motherboard power question

Got a shopping cart of parts that you want opinions on? Get advice from members on your planned or existing system (or upgrade).

Moderators: NeilBlanchard, Ralf Hutter, sthayashi, Lawrence Lee

Post Reply
ThaArtist
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Wisconsin

motherboard power question

Post by ThaArtist » Tue Nov 10, 2009 11:28 am

Im building a system right now. I have this motherboard:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813128392

It has a 24 pin atx power connector AND a 8 pin atx connector. Do I need to use both?

If thats the case I dont have an 8 pin connector. The closest thing in resemblance is a 4 pin connector (square).

If you click the link the 24 pin connector is on the right of the mobo and the 8 pin is on the left of the cpu slot. Thanks for your help!

Joe
Last edited by ThaArtist on Tue Nov 10, 2009 5:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

thejamppa
Posts: 3142
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 9:20 am
Location: Missing in Finnish wilderness, howling to moon with wolf brethren and walking with brother bears
Contact:

Post by thejamppa » Tue Nov 10, 2009 12:45 pm

You really don't need those 4 extra pins, depending on your CPU. I got Asus P45 board. It has 8-pin connectory for CPU like you do, but 4 pins have been placed under removable cap and since I use only E8400 Dual core I have not bothered to route 8-pin connector there but I have used 4-pin. But you have to use either 4-pin or 8-pin connector as it provides extra power for CPU. Otherwise with 24-pin mainconnector the system won't start up.
If seeing is believing, how can blind person believe in anything?
Maturity is just not experience in life but also ability to make compromises.

ThaArtist
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Wisconsin

Post by ThaArtist » Tue Nov 10, 2009 3:57 pm

Im a little confused. I have an athlon 2 x4 quadcore processor. But my dilemma is that I dont have an 8 pin connector from my PSU. The closest thing is a 4 pin (looks like a square) connector. What do I do?

ThaArtist
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Wisconsin

Post by ThaArtist » Tue Nov 10, 2009 5:27 pm

Anyone? It seems I am going to need a new PSU...

reddyuday
Patron of SPCR
Posts: 169
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 12:47 pm
Location: Birmingham, UK

Post by reddyuday » Tue Nov 10, 2009 5:31 pm

Each circuit of the connector, i.e., each pair of the positive and ground terminals, can provide up to 6 Amps of current at 12V, i.e., 72W. So, a 4-pin connector can provide 144W of power, and an 8-pin connector can provide twice that. Of course, whether all this power materializes depends all on your power supply.

If your power supply provides an 8-pin connector (called EPS), then by all means plug it into the socket. If it only provides a 4-pin connector (called P4), then you can plug it into the 8-pin socket as well, at one end or the other - it fits at only one place. If you use 4-pin, then you are advised to remain within 144W of power for the CPU. As far as I know, all the CPUs on the market are within the limit if run at the normal clock rate.

You can read up all these issues at this playtool web page.

Uday
[size=75][b]Case:[/b] Antec NSK1380 / [b]PSU:[/b] PicoPSU-150-XT + Dell DA-2 / [b]Mobo:[/b] ASRock G43Twins-FullHD / [b]CPU:[/b] E6750 Core2 Duo @ 2.66GHz / [b]Cooler:[/b] Akasa Evo 120 + Scythe Kama PWM / [b]GPU:[/b] GeForce 6800GT / [b]RAM:[/b] 4GB G.Skill DDR3 @ 1600MHz / [b]Drive:[/b] Corsair X64 SSD / [b]Drive:[/b] Seagate Momentus 7200.4 2.5" HDD / [b]OS:[/b] Win XP Pro x64
[/size]

ThaArtist
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Wisconsin

Post by ThaArtist » Tue Nov 10, 2009 5:32 pm

I did find an adapter:

http://www.directron.com/ad202.html

But now Im not sure if 370 watts is enough for my system?

hybrid2d4x4
Posts: 310
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 1:45 pm
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Post by hybrid2d4x4 » Tue Nov 10, 2009 7:14 pm

370 is more than enough. I built a i5 750 rig with a more power hungry vid card than yours on an Antec 380W PSU for a friend recently and only used the 4pin P4 connector on one end of the 8pin mobo exactly as Uday described and it went without a hitch. The adapter shouldn't be necessary though it might distribute the current going through the PCB traces more evenly by opening up the extra paths. As long as your mobo is built to spec, it should have no problem running your CPU on just the p4 connector.
[size=75][url=http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=436979]Gaming rig[/url]: Tt Tsunami,P5Q Pro,Q9450 w Ninja,8GB RAM,4870 1GB w S1,WD 640GB,SB X-Fi Plat,ZM-MFC2.Kama PWM in PSU,others S-FlexEs.
[url=http://www.silentpcreview.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=49965]HTPC[/url]: NSK2480,GB GF9400,E5200 w/ Minja,4GB RAM,WD GP 1.5TB,Nova DVB-S. Minja PSU fan,S-FlexEs case fans.[/size]

ThaArtist
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Wisconsin

Post by ThaArtist » Tue Nov 10, 2009 8:03 pm

Thanks so much hybrid thats exactly what I needed to hear. I think Ill order one anyway but atleast for now I can get things going! Thanks!!!!!!!!

colm
Posts: 406
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 8:22 am
Location: maine

Post by colm » Wed Nov 11, 2009 10:35 pm

the 8pin is typically for dual cpu. eps12v .
I a guessing by the sight if all the vrms and connectors, gigabyte wanted the stability and extra...

I am the other direction, seeking an eps12v for a future build, but only using 4 pin. the cost is no different, from what I have found, but the engineering must have something, like an extra phase, without extra power, very stable. As I hate vrms, I know why they built it.
DSFg$57%udRTYnh

Post Reply