Help find the ultimate silent PC - money is not an issue

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

haugman

Help find the ultimate silent PC - money is not an issue

Post by haugman » Thu Sep 27, 2007 1:52 pm

Hi,
I am new in the forum and have been cruising around for quite a while trying to get some ideas to what parts I should buy for my new rig. A lot of good inputs, but there are so many good advices that in the end I get lost. I love data, but I majored in Economics and lack a good understanding about bits and bites, hz, overclocking etc.. And I am from Norway (don't know what that tells you..).

My goal is to build a silent pc that I can have for many years (+-5). I do not play games. I will use the PC for video editing, office work, surfing and watch TV on a projector.

When I say money is not an issue, it means that I will not let that stop you from giving me the best advices you got, just because you think it would be too expensive. I will mainly buy the parts in Norway, but if I have to I will order from the states as well (the dollar is cheap at the moment :-))

Oh, also my desk is too small for a 182 case, but the 150 will fit (52 cm height limit)

I hope this is a fun challenge for all you knowledgeable people out there, and if you know of a thread I have missed and should read, please guide me to it.

I am not in a hurry to buy (got a 15 month old son), but hopefully I can get everything ready for the dark months comming shortly.

best regards,
Haugman

Bluefront
*Lifetime Patron*

Post by Bluefront » Thu Sep 27, 2007 3:33 pm