how quiet are water pumps[?]

The alternative to direct air cooling

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

dan

how quiet are water pumps[?]

Post by dan » Fri Nov 06, 2015 7:58 pm

i'm asking as i have no experience but how quiet are water pumps in closed-loop sealed $100 newegg water kits.

what i am wondering is if this makes sense
buy a 65 tdp skylake cpu

then cool it with a standard sealed kit from newegg many to choose from

not use the fans to cool radiator but use the pump to pump the water. water passively cooled through radiator.

how much noise does the pump make? is it failure prone?

how would this compare with a massive heatpipe?

quest_for_silence

Re: how quiet are water pumps

Post by quest_for_silence » Sat Nov 07, 2015 12:16 am

dan wrote:how would this compare with a massive heatpipe?
It is not possible to run a closed loop kit without a fan.

xan_user
*Lifetime Patron*

Post by xan_user » Sat Nov 07, 2015 8:10 am

only a very small amount of SPCR'ers actually run water cooled rigs . if water were better, for silence, most of us would use it.

Abula

Post by Abula » Sat Nov 07, 2015 8:15 am

xan_user wrote:only a very small amount of SPCR'ers actually run water cooled rigs . if water were better, for silence, most of us would use it.
Personally, while i haven't tried to build a custom water loop, i do believe that there is a breaking point, where water will be quieter than air, but it will need to be a high end setup, like dual or triple GPU + 8 core X99, and the user wanting to overclock heavy, these are all things that most here will not peruse, that said i do think there is a breaking point where air will struggle and water will be a better choice noise wise, but for most of us here, that try to build quiet computers, air is superior than water.

CA_Steve

Post by CA_Steve » Sat Nov 07, 2015 8:26 am

You could always build a custom loop and place the radiator far, far away from your ears :)

xan_user