Sound cards: when and why you need them.

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

LodeHacker

Sound cards: when and why you need them.

Post by LodeHacker » Sat Dec 13, 2008 3:06 pm

Hello!

I'm a long time reader of SPCR, been basing most of my orders on what's reviewed here and have gained a lot of knowledge on PCs and cooling, thanks to SPCR. To make my introduction sweet and short, I'm from the orient, live in Finland and I am a 16-year-old musician. Did I mention I'm very into Linux as well? To show my respect to great guys like MikeC here, I decided to write a small mini-howto to make it easier for everyone to find their very personal solution for audio. All written here is based on my memory and experience over three years with PCs and audio production. A little bit on S/PDIF is also here to feed the brains of the very audiophile types. Enjoy and please give me feedback on this!

Section 1: What the beep is a sound card?

A sound card is an optional audio processing device for PCs. All it does is process audio going in to and out of your system. Most if not all motherboards have a sound card solution onboard already and many recent ones have not-so-bad solutions too. The question is, why should one need a sound card? Well, you sure listen to music or play games and you most likely have a pair of stereo speakers with a subwoofer... Thing is, without a sound card you can't hear any of the exciting and uplifting sounds of your games and music with your cool 2.1 speaker system (that is if you don't go totally hardcore and listen to your music with the PC speaker/beeper). Why am I telling this if you already know the basics? Read on...

Section 2: Do I need a sound card? I have HD Audio onboard already!