antec sonata setup

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

nina

antec sonata setup

Post by nina » Sun Aug 14, 2005 4:00 pm

Hi,

I'm a newbie, and a girl! I don't think that there are a lot
of girls here..but hi to them all!
I'm a composer, so I need some help on my DAW station.
I already spended two days on reading a lot of posts over here.
To much to read, my eyes hurt.. :)
Anyway first some specs

Antec Sonata 1 case, no mods, standard exhaust fan and psu 380W
Asus P4P800SE motherboard
Intel Prescott P4 3.0Ghz
Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu CPU cooler running on 1864rpm
2X Kingston 1 GB DDR400 RAM, dual channel
2X Apacer 512 MB DDR400 RAM, dual channel
1x Matrox G550 videocard (on 2 19" monitors)
1x Aardvark LX6 Pro audio card
1x Sony DRU-500 DVD writer
HD 1 and 2 - 2x IBM-DTLA-307030 30GB ATA HD's
HD 3 - 1x Maxtor 6Y160M0 160GB SATA HD
HD 4 - 1x Seagate Barracuda ST3160827AS 160 SATA HD
HD1 is in the bottom slot and HD4 in the top one

temps after 30 minute idle
cpu:39°C case:29°C HD1:37°C HD2:37°C HD3:52°C HD4:34°C

stressed
cpu:44°C case:30°C HD1:39°C HD2:39°C HD3:54°C HD4:36°C

Well, if you noticed, my HD temps aren't that great.
Specially the maxtor..I'm concerned about this.
Is this normal, or do I have to return the drive?

So I guess that my air flow sucks..
Would it make any difference if I add another 120mm fan behind
the drives? Or do I have to do some modding?
Like the bezel mod? Or others?
Is the standard PSU of the sonata heavy enough to support
all my gear?
Would it make a big difference if I change the standard exhaust
fan with a Antec Tri-Cool or Nexus?

Yep, a lot of questions. Any comments are welcome..
[/b]

ronrem

Post by ronrem » Mon Aug 15, 2005 12:57 am