Please critique/advise my (newbie) AMD X2 3800+ system

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

barth2k

Please critique/advise my (newbie) AMD X2 3800+ system

Post by barth2k » Sat Nov 26, 2005 2:26 pm

Hi

I'm a newbie building system for programming, web design, video encoding, and gaming. Aiming for a quiet (not necessarily silent) system.

Antec P150 ($160)
or
Sonata II ($100)

AMD X2 3800+ with Arctic silencer64ultraTC

link to silencer
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6835186123

abit an8 ultra nforce4 ($110)
or
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2 uli ($70)

2gb (2x1gb) G.skill extreme series DDR400 (pc3200)cas2

Western Digital 320gb SATA 7200 ($135)
or
Seagate Barracude 250gb SATA ($123)

EVGA 6800GS + Zalman with VF700 (all copper version)

Notes

1) I like the look of the P150 but how is the noise on that? The Sonata is advertised as the quiet case but review here is mixed and I dislike the front of the sonata.

2) Is the artic enough for the X2 3800? I do NOT plan on OCing

3) both mobos above use passive cooling. I'm debating whether the abit performs better with the X2 to justify the extra cost.

4) I think the Barracuda is better noise-wise, but the price per gig is better on the WD. How is the noise on the WD?

5) I *think* the vf700 works with the new 6800GS

thanks for your input

Aris

Post by Aris » Sat Nov 26, 2005 2:49 pm

1. both are quiet cases. one is white, one is black. one has a door cover, one doesnt. one has build in drive suspension, the other doesnt. but otherwise they are very similar, and both would be good quiet cases. i personally like the look of the sonata alot more, but thats just me.