Thoughts on high-end air cooling parts, ~$300-400

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

OtZman

Thoughts on high-end air cooling parts, ~$300-400

Post by OtZman » Fri Sep 12, 2008 6:49 am

First off, I just want to say hi to everyone, this being my first post and all. :). I'm fairly new to SPCR, have been looking around here quite a bit lately for reviews on silent parts.

I bought new computer parts a month or so ago, and eagerly put it together. After the initial adrenaline rush I realized that my new friend was not a very quiet one. Before I go any further, let me post my computer specs:

Motherboard: Asus P5Q Pro Socket 775
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3,0GHz
Graphics card: SAPPHIRE TECHNOLOGY Radeon HD4850 - 512 Mb GDDR3 - PCI-Express 2.0
Memory: Corsair DHX 2x2048MB Kit DDR2 TWIN2X4096-6400C5DHX

I also bought three Noctua NF-R8 (80mm that is) upon recommendation from a friend.

Those are the new parts. Stuff I have from before:

PSU: Corsair HX620W
Hard drives: Three HDDs of varying sizes, one Seagate and two Samsung drives.

I'm running the CPU and graphics card with stock coolers, so I was expecting my computer to generate quite some noise. Good news are that I'm going to fix it, and that I'm willing to spend some money on it. I want my computer to be as quiet as possible, without too much hassle, or having to spend a fortune. I want to be able to run my computer normally to slightly overclocked.

Initially I was considering water cooling, but after discussing this option a bit on another forum I've come to the conclusion that water cooling probably isn't for me. I've no past experience with this cooling method, and I'm not going to heavily overclock my computer.

That leaves me with some form of air cooling. I've come up with the following parts:

Chassis: Antec P182