic (it is), but I initially read the title of this topic as "ferret chokes on monitor cables....an informal poll". I thought someone might be seeking medical or legal advice related to an accident involving their pet ferret and and a display device. It was only after clicking through that I realized the error of my ways.

Somewhat back on topic though, aren't these usually called ferrite "cores"? In any case, I have them on my VGA cables and on a DVI-D cable that all came with monitors. My HDMI cables don't have them, nor do my HDMI to DVI cables, and I don't suspect they would make any difference with a digital interface, unless there was some extreme electromagnetic interference, or the cable were extremely long.

edh
Posts: 1617
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: UK

Re: ferrite chokes on monitor cables....an informal poll

Post by edh » Sat Dec 15, 2012 7:20 am

Cryoburner wrote:and I don't suspect they would make any difference with a digital interface, unless there was some extreme electromagnetic interference, or the cable were extremely long.
These points can be issues. Maybe not when you have a 2m cable but having used special gold 25m cables before, it definitely is an issue then.

Ferrites can be bought separately and clipped on the outer of cables if you have problems.
Raijintek Metis: i5-6400, Scythe Ninja 4, Asus Z170i Pro Gaming, 8Gb RAM, GTX 950, Crucial 250Gb M.2, Seasonic X-400

frenchie
Friend of SPCR
Posts: 1346
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 4:53 am
Location: CT

Re: ferrite chokes on monitor cables....an informal poll

Post by frenchie » Mon Dec 17, 2012 5:28 pm

Just saw this thread. On my Samsung TV, the ferrite cores came not attached to the cable, in a separate little bag with instruction on how to attach them.
Main/gamming : Antec Solo|X-650|Asus P5Q-E|Intel [email protected]|HR-01 Plus 120mm Nexus @6V|Corsair 2x2Go XMS2 DHX cas 4 @4-4-4-12|Exhaust Nexus 120mm @9V|Intel X25M G2 160Gb|Samsung 1TB in SQD|2xGigabyte GTS450 OC (@900/1900/3800)|GPU fan 120mm Nexus @6V
HTPC/folder/Storage : Silverstone|E5300 with Samurai-Z|2Go RAM|[email protected]|2x1To WD EARS|Intel X25M G2 80Go

Fold with SPCR

Post Reply