high idle temp on new build. worried newbie here.

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

nickytl

high idle temp on new build. worried newbie here.

Post by nickytl » Thu Apr 13, 2006 9:22 am

Hi.
Hope someone with a bit of experience can advise me here. Ive just put together a pentium d920 with a scythe ninja in a p180 case. The ninja has a fan running on it and both case fans are running on low. I used a rice grain sized amount of arctic silver 5.

In the BIOS it says

processor temp 58 C
internal temp 40C
remote temp 31C

This seems a little high. the temp in the room is about 20C.

Could i have botched the fitting of the heatsink.? This is all new to me and im a bit worried.
Thanks

Aris

Post by Aris » Thu Apr 13, 2006 10:03 am

you may have not used enough thermal paist. a grain of rice is pretty small. i usually put a "small dab", enough so when you put the heatsink, the pressure with squeeze it so it covers most of the cpu heatspreader.

i know the terms are very subjective, but its hard to describe how much to use without actually showing you.

if your really unsure, you can always use the method of putting a thin layer on the top of the CPU, and use a credit card or razor blade or buisness card to smooth it out till you have a very thin layer over the whole thing. this is the "foolproof" way to make sure you have enough, but not too much at the same time. it just takes a little while to do.

also note, most temp sensors on the motherboard are wrong, and some have been recorded to be up to 10c off in either direction.

diver

Post by diver » Thu Apr 13, 2006 10:07 am

Something is not right. It looks like a bad sensor or buggy bios. Does the manufacturer of the MoBo have a support forum? If so, look and see if others have the same broblem.