64bit or 32bit

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

RoGuE

64bit or 32bit

Post by RoGuE » Tue Sep 29, 2009 8:11 am

hey SPCR,

I find myself in the market for an extremely discounted license of Windows 7 pro (as I am a full time student). My computer specs are listed below. FYI i use my computer for gaming, dabbling with video editing and encoding, and daily use like websurfing, email checking etc.

My question is, should I buy the 64-bit OS? All my gear and periphs are at most a year old, so drivers wouldn't be an issue. I guess my question is, does it make sense to up it to a 64 bit OS to sort of "future proof" my rig for a little longer.

I realize I would have to buy 2 more gigs of ram, but ram is dirt cheap, and I consider myself an end-user. Ultimately, I'm asking this question from a performance stand point. I sure as hell don't want my computer getting any slower when doing stuff like surfing the web.

rpsgc
Friend of SPCR

Post by rpsgc » Tue Sep 29, 2009 8:41 am

While I can't list its advantages of the top of my head (except being able to use more than 3GB of RAM and being a bit more secure) I say go 64-bit. It'll use a little more RAM and the Windows install will be bigger (having both 32 and 64-bit files) but it's just better (not to mention it's the future). Go for it.

Here it is:
http://www.w7forums.com/windows-7-64-bi ... -t484.html

Too much emphasis on the cons though, not really that big of a deal!

nutball
*Lifetime Patron*

Post by nutball » Tue Sep 29, 2009 8:54 am

You shouldn't *have* to buy more memory. 2GB is the minimum according to the MS pages.