Help with my P4 system - Nearly done!

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

SparkInTheDark

Help with my P4 system - Nearly done!

Post by SparkInTheDark » Sat Feb 04, 2006 2:39 pm

Hi,

This is my first attempt at getting involved with anything inside of my computer! Somehow I have never taken a case apart, until today.

I bought a computer pre-built from someone I knew when they upgraded, and am happy with the performance. I am unhappy with the noise levels though!

OK here goes; I am from the UK. I am currently living in a loft type studio room, so right now it is pretty cool in here, but in summer it gets slightly warmer than average (although this may be irrelevant as I could be moving before summer!).

My computer is in my bedroom, and about 4' from the foot of my bed (so about 10' from my head). I have most of my music collection, and some (ahem) "films" on there. The computer is mainly used for listening to music, watching downloaded stuff, video editing, internet, and a little gaming.

At the moment it is so loud I have to switch off if I am reading or watching TV, and definitely if I want to sleep.

My system:
P4 (Prescott) 3.2Ghz
MSI Motherboard - USB2, Gigabit LAN, 800 MHz FSB, SATA etc
1.5GB RAM (3 x 512MB RAM)
250GB SATA HDD
ATI X800 Pro graphics card
Creative Audigy Platinum sound card
Extra USB2 card
DVD+/- Rewriter
DVD ROM
Floppy
Coolermaster Centurion 2 case with an extra Akasa fan in back and a 500watt PSU

I have read the FAQ, and determined that I have most noise coming from the PSU (very loud), followed by the case fans (particularly front) and the processor. The graphics card isn't really audible over the rest! For now HD noise really isn't an issue.

Reading THIS thread it appears that the PSU I am using is much too powerful, and definitely on the loud side with its 3 fans!